lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Spells.2da?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-03-2006, 12:06 AM   #1
HK-87
Rookie
 
HK-87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Query: Why do you wish to know, Meatbag? Rank:Shizznit
Posts: 38
Spells.2da?

Don't let the hate flow through you. >.< Anyway,I am utterly incompetent when it comes to mods. and Whenever I try to use the TSL patcher for ChAiNz's Hak Pad, it says "Cannot create E:\override\spells.2da" lil' help?
part two of my questions, whats "spells.2da"? I apologize if my utter incompetence irritates you, mighty modders of KOTOR and TSL >.<

I wasn't sure where exactly to post this, so, if its in a bad place, mods move it >.<

May Teh Force be with you.
-HK-87
HK-87 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-03-2006, 01:41 AM   #2
Emperor Devon
36 Wings, 365 Eyes
 
Emperor Devon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5,479
Current Game: Ass Effect
Contest winner - Fan Fiction 
Spells.2da is the 2da for all Force powers, and a few other abilities.

Did you already have a spells.2da in your override?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sabretooth
We will be great failures one day, you and I

Last edited by Emperor Devon; 09-04-2006 at 12:39 AM. Reason: Was corrected
Emperor Devon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-03-2006, 02:30 AM   #3
HK-87
Rookie
 
HK-87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Query: Why do you wish to know, Meatbag? Rank:Shizznit
Posts: 38
I apologize for that bad part, But No, I don't have a spells.2da in my override, (I tried to pass the installer, but, since it didn't work, I deleted the Hak Pad files in it, and i MAY have gotten my spells.2da deleted too.

:
HK-87 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-03-2006, 02:34 AM   #4
Emperor Devon
36 Wings, 365 Eyes
 
Emperor Devon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5,479
Current Game: Ass Effect
Contest winner - Fan Fiction 
It's not a good idea to go about deleting files when the mod is installed with the patcher. But if your override folder doesn't contain any files that are used in the mod, you can just move them in there the manual way. If they're still in the folder you downloaded, that is.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sabretooth
We will be great failures one day, you and I
Emperor Devon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-03-2006, 02:41 AM   #5
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emperor Devon
Since this is a thread about a mod, it should be in Holowan. T3-M4's Astrogation Center is for tools.
I moved it here from the Work Bench...

Looks like an error with TSL Patcher to me ED.


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-03-2006, 02:47 AM   #6
HK-87
Rookie
 
HK-87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Query: Why do you wish to know, Meatbag? Rank:Shizznit
Posts: 38
Well uh.. ANYWAYS....for the deleting thing I'm just a stupid little fool overe here >.< I usually only have the simple kinds of mods, like the WoW ones.. (for those just extract to addons and violla! >.<) once more back on topic... I was just curious as I don't currently have one to put in my override,,, where would I find a spells.2da? is there an "Original" version in the directory? *on an off topic note, runs in fear of Redhawke*
HK-87 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-03-2006, 03:06 AM   #7
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
I just checked the HakPad mod files and a spells.2da is included and as such if you do not have one in your override that one should be copied over and editied by the Patcher program. You could try copying that one to your override before installing the mod.

You need only point the TSL Patcher to your game directory not the games override directory. And that you are not running the install exe from within winrar or winzip, that you extract the contents to some place before running the installer exe. Very strange.


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-03-2006, 01:20 PM   #8
Emperor Devon
36 Wings, 365 Eyes
 
Emperor Devon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5,479
Current Game: Ass Effect
Contest winner - Fan Fiction 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedHawke
I moved it here from the Work Bench...
By technicality this is a mod and not a tool, since tools allow you to make mods and aren't used in-game, but go figure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HK-87
where would I find a spells.2da? is there an "Original" version in the directory? *on an off topic note, runs in fear of Redhawke*
By default, you shouldn't have anything in your override folder. If you've been deleting files from the mod, I would recommend downloading it again. RedHawke said the rest.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sabretooth
We will be great failures one day, you and I
Emperor Devon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-04-2006, 12:34 AM   #9
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emperor Devon
By technicality this is a mod and not a tool, since tools allow you to make mods and aren't used in-game, but go figure.
Incorrect... TSL Patcher is a tool. A mod installation tool as a matter of fact. Tool programs are not just things to 'make mods' with. Programs to make life easier for end users are tools as well.

You will also note the thread for TSL Patcher is located in this forum and not Holowan Labs.


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-04-2006, 12:38 AM   #10
Emperor Devon
36 Wings, 365 Eyes
 
Emperor Devon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5,479
Current Game: Ass Effect
Contest winner - Fan Fiction 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedHawke
Incorrect... TSL Patcher is a tool.
I'd actually been talking about the hack pad mod itself. Though now that I look the situation, you are correct.

-RH


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sabretooth
We will be great failures one day, you and I

Last edited by RedHawke; 09-04-2006 at 12:49 AM.
Emperor Devon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-28-2009, 04:43 PM   #11
MattiFS
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Sorry to resurrect an old thread but does KotoR have an unaltered Spells.2da?
I'm currently trying to merge two spells.2da files and the merger says I need an unaltered reference file.
I tried to fool it with a blank text file I named "spells" and changed changed the file type to ".2da" but that didn't work.

*kinda off topic*
i resurrected this thread cause I found it by using google to look for a solution to my problem so if the solution is posted in this thread other people will be able to find it the same way.
MattiFS is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-28-2009, 05:34 PM   #12
Mono_Giganto
Giant Monkey of Doom™
 
Mono_Giganto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,478
Current Game: Baldur's Gate EE
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattiFS View Post
Sorry to resurrect an old thread but does KotoR have an unaltered Spells.2da?
I'm currently trying to merge two spells.2da files and the merger says I need an unaltered reference file.
I tried to fool it with a blank text file I named "spells" and changed changed the file type to ".2da" but that didn't work.

*kinda off topic*
i resurrected this thread cause I found it by using google to look for a solution to my problem so if the solution is posted in this thread other people will be able to find it the same way.
Yeah, you can use KotOR Tool to extract the original 2DA from the game's files. And you won't be able to fool it with a dud file because it actually requires the contents of the file. Otherwise it wouldn't know which of two conflicting values should overwrite the other.




Mono_Giganto is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-28-2009, 07:14 PM   #13
MattiFS
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Thanks for the speedy reply and the help.
MattiFS is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > T3-M4's Astromech Droid Center > Spells.2da?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:55 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.