lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: How will the Executor be acquired?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-25-2006, 11:51 PM   #1
Valter
Rookie
 
Valter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Standing behind you!
Posts: 199
How will the Executor be acquired?

There has been much speculation on the Super Star Destroyer. There has been conjecture about whether the Executor will be buildable at a high price on a certain planet or whether it will be free hero unit. So which one is it? There are a number of other questions I would like answered as well.

1) Is the Executor a hero unit?

2) Is the Executor directly related to Vader? (Does Vader control the Executor?)

3) Is the Executor a planet specific unit like the Mon Cals or Star Destroyers?

4) What exactly are the hardpoints on the Executor? (How many turbolasers, how many ion cannons etc.?)

5) Can the Executor be bribed by the Zann Consortium during combat?

I suppose this can be called the official Super Star Destroyer discussion topic. So discuss...


"You will pay the price for your lack of vision!" - Palpatine
Valter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2006, 12:22 AM   #2
Darth Ablett
Rookie
 
Darth Ablett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 96
This is a great idea. I'd like to know the answers to these questions as well. I suppose another question would be: at what tech level does it appear, but I reckon the answers to these main questions should answer this as well.


Darth Ablett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2006, 08:41 AM   #3
ImpElite
Junior Member
 
ImpElite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 451
The Executor was built over Fondor, so if it is a planet specific unit it COULD be Fondor, though you never know.

EDIT: ugh, one guy already mentioned that the Executor is buildable at Fondor and basically said what I just did, I wasn't trying to steal his idea or whatever, man why do I always read threads in the wrong order?


ex-UEAW Mod Team Mapper.


ImpElite is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2006, 11:34 AM   #4
Crezzer Fett
Rookie
 
Crezzer Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Edinburgh UK
Posts: 71
I asked about question 1/2 a few weeks back...and still the debate goes on. I sure hope Vader is controlling the Exec and not Piett. I also hope you have to buy it aswell..getting it for free seems to unbalance things. Vader should still have his Tie Advanced...then when you buy/build it Vader will take control of the Executor.
Hopefully this will happen.


Crezzer Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2006, 01:07 PM   #5
Darth_Torpid-PG
Rookie
 
Darth_Torpid-PG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valter
There has been much speculation on the Super Star Destroyer. There has been conjecture about whether the Executor will be buildable at a high price on a certain planet or whether it will be free hero unit. So which one is it? There are a number of other questions I would like answered as well.

1) Is the Executor a hero unit?
Yes.


Quote:
2) Is the Executor directly related to Vader? (Does Vader control the Executor?)
Yes. The Executor has become Vader's transport (he'll still use the shuttle to land on planets).


Quote:
3) Is the Executor a planet specific unit like the Mon Cals or Star Destroyers?
No. It is, however a buildable unit. It is tech level 5, requires a level 5 space station and you can only build it once. Unlike the Deathstar, it will respawn along with Vader like any other hero unit.


Quote:
4) What exactly are the hardpoints on the Executor? (How many turbolasers, how many ion cannons etc.?)
The Executor basically has the same loadout of hard points as a normal Star Destroyer, it just has more of them (30 total). There are also some redundant systems - it has three shield hard points for example.


Quote:
5) Can the Executor be bribed by the Zann Consortium during combat?
No. Tyber's bribe ability doesn't work in space combat, only in land tactical. In general, major heroes are immune to bribery.


-Darth Torpid
-Game Designer
-Petroglyph
Darth_Torpid-PG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2006, 01:29 PM   #6
Igor_Cavkov
Forumite
 
Igor_Cavkov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 621
30 hardpoints!!! thats unstopable! hehe


SW Galaxies Online name: Cavkov
Server: Chimaera
Profession: Bounty Hunter
Guild: DOS - Dark Order of the Sith

If you only knew the power of the darkside!
Igor_Cavkov is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2006, 01:52 PM   #7
Darth Anarch
Junior Member
 
Darth Anarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 366
So the way I understand it, Vader will fly around in his TIE Advanced until you build the Executor, at which point he transfers to it instead. Is that how it works? Or do you not get Vader until you've built the Executor?


"We think in language; therefore, the quality of our thoughts can only be as good as the quality of our language."

-- George Carlin
Darth Anarch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2006, 02:02 PM   #8
Darth_Torpid-PG
Rookie
 
Darth_Torpid-PG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 233
Since Vader has been moved to tech 5 along with his new flagship, he will not be available in the squadron for galactic conquest games. His squadron is still available in space skirmish.


