lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Where do i get...
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-23-2006, 02:24 PM   #1
Firefox5424
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 11
Question Where do i get...

3DS max 8?? ONe, does it cost money? two, does it have a trial. three, what is its website??

I currrently skin quite a bit.... but I have been wanting to start making custom models.

Also, another question, where do I find the .tga files for player models?

Last thing: I cant seem to find someone that knows, but ... how does the model system know that say for the Torso of a Stormtrooper model, its just a bunch of armor pieces... how does the game know what goes where??

I dont understand how that system works please can someone explain it to me.

Thanks....

LAST LAST THING LOL: If I want to start making custom models, how do I go about making one from scratch?


Thanks.


--Firefox5424
Firefox5424 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-23-2006, 08:14 PM   #2
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Thats a lot of questions:

-3D max 8 costs money
-Yes it does have a 30 day trial
-www.discreet.com

-The .tga files are located in .pk3 file of base folder (game directory). Use winzip to open the .pk3.

-I'm not sure what you mean, but the model has a hierarchy, limbs are linked together and use a naming convention that cannot be changed...it also uses a tag system to keep track of body parts location when cut off.

-To make a model from scratch, you first learn how to model :P, then you create your character around the JK3 skeleton, next you rig and then hierarchy model parts.

Read the tutorials on my website for more info.
http://www3.sympatico.ca/psykopat/

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-23-2006, 10:01 PM   #3
Firefox5424
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 11
sweet thx

but what i mean is... how does the computer know what goes where in a picture of stormtrooper limbs?? its just a bunch of limbs???? how exactly do I make the computer know what is supposed to go where in the finished 3d product?
Firefox5424 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-24-2006, 01:23 AM   #4
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
You mean the UV layout?

Basically the modeler transfers the 3D surface to 2D, while using maximum texture space. Each polygon has its own space on the texture sheet so it can be painted on.

The scientific version:
"UV mapping is a 3D modelling process of making a 2D map representing a 3D model. This map is associated with an image known as a texture. In contrast to "X", "Y" and "Z", which are the coordinates for the original 3D object in the modelling space, "U" and "V" are the coordinates of this transformed map of the surface. Then the image is back-transformed ("wrapped") onto the surface of the 3D object."

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-25-2006, 01:03 AM   #5
Firefox5424
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 11
wait a sec... *slaps self in head* ..... you make the model in 3d first then it transfers into that 2d thing you can skin......

if yes slap me a few more times =)
Firefox5424 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-25-2006, 01:38 PM   #6
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,072
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
You build the 3d model and then you need to "tell" the software/game engine how you want your 3d model to be painted (the process is called unwrap)...the 3d mesh is always there. Your 3d mesh contains UV coordinates they represent "up/down left/right" on your 2D texture sheet, those new coordinates are stored within the 3D model, if not your model cannot use textures.

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Modeling > Where do i get...

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:34 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.