lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Just a few Questions
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-12-2006, 03:57 PM   #1
Crezzer Fett
Rookie
 
Crezzer Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Edinburgh UK
Posts: 71
Just a few Questions

As simple as these are...i am still not sure :P
1. I heard the Executor may not be playable in ALL game modes..but is it playable in Galatic Conquest??
2. Since the Executor is Vader's flagship does that mean he can be in it during battles? (makes sense..surely)
3. When you can choose to shift your base around...can the buildings only switch slots or can you have complete controll where you want them (of course only in the base area)??
4. Is the Eclipse available in Galatic Conquest??
5. When B wings replace Y wings...do you still have the option of building Y wings?

Thanks


Crezzer Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-12-2006, 06:18 PM   #2
Valter
Rookie
 
Valter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Standing behind you!
Posts: 199
1) Yes, the Executor will be a featured unit in all types of gameplay. Galactic Conquest included.

2) No, Vader still uses his Tie Advanced.

3) There are slots on the map where the player can drag and drop structures.

4) The Eclipse is only featured in Story (campaign) mode.

5) The key word being "replaced". So yeah, no more Y-wings.

On request I will add sources to confirm this information.


"You will pay the price for your lack of vision!" - Palpatine
Valter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-12-2006, 10:14 PM   #3
wswordsmen
Rookie
 
wswordsmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 70
Where does it say that B-wings replace Y-wings???
wswordsmen is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-12-2006, 10:19 PM   #4
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
I suspect that B-Wings work the same way as TIE Interceptors: at some tech level, the Rebels will begin producing B-Wings instead of Y-Wings; just like the ISD and Executor spawn TIE/I's instead of TIE/F's.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-13-2006, 12:07 AM   #5
Valter
Rookie
 
Valter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Standing behind you!
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by wswordsmen
Where does it say that B-wings replace Y-wings???
Read the end of the third paragragh.

http://uk.gamespot.com/pc/strategy/s...title;0&page=2


"You will pay the price for your lack of vision!" - Palpatine
Valter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-13-2006, 03:14 AM   #6
Crezzer Fett
Rookie
 
Crezzer Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Edinburgh UK
Posts: 71
Thanks for the info Valter. Even though Vader can't be in his Executor isn't such a big deal..still being his flagship surely the developers could of gave us an option between craft/Tie Advanced. Vader may be useless in a ship but could of gave the fleet a more effective bonus like Grand Moff Tarkin.


Crezzer Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-13-2006, 09:44 AM   #7
Darth Anarch
Junior Member
 
Darth Anarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 366
It would be nice if the Y-wings were still available even after the B-wing makes its appearance. It's bound to be cheaper, and might be good to have around for system defence and the like.


"We think in language; therefore, the quality of our thoughts can only be as good as the quality of our language."

-- George Carlin
Darth Anarch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-13-2006, 11:59 AM   #8
Valter
Rookie
 
Valter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Standing behind you!
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Anarch
It would be nice if the Y-wings were still available even after the B-wing makes its appearance. It's bound to be cheaper, and might be good to have around for system defence and the like.

If you want Y-wings then just build 30-40 squadrons before advancing to the tech level that introduces B-wings.


"You will pay the price for your lack of vision!" - Palpatine
Valter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-13-2006, 01:00 PM   #9
Darth_Torpid-PG
Rookie
 
Darth_Torpid-PG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 233
Y-wings and TIE fighters are still in the game. For the Y-wing/B-wings, they are released at different tech levels - basically the same as how the X-wings and A-wings work in the current game.

TIE fighters are replaced on certain ships, but they will still spawn on space stations and older ships like the Acclamator.

We're still working on Vader and his relationship with the Executor; they will likely be tied together in some way based on tech level.


-Darth Torpid
-Game Designer
-Petroglyph
Darth_Torpid-PG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-14-2006, 05:39 AM   #10
Darth Anarch
Junior Member
 
Darth Anarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 366
You mean like for example Vader will be flying his TIE fighter up until, say, Tech level 4, after which point he'll be in the Executor?


"We think in language; therefore, the quality of our thoughts can only be as good as the quality of our language."

-- George Carlin
Darth Anarch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-14-2006, 10:52 AM   #11
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
I think that's what Torpid is driving at.