-Darth Torpid
-Game Designer
-Petroglyph
Darth_Torpid-PG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2006, 02:18 PM   #9
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth_Torpid-PG
It is tech level 5, requires a level 5 space station and you can only build it once. Unlike the Deathstar, it will respawn along with Vader like any other hero unit.
Is Vader on the same recharge timer as the other heroes, then? It would make sense for his timer to be longer, because (a) his ship is much stronger than other heroes' ships, and (b) his ship is much more powerful than other heroes' ships. Losing him in a space battle ought to come at a significant price, rather than the temporary disadvantage of losing him for a few minutes and then getting the Executor back for free.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2006, 02:59 PM   #10
gswift
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lenexa, Kansas (suburb of Kansas City)
Posts: 264
I'm sure they thought of that and they'll make sure it's balanced. In skirmish games, I'm sure he's mega-expensive to build and takes a long time to build as well. In campaign, different heros have different timers, so I would imagine that his is longer. However, if his respawn time is going to be that long in campaign I wonder if he's still going to be available in ground, and IF SO then he'll need to really powerfull on the ground as well as space (otherwise you'd be crazy to use him on land and get the SSD killed by a few artillery peices)


Gary Swift (aka gswift)
Lenexa, Kansas USA

You can try to monkey-proof your program, but you'll never monkey-proof the monkey.
gswift is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2006, 03:35 PM   #11
Crezzer Fett
Rookie
 
Crezzer Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Edinburgh UK
Posts: 71
So your saying...if Vader dies on ground...the SSD will dissapear until he has recharged?? Just like Han Solo and Chewi.


Crezzer Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2006, 06:24 PM   #12
Valter
Rookie
 
Valter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Standing behind you!
Posts: 199
Thanks for the information Torpid.

It looks like vader will not only be the best ground hero but also the best space hero. Losing him will obviously be detrimental to the war effort in galactic conquest games.

To Crezzer: Yes, I think that's exactly what gswift is saying.


"You will pay the price for your lack of vision!" - Palpatine

Last edited by Valter; 09-26-2006 at 09:42 PM.
Valter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2006, 06:27 PM   #13
gswift
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lenexa, Kansas (suburb of Kansas City)
Posts: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crezzer Fett
So your saying...if Vader dies on ground...the SSD will dissapear until he has recharged?? Just like Han Solo and Chewi.
Just a guess, but I think it's an educated one.


Gary Swift (aka gswift)
Lenexa, Kansas USA

You can try to monkey-proof your program, but you'll never monkey-proof the monkey.
gswift is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2006, 09:24 PM   #14
Darth Ablett
Rookie
 
Darth Ablett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 96
OK then, that's good to know that it has to be built - hopefully at quite a price, since once it is bought it respawns.

I've got another question: What are its special abilities? I assume it'll have a tractor beam like the regular ISDs, what is the other one (if it has two)?


Darth Ablett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2006, 09:37 PM   #15
Valter
Rookie
 
Valter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Standing behind you!
Posts: 199
Most likely the same abilities as the other Imperial space units; tractor beam or boost weapon power. It's possible that the Executor will have a new special ability.


"You will pay the price for your lack of vision!" - Palpatine
Valter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2006, 09:47 PM   #16
Darth Ablett
Rookie
 
Darth Ablett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valter
Most likely the same abilities as the other Imperial space units; tractor beam or boost weapon power. It's possible that the Executor will have a new special ability.
Yeah, I figured as much. It would be cool if it had something else, but not necessary. It's already fairly capable, I'd say. In a world where balance isn't required, I'd have a garrison of an ISD. Ooh Yeah!

Also, since it is about 3x as powerful as an ISD, will it take up 12 population points? That's half of a full fleet!


Darth Ablett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-26-2006, 11:14 PM   #17
ImpElite
Junior Member
 
ImpElite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 451
Maybe the Executor's ability will be: increase front shields before something gets through.....

lol


ex-UEAW Mod Team Mapper.


ImpElite is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-27-2006, 04:11 AM   #18
Crezzer Fett
Rookie
 
Crezzer Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Edinburgh UK
Posts: 71
Have the Space maps in FOC been extended to suit the Executor??


Crezzer Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-27-2006, 04:26 AM   #19
Darth Ablett
Rookie
 
Darth Ablett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crezzer Fett
Have the Space maps in FOC been extended to suit the Executor??
Yes, I'm pretty sure a Petro Developer said they were expanding all existing maps by about 30-40%. The Executor will still take up a fair chunk of real estate though!

