lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Lungfishopolis: crash with 0xc0000005 error
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-08-2007, 04:57 PM   #1
Pvt_Mandella
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Lungfishopolis: crash with 0xc0000005 error

Hi all,
I've been enjoying playing Psychonauts (PC), but now all the fun is on hold as I have a game-breaking crash in Lungfishopolis.

Right at the beginning of the level, after freeing the 3 prisoners and getting my shield badge, I walk a few steps down the road and get a black screen. I alt-tab out, and get a dialog box saying there has been an error at 0xc0000005. This happens every time. I have tried restarting the level and exiting to the real world and coming back through the brain tumbler but with the same results.

My machine's specs: P4 2.8Ghz, IGb RAM, OS XP pro SP2.

Video card: GeForce 7800 GS (AGP): ForceWare 93.71 drivers.

The game is patched to 1.04.

Any advice would be much appreciated!

cheers,
Mandella
Pvt_Mandella is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2007, 06:14 PM   #2
martmeister
Veteran
 
martmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Land of Confusion
Posts: 959
Current Game: FO3, G/2, DA, CODMF2
I'd check out the Error Log, figure out what else was running at the time, and see if there's a conflict. I'd make certain to disable any HP programs that might be running as well as Folding@Home.

I haven't had a problem with my video card (same as yours including Forceware drivers) besides a few freak incidents. I don't know if using an older driver would help.


<No way you can read this. My handwriting's illegible>
martmeister is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2007, 06:19 PM   #3
martmeister
Veteran
 
martmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Land of Confusion
Posts: 959
Current Game: FO3, G/2, DA, CODMF2
Also, check out your graphics setting (univeral and game). Check the anti-aliasing and vertical sync settings in particular.


<No way you can read this. My handwriting's illegible>
martmeister is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-09-2007, 05:48 AM   #4
Pvt_Mandella
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by martmeister
I'd check out the Error Log, figure out what else was running at the time, and see if there's a conflict. I'd make certain to disable any HP programs that might be running as well as Folding@Home.

I haven't had a problem with my video card (same as yours including Forceware drivers) besides a few freak incidents. I don't know if using an older driver would help.
Thanks Martmeister

Is the error log the same as the PsychoDump file referred to in my error message? It referred me to a file

PsychoDump R553-76698.dmp (62kb)

but when I opened this file with Notepad I only saw garbage. Maybe I need to open it with something else?

Video drivers - I've tried one old set, ForceWare 91.31 - same problem.

I'll get back to you about what else I have running, nothing much I think though.

Thanks for the advice!

cheers,
Mandella
Pvt_Mandella is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-09-2007, 02:33 PM   #5
martmeister
Veteran
 
martmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Land of Confusion
Posts: 959
Current Game: FO3, G/2, DA, CODMF2
The Error Log is in: Start-->Ctrl Panel-->Admin Tools--> Event Viewer. Yes, it should be "Even Viewer" and not error log. Read This, particularly the Number Two - D.E.P section.


<No way you can read this. My handwriting's illegible>
martmeister is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-09-2007, 08:16 PM   #6
Pvt_Mandella
Lurker
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by martmeister
The Error Log is in: Start-->Ctrl Panel-->Admin Tools--> Event Viewer. Yes, it should be "Even Viewer" and not error log. Read This, particularly the Number Two - D.E.P section.
Thanks for that Martmeister.

Problem is now sorted - fantastic!

In fact I couldn't see anything obvious in the event viewer so I just went with your other suggestion of turning off unnecessary services. In particular I disabled nwiz.exe (Nvidia desktop manager related to changing display output?) and a service related to CyberLink DVD (PDVDServ).

And now I see what was making me crash - when I step over that boundary in the game I get a cutscene of the Lungfishopolis evening news. My guess is that trying to play that cutscene was making one of those video services trip up the game.

Though of course it could have been any of the services - but I don't think I'm going to bother going back and turning them back on one by one just to find out!

Thanks for taking the time to reply to my posts - much appreciated!

cheers,
Mandella
Pvt_Mandella is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-09-2007, 11:28 PM   #7
martmeister
Veteran
 
martmeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Land of Confusion
Posts: 959
Current Game: FO3, G/2, DA, CODMF2
Awesomeness! I'm betting the DVD program was causing it, since Nvidia's desktop manager is suppose to run seamless with anything that uses its driver. Then again, I've always found Nvidia's manager useless and only use it when I'm changing settings at that very moment.


<No way you can read this. My handwriting's illegible>
martmeister is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Psychonauts Discussion at Razputin's Domain > Razputin's Domain Forums > Ford Cruller's Bacon Support > Lungfishopolis: crash with 0xc0000005 error

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:32 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.