lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: GMA 950 support?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-12-2006, 03:59 PM   #1
Invader J
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
GMA 950 support?

Hey y'all! Downloading Psychonauts from Steam on my computer at home - won't get a chance to play until later tonight. But thought I'd ask - my computer has an Intel Integrated graphics chipset, the GMA 950. It's not on the INcompatible cards list, but not exactly a highlight on the supported list. 64MB shared VRAM and such. It's lousy, but not the slouchiest-of-the-slouchy.

Anyone have any ideas on how Psychonauts is going to run on it, or should I set myself up for extreme disappointment when I get home from work? =\
Invader J is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-12-2006, 04:36 PM   #2
Thrik
Symbolically Compelling
 
Thrik's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 4,198
Hot Topic Starter Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
I'm not really sure to be honest. I haven't personally seen any reports of Intel integrated cards not working, but one can't be sure.

The main thing that causes Psychonauts to not work with certain graphics card is the card not supporting at least pixel shader 1.0; without it, the game refuses to run. Fortunately, I've done a quick bit of research on your card and it looks like it supports pixel shader 2.0, which is what Psychonauts was designed to run around. So, it should run and look nice to boot.

Of course I've no idea how well it'll run, and you may have to update your drivers and whatnot to get the best performance.

And welcome.


Thrik is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-03-2006, 03:55 PM   #3
SashaNein
Rookie
 
SashaNein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 18
If it is anything like my Geforce 6100 onboard GPU, you would be lucky to run it at 20 FPS with 320x240 resolution. I'm assuming that by now you have already seen this.

Invest in a graphics card, if possible, assuming you have an AGP 8X or PCI-Ex16 slot in your computer. For AGP, a 9500PRO is all you need. For PCI-E, eh, let's say an X600 series card. No need to break the bank, but make sure you have all the wires you need.
SashaNein is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-03-2006, 04:07 PM   #4
Invader J
Lurker
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Actually, it runs very well at 640x480! Extremely playable framerate. At 800x600 is looks prettier, but frame rate isn't as good. I've been playing it at 800x600 though, and while it could stand to be better, it's a ton of fun.

FWIW, this is on a Boot Camped MacBook. =)

Thanks for the feedback!
Invader J is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-03-2006, 10:28 PM   #5
SashaNein
Rookie
 
SashaNein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 18
That's good to know. GMA 950 isn't as bad as I thought then.
SashaNein is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-10-2007, 10:08 PM   #6
mattcomi
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
It worked?

I tried to get Psychonauts running on a MacBook last night - no luck whatsoever!

It's got a GMA 950 card like you say, but I only get the error 'could not open Direct3D device'.

Were there any tricks involved in your solution? Maybe I should try the demo.
mattcomi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-12-2007, 07:22 AM   #7
martmeister
Veteran
 
martmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Land of Confusion
Posts: 959
Current Game: FO3, G/2, DA, CODMF2
It runs on my laptop (using Radeo Xpress 200M) but very laggy. I'm thinking I just need more RAM.

I'd try the demo first.


<No way you can read this. My handwriting's illegible>
martmeister is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Psychonauts Discussion at Razputin's Domain > Razputin's Domain Forums > Ford Cruller's Bacon Support > GMA 950 support?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:05 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.