EDIT : Oh, and ImpElite - ROFL, that's genius!


Darth Ablett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-27-2006, 09:56 AM   #20
ImpElite
Junior Member
 
ImpElite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Ablett
Yes, I'm pretty sure a Petro Developer said they were expanding all existing maps by about 30-40%. The Executor will still take up a fair chunk of real estate though!


Yeah I bet it will!


EDIT : Oh, and ImpElite - ROFL, that's genius!
Thanks!


ex-UEAW Mod Team Mapper.


ImpElite is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-27-2006, 10:54 AM   #21
Darth Anarch
Junior Member
 
Darth Anarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 366
They can't possibly give the Executor the "boost weapons" ability. With 30 bloody hardpoints that would wipe out a whole fleet in 10 seconds!


"We think in language; therefore, the quality of our thoughts can only be as good as the quality of our language."

-- George Carlin
Darth Anarch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-27-2006, 01:02 PM   #22
Darth_Torpid-PG
Rookie
 
Darth_Torpid-PG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Ablett
OK then, that's good to know that it has to be built - hopefully at quite a price, since once it is bought it respawns.

I've got another question: What are its special abilities? I assume it'll have a tractor beam like the regular ISDs, what is the other one (if it has two)?
The tractor beam is correct. The second ability allows it to launch squadrons at will (similar to Vader's replenish wingman ability). Unlike normal Imperial ships, you click the button and it spits out the fighters, bombers, etc., so you can choose when and where to launch your escort. The Executors load out includes interceptors, bombers and defenders. The refresh is fairly short, so you can click it once for one squadron, or keep clicking until you release the whole thing.


-Darth Torpid
-Game Designer
-Petroglyph
Darth_Torpid-PG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-27-2006, 01:07 PM   #23
Valter
Rookie
 
Valter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Standing behind you!
Posts: 199
EDIT: Launch squadrons at will and tractor beam? Those are very useful special abilities. I think Petroglyph has hit the nail on the head once again.


"You will pay the price for your lack of vision!" - Palpatine
Valter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-27-2006, 04:04 PM   #24
Crezzer Fett
Rookie
 
Crezzer Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Edinburgh UK
Posts: 71
Sounds great..i take it that one group (1 click) of Ties are a mix of bombers, interceptors and defenders. Or does it send out one whole group type at once?


Crezzer Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-27-2006, 09:12 PM   #25
Darth Ablett
Rookie
 
Darth Ablett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth_Torpid-PG
The tractor beam is correct. The second ability allows it to launch squadrons at will (similar to Vader's replenish wingman ability). Unlike normal Imperial ships, you click the button and it spits out the fighters, bombers, etc., so you can choose when and where to launch your escort. The Executors load out includes interceptors, bombers and defenders. The refresh is fairly short, so you can click it once for one squadron, or keep clicking until you release the whole thing.
It can launch TIE Defenders at will? That's awesome, but I feel so sorry for those poor rebels...

EDIT: What about the population cap then - It's a mammoth ship that can spawn powerful fighters - I'd assume its only real weakness would be how much space it takes up. Care to enlighten us?



Last edited by Darth Ablett; 09-27-2006 at 09:25 PM.
Darth Ablett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-28-2006, 07:07 AM   #26
Darth Anarch
Junior Member
 
Darth Anarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 366
The best way to take down the Executor (I imagine) is to use smaller, quicker ships like Nebulon-Bs, Assault Frigates and possibly the new MC-30s and keep them behind it. Regular Star Destroyers in the game have no backwards-facing weapons, so if you dance around the Executor and stay behind it you should be able to pummel it pretty good. I have a strong suspicion that a ship that size isn't going to be able to turn very quickly.


"We think in language; therefore, the quality of our thoughts can only be as good as the quality of our language."

-- George Carlin
Darth Anarch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-28-2006, 09:14 AM   #27
ImpElite
Junior Member
 
ImpElite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Ablett
It can launch TIE Defenders at will? That's awesome, but I feel so sorry for those poor rebels...
ah, dont' worry about me, I'll beat them somehow....


ex-UEAW Mod Team Mapper.


