lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Question regarding GUI syntax
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-29-2006, 05:31 AM   #1
UDM
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 922
Question regarding GUI syntax

Is there a syntax for GUI scripts that lets me display text at random? For example, if I have a string file with 9 text lines inside, is it possible to have the GUI display 1 out of the 9 lines at random on-screen? I'm planning to have this in Jedi Academy's splash screen

Thanks
UDM is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-29-2006, 11:07 AM   #2
Dom_152
Rookie
 
Dom_152's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: England
Posts: 150
I don't think it is but I don't have that much experience with using the UI files.


-----------------------------------------------------
MultiPlayer Xtra
Jedi Academy MP Mod
(Released! Source Code and all!)

Jedi Academy - Xtra
Coming Soon...

-----------------------------------------------------
Dom_152 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-02-2006, 04:17 PM   #3
Vruki Salet
Junior Member
 
Vruki Salet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Somewhere else entirely
Posts: 443
I don't know anything about the gui scripts but this could be coded into the game, to call for various strings at random.
Vruki Salet is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-10-2006, 08:52 PM   #4
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
hmmm, you could probably create a new "uiscript" command to randomly pick one of the text phrases. That would involve adding some code to the UI code but it wouldn't be too tricky.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Coding > Question regarding GUI syntax

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:40 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.