lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Star Destroyer Map?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-14-2006, 01:51 AM   #1
MrPoe
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5
Star Destroyer Map?

Why hasn't anyone made a canonical Star Destroyer map? I've seen many great maps that recreate some of the locations in the films in terrific detail, but I've seen nothing like this for a Star Destroyer.

There have been attempts. There's one here but the bridge looks nothing like an ISD bridge. There's another from "Jedi Outcast", but not exactly canonical. Someone has made one for SW Galaxies, but I'm not subscribing to SWG just to use it! Anyone know if there's one in the works for Jedi Academy or Jedi Outcast?
MrPoe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2006, 05:27 PM   #2
Ockniel
 
Ockniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: at a theater near you!
Posts: 608
Only mine that i know of...
Ockniel is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-03-2006, 04:54 PM   #3
Gug Eyewalker
 
Gug Eyewalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 74
Well, you realize how BIG star destroyers are? We are talking something that is something like 1-2 kilometers long....hang on i will get the stats
according to the star wars databank they are 1600 meters long! That over a mile.
And there are proabably miles and miles of corridors and walkways within - that alone would be far too much to compile.
You would have to break the map up into MANY other maps. Perhaps one for each deack, and sometimes two per deack.
At the very least to realisticly do it you would have to make about 60 maps or more.

Now I saw this guy's map of an Imperial Dreadnaught. That was a fine map, but even it was too small. There were only like four decks. Imperial Dreadnaughts are 600 meters long. Thats the size of the Enterprise-D.

If you wanted to map an entire ship in ONE map something like a Corellian Corvette would be realistic, maybe a maruader cruiser, and MAYBE a Nebulon B frigate, which is 300 meters long, you might could break it up though.


We are the music makers, and WE are the dreamers of the dream. -Willie Wonka
Gug Eyewalker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2006, 08:10 PM   #4
CalcProgrammer1
Rookie
 
CalcProgrammer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 91
If it happens to be big, use areaportaling/teleporters/clip brushes/vis blocking/etc tricks to keep lag down... GtkRadiant (and the compiler) have a very high limit on brushes so it might be possible. Maybe the map grid isn't big enough though.


CalcProgrammer1 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-05-2006, 12:50 AM   #5
MrPoe
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 5
A Star Destroyer map doesn't have to contain every single cubic foot of the ship! The major sections would be fine; the bridge, one of the engine rooms, turbolaser fire control, barracks, mess, detention area, etc. I've seen huge maps before that would easily compliment a Star Destroyer.

I'm really surprised no one's made the bridge at least! It's an iconic set; especially when you consider people have made Death Star and Kamino maps!

Fortunately (for my machinima fan film) a modder has made a terrific ISD bridge map that I'll be using.
MrPoe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-30-2007, 08:45 PM   #6
MasterKavar123
Lurker
 
MasterKavar123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: massachuttes
Posts: 8
i would be happy to create a star destroyer map if some one gave me some time to create it and watch the movies to mske it really close to the real deal.



Quote:
Originally Posted by MrPoe
A Star Destroyer map doesn't have to contain every single cubic foot of the ship! The major sections would be fine; the bridge, one of the engine rooms, turbolaser fire control, barracks, mess, detention area, etc. I've seen huge maps before that would easily compliment a Star Destroyer.

I'm really surprised no one's made the bridge at least! It's an iconic set; especially when you consider people have made Death Star and Kamino maps!

Fortunately (for my machinima fan film) a modder has made a terrific ISD bridge map that I'll be using.


The jedi order is as achaent as time itself it would take the might of the entire galaxy to strike us down.




i am a experenced moddeler for kotor and tsl. if there are any mods you need email me at masterkavar123@yahoo.com
MasterKavar123 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-30-2007, 09:07 PM   #7
ensiform
The Stig
 
ensiform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sawtooth Cauldron
Posts: 1,241
Current Game: Borderlands 2
You wouldn't have to make them to exact scale, could do something like SW:BF2 but smaller. GTK Radiant and the compiler both have scale options.


iojamp project lead / coder
ensiform is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-30-2007, 09:27 PM   #8
Gug Eyewalker
 
Gug Eyewalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 74
Thats no fun!

but anyway , yes i suppose not every cubic meter of the thing has to be mapped - not every crew quarters etc. Still - if you've ever been on on aircraft carrier or other big navel ship - which are just a fraction of the size of an ISD - you would relaize how tremendous such a map might be.


We are the music makers, and WE are the dreamers of the dream. -Willie Wonka
Gug Eyewalker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Mapping > Star Destroyer Map?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:34 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.