ImpElite is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-28-2006, 12:44 PM   #28
Valter
Rookie
 
Valter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Standing behind you!
Posts: 199
I don't know ImpElite, maybe it's about time you rejoined the Empire. We could use a strategist with your skills. LOL


"You will pay the price for your lack of vision!" - Palpatine

Last edited by Valter; 09-28-2006 at 01:00 PM.
Valter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-28-2006, 01:17 PM   #29
Darth_Torpid-PG
Rookie
 
Darth_Torpid-PG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 233
The button launches one squadron at a time in order - interceptors, bombers, defenders. Each type of squadron has a limit to how many you can have out on the map at one time (so if you max your defenders and you keep clicking you will only get interceptors and bombers until you lose your defenders), but they do not count against the pop cap themselves (they are considered garrison units). There is also a max amount of each type of squadron the Executor holds, so eventually you will run out.


-Darth Torpid
-Game Designer
-Petroglyph
Darth_Torpid-PG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-28-2006, 01:39 PM   #30
Darth Anarch
Junior Member
 
Darth Anarch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 366
Oh, that sounds sweet. Makes me wish you could do something like that with regular Star Destroyer-type ships too.

The TIE Defenders won't be a "garrisoned" unit normally, will it? It's the sort of unit you have to buy separately, like the Rebellion's fighters?


"We think in language; therefore, the quality of our thoughts can only be as good as the quality of our language."

-- George Carlin
Darth Anarch is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-28-2006, 05:07 PM   #31
ImpElite
Junior Member
 
ImpElite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valter
I don't know ImpElite, maybe it's about time you rejoined the Empire. We could use a strategist with your skills. LOL
Lol, I don't know.... I think I'm with the Rebel Alliance right now.... And still evil muahahahaha!


ex-UEAW Mod Team Mapper.


ImpElite is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-28-2006, 05:32 PM   #32
Valter
Rookie
 
Valter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Standing behind you!
Posts: 199
I started out as an Imperial loyalist when I first bought the game and I will always remain an Imperial loyalist. I prefer the crushing military power of the Empire over the stealthy, technology poaching rebel scum.


"You will pay the price for your lack of vision!" - Palpatine
Valter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-28-2006, 11:01 PM   #33
ImpElite
Junior Member
 
ImpElite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 451
Tech poaching rebellion, eh?

*cocks gun* change your mind? lol


ex-UEAW Mod Team Mapper.


ImpElite is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-28-2006, 11:11 PM   #34
wedge2211
Commander, Rogue Squadron
 
wedge2211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ithaca, NY
Posts: 2,320
Oh, no, don't start that again...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Anarch
Oh, that sounds sweet. Makes me wish you could do something like that with regular Star Destroyer-type ships too.
Well, since the ability has now been coded into the game, it should be a simple task to play with XMLs to give any other unit with a hangar this ability.


wedge2211 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-28-2006, 11:47 PM   #35
Valter
Rookie
 
Valter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Standing behind you!
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImpElite
Tech poaching rebellion, eh?

*cocks gun* change your mind? lol
LOL

Hey, to each his own right?


"You will pay the price for your lack of vision!" - Palpatine
Valter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-28-2006, 11:54 PM   #36
Darth Ablett
Rookie
 
Darth Ablett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by wedge2211
Well, since the ability has now been coded into the game, it should be a simple task to play with XMLs to give any other unit with a hangar this ability.
Maybe they'll do it for us, I mean all Star Destroyers only have 1 special ability (Piett excluded), so it could be added in.

I was wondering about Vader as a result of this. When the Empire reaches tech level 5, does vader appear first only as a ground unit, or does the Executor have to be built before Vader can be used in land tactical battles (in reference to GC).


Darth Ablett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-28-2006, 11:57 PM   #37
ImpElite
Junior Member
 
ImpElite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valter
LOL

Hey, to each his own right?
Hehehehehe.


ex-UEAW Mod Team Mapper.


ImpElite is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-29-2006, 01:04 PM   #38
Darth_Torpid-PG
Rookie
 
Darth_Torpid-PG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 233
Questions in order...

TIE defenders are normally purchased like TIE scouts, but some higher-level units get them as garrisons as well.

The special ability for the Executor should be easily transferable via XML to any ship that currently has garrisons (even space stations if you wanted). It would take a little more work to get it to function on ships that don't currently have fighter spawning, but it could be done. However, the Executor is the only ship that will have it out of the box.

Vader is attached to his ship, so he now spawns at tech level five and will not be available until then (in land or space).


-Darth Torpid
-Game Designer
-Petroglyph
Darth_Torpid-PG is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Empire At War > EaW General Discussion > Forces of Corruption > How will the Executor be acquired?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:02 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.