lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: code/scripting question
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-13-2006, 09:12 PM   #1
jedispy
 
jedispy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Left side of the coin
Posts: 828
Current Game: Metroid Prime 2
code/scripting question

Hey guys, this is more of a scripting question rather than a programming question (I say that because I know the difference between the two). If this is not the correct forum, please redirect me.

Is there a difference between writing scripts for the JA single player engine vs. multiplayer engine? I ask because I have some scripting that I'm writing, and I want it to be in the MP engine, but make sure it works.

Any help is greatly appreciated.


Jedispy - SOTE Mod Administrator, server/technical administrator, mod author, forum admin/moderator, web administrator, programmer.
Click to read the latest SOTE MOD news
jedispy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-14-2006, 01:43 AM   #2
Tinny
 
Tinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,188
Not sure, best thing is to experiment and do trial and error runs on both .


Redeemed!

An old school mod for jedi academy.
Tinny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-14-2006, 02:53 AM   #3
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
The short answer is that it's basically the same except for large portions of it that hasn't been implimented work in MP. OJP has done a lot of work to make more of the scripting work but it's not perfect yet.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-14-2006, 11:54 PM   #4
jedispy
 
jedispy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Left side of the coin
Posts: 828
Current Game: Metroid Prime 2
How well do cinematics work in MP?


Jedispy - SOTE Mod Administrator, server/technical administrator, mod author, forum admin/moderator, web administrator, programmer.
Click to read the latest SOTE MOD news
jedispy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-15-2006, 12:58 AM   #5
Tinny
 
Tinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,188
With ojp it works pretty well (especially the camera angles, fades and such) but the only problem that has to be overcome is that custom map specific glas don't work. So all the spiffy cinematic animations don't play .


Redeemed!

An old school mod for jedi academy.
Tinny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-15-2006, 02:09 PM   #6
ensiform
The Stig
 
ensiform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sawtooth Cauldron
Posts: 1,241
Current Game: Borderlands 2
There may still be a way to make it work.


iojamp project lead / coder
ensiform is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-15-2006, 03:54 PM   #7
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
It would have to be a pretty fancy hack since the needed syscall to the game engine is missing in the MP engine.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-15-2006, 05:07 PM   #8
Tinny
 
Tinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,188
If all else fails, there's always merging all the gla files and releasing a huge mod. But every time someone made custom animations for their level, to support it'd it'd have to remerge with the main gla.


Redeemed!

An old school mod for jedi academy.
Tinny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-15-2006, 07:07 PM   #9
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
I was attempting that for a while, but I quit when I realized that the number of custom animations we're talking about outnumber the amount of number animations in the main.gla file. It kind of feels like a waste to force players to use that much memory overhead for animations that only function on individual maps.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-16-2006, 12:40 AM   #10
jedispy
 
jedispy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Left side of the coin
Posts: 828
Current Game: Metroid Prime 2
By custom animations, do you just mean user defined animations that are not originally included in JO/JA?


Jedispy - SOTE Mod Administrator, server/technical administrator, mod author, forum admin/moderator, web administrator, programmer.
Click to read the latest SOTE MOD news
jedispy is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-16-2006, 12:42 PM   #11
Tinny
 
Tinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,188
No, the single player specific maps. Like there will be a humanoids_taspir1 glas I think.


Redeemed!

An old school mod for jedi academy.
Tinny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-16-2006, 06:46 PM   #12
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Yeah, basically, JKA stores the cutscene animations as seperate files associated with the maps on which they're used. The extra files are only loaded if the particular map is run. However, this functionality is only in SP and doesn't appear to be replicatible in the MP engine.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Coding > code/scripting question

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:12 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.