lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Why cant we jump over 2 foot objects
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-30-2007, 01:20 AM   #1
Almar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 48
Why cant we jump over 2 foot objects

Why cant we jump over 2 foot objects? That is my biggest pet peeve about this game. We cannot jump over or climb many objects that would be 1 to 2 feet if the game were to scale. Then when we jump while running it looks ridiculous. Not to mention that Jedi should be able to jump 25 feet straight up.
Almar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-30-2007, 01:41 PM   #2
randum1
Lurker
 
randum1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 9
When the game first came out before CU/NGE there was no ability to jump at all. Not sure why, just the way the game was set up. At the time SWG was the first MMO i had ever played so I don't know if it was the fact that I just didn't notice or the fact that the game was geared in such a way that it was not needed. Either way it was not something i noticed at all. Now, on the other hand, it is a completely diffrent story. Nothing is more annoying then watching your toon jump up and down like a sad cheerleader that couldn't make the varsity team while you are trying to chat with someone. I guess once the devs decided to dumb down and WoWify the game they decided that we needed to be able to jump if for no other reason then to say that we could. Just my two credits.


---------------------------------------------------
Server - Chilastra

Avin Darksky - Elder Teras Kasi, Elder Doctor - Best build ever! Now Dark Jedi in Training
Gandra - Elder GDK Slayer
Roenokk - Big Lots Co-Founder
Zurina - Inspiring the Galaxy
randum1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-31-2007, 10:18 AM   #3
Netris
Lurker
 
Netris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
Yeah, typically in games, I am a jump-aholic. This game however, nay. Like random1 said, it's ridiculous. It's not as if it helps anything or benifits you in anyway. Not to mention, I don't even believe it will really allow you to jump "over" anything in the least. It's pretty much there to make you look like a cheerleader/magical fairy.
Netris is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-31-2007, 01:47 PM   #4
Sehtii Hathor
Rookie
 
Sehtii Hathor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 149
Yeah, Iv seen people play wow and they can jump onto buildings and stuff, why not us


SW Galaxies Online name: Sehtii
Server: Flurry
Profession: Spy
Lvl: 90
Faction: Imperal Sergeant
Sehtii Hathor is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-15-2007, 08:46 PM   #5
neal8929
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mars
Posts: 111
Pretty simple, the game engine does not allow it. I'm pretty sure it would be impossible for them to add something like that into the game. Besides there is a lot of other things that need to be tended to in the game besides jumping.


All should know this...it's not the staff that makes you a noob, its how you use it.
neal8929 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-06-2007, 11:09 AM   #6
Cebot
Rookie
 
Cebot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pepperland
Posts: 28
The jump ingame now is the old /jump command. It has been in game since pre-cu. I personally unbind it from the spacebar because i think it looks terrible lol.


My Mods
New PMHC06 Head

New PC Head

"People said I was dumb, but I proved them." ~ Phillip J. fry
Cebot is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-18-2008, 09:03 PM   #7
Aeviv
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: London
Posts: 12
The reason why jump doesnt help is because although there are z axis co-ordinates, there is no way for the character to impliment the Z axis. IF you could not only does that open up the ability to jump onto things, you could also swim up or down.
However i think its impossible to implement it into the game now.
Jump has always been in game, even pre cu. I remember binding it to space, before i realised that it did nothing and there was more than a bit of chatting in game :P
my greates pet pieve about galaxies, I cant jump over a two foot high box, but i can run up the sides of giant cliffs!
Aeviv is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Star Wars: The Old Republic MMO Forums > Community > SWGalaxies.net > Star Wars Galaxies discussion > Development Forum > Why cant we jump over 2 foot objects

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:40 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.