One of the Executor's special abilities could be to launch Vader's TIE flight.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-14-2006, 12:36 PM   #12
Crezzer Fett
Rookie
 
Crezzer Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Edinburgh UK
Posts: 71
That would be a great idea Wedge. Having the option to launch Vader into battle anytime you want (like the Death Star attack in Ep 4) would be both awesome + give the game a better tactical edge.


Crezzer Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-14-2006, 02:17 PM   #13
Valter
Rookie
 
Valter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Standing behind you!
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth_Torpid-PG
Y-wings and TIE fighters are still in the game. For the Y-wing/B-wings, they are released at different tech levels - basically the same as how the X-wings and A-wings work in the current game.

TIE fighters are replaced on certain ships, but they will still spawn on space stations and older ships like the Acclamator.

We're still working on Vader and his relationship with the Executor; they will likely be tied together in some way based on tech level.
So Y-wings won't be scrapped when B-wings are available? Gamespot needs to release accurate information instead of assumptions.


"You will pay the price for your lack of vision!" - Palpatine
Valter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-14-2006, 04:02 PM   #14
PoiuyWired
Unregistered User
 
PoiuyWired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,503
Maybe its like Z95 and Xwings(in story mode), once Xwings are out you don't build Z95s anymore.
PoiuyWired is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-14-2006, 06:17 PM   #15
Darth Anarch
Junior Member
 
Darth Anarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 366
That would make sense. It's good to have options when you're building units, even though I'm sure the B-wing will be far superior.


"We think in language; therefore, the quality of our thoughts can only be as good as the quality of our language."

-- George Carlin
Darth Anarch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-15-2006, 09:51 AM   #16
slornie
Rookie
 
slornie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: York, England
Posts: 79
also more expensive... which could be a problem for a cash strapped rebellion...



slornie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-15-2006, 11:26 AM   #17
Darth Anarch
Junior Member
 
Darth Anarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 366
Precisely, which is why it would be useful to still have the Y-wing available should you want to buy it.


"We think in language; therefore, the quality of our thoughts can only be as good as the quality of our language."

-- George Carlin
Darth Anarch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-18-2006, 04:00 PM   #18
PoiuyWired
Unregistered User
 
PoiuyWired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,503
I wish they would change the firepower of the bombing run according to the number and type of bomber ships you have in orbit.

I mean, having 1000 bombers should give you a slightly more effective bombing run, right?
PoiuyWired is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-18-2006, 04:34 PM   #19
Darth Anarch
Junior Member
 
Darth Anarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 366
Having more Y-wings/Star Destroyers in orbit will cause the timer on the bombing run ability to go down faster. It's not a lot, but it's there.


"We think in language; therefore, the quality of our thoughts can only be as good as the quality of our language."

-- George Carlin
Darth Anarch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-18-2006, 07:43 PM   #20
Rust_Lord
Rookie
 
Rust_Lord's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 171
Wedge your idea of Vader being able to launch from the executor is great. They could even give him the ability to return once he has had enough. I really like the fact that after certain tech levels the squadrons automatically upgrade and I am relieved the olde crappier fighters will still be available, just in case you find yourself in a tight financial situation or just want the option to build older models. Something I would like to know is will the price of the capital ships that spawn fighters change when they hit the higher tech level and start spawning the more expensive fighters or is this one advantage of upgrading? I hope you won't have to spend more cash because it will place more emphasis on upgrading.
Rust_Lord is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-19-2006, 08:33 AM   #21
Darth Anarch
Junior Member
 
Darth Anarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rust_Lord
Something I would like to know is will the price of the capital ships that spawn fighters change when they hit the higher tech level and start spawning the more expensive fighters or is this one advantage of upgrading? I hope you won't have to spend more cash because it will place more emphasis on upgrading.
I could be mistaken here, but I believe that among the ships that spawn fighters the Acclamator will keep spawning regular TIEs throughout the game, while the Victory and the ISD will spawn TIE Interceptors from the beginning. The other fighters, TIE Phantoms and TIE Defenders, you'll have to purchase separately like the Rebels buy their fighters.


"We think in language; therefore, the quality of our thoughts can only be as good as the quality of our language."

-- George Carlin
Darth Anarch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-19-2006, 12:01 PM   #22
jedi jim 1989
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 84
i know its a good idea to keep y wings in in case you are staped for cash, but in the gam when playing as rebs, i was hardly ever straped for cash, only at the begining. because of this i hope that they will change it so that the rebels are more like rebels
jedi jim 1989 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Forces of Corruption > Just a few Questions

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:49 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.