lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: how to make models/brushes appear/disappear?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-08-2006, 04:48 PM   #1
gweedodung
Rookie
 
gweedodung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 31
how to make models/brushes appear/disappear?

how do you make models/brushes appear/disappear? Can you trigger it also?

gweedodung is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-10-2006, 03:07 PM   #2
neo262
 
neo262's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 118
Yes it can also be triggered. First, if it is a brush, make it a func_usable; if it is a model, I believe you may place it as if you were normally in a level. Second, you give it a targetname. Let's say you wanted it to appear after you kill one NPC. In the Entity Properties window, you must select the "start_off" checkbox for the brush/model. You give the NPC an "NPC_target" NOT TARGET key, and have the value be the name of the brush/model. Thus, whenever you kill the NPC, it fires its target, the func_usable, making it appear. I may be wrong about the model, because I've never tried to make a model appear or disappear. Maybe you mean NPC's instead of models? Hope this helps.
neo262 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-10-2006, 10:28 PM   #3
gweedodung
Rookie
 
gweedodung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 31
Post

thanks, I will try it.

I should have been more pacific. I want to make a ship appear with a trigger, can I do this with a func_usable and trigger_once?


Last edited by gweedodung; 08-11-2006 at 12:09 AM.
gweedodung is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-11-2006, 02:09 AM   #4
gweedodung
Rookie
 
gweedodung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 31
OK it worked but the ship is not solid should i just physics_clip? or will that screw up the operation?

gweedodung is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-26-2006, 11:37 PM   #5
neo262
 
neo262's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 118
Sorry I replied so late. Yes you need a physics clip brush to surround the ship model. Make it a func_usable and give it the same targetname as the ship so you don't run into an invisible wall.
neo262 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JO Mapping > how to make models/brushes appear/disappear?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:14 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.