lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Scripts won't open in KotOR Tool
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-15-2006, 11:22 AM   #1
Miltiades
Death... by Exile
 
Miltiades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bruges, Belgium
Posts: 2,829
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member Forum Veteran Folder extraordinaire 
Scripts won't open in KotOR Tool

When I double-click a .ncs file in Kotor Tool, it says that it's got an error leading nwnnsscomp and asks if it is installed in the same directory as Kotor Tool. But nwnnsscomp is installed in that directory.

Help, please.

Last edited by Miltiades; 11-16-2006 at 07:07 PM.
Miltiades is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-15-2006, 12:06 PM   #2
Kaspian
Rookie
 
Kaspian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Europe
Posts: 50
Do you want to decompile that *.ncs or just look into some *.nss?

Edit: It's strange - my version of KT is 1.0.2210.16738, Hazard's nwnnsscomp.exe is copied in KT's directory and everything works when I double-click any *.ncs file.

Last edited by Kaspian; 11-15-2006 at 03:13 PM.
Kaspian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-15-2006, 12:27 PM   #3
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Fallout 2
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
If you're unable to get KT to decompile the script for you, you can do it manually also. Extract the .ncs file to a folder and run the command line nwnnsscomp.exe utility to decompile the source code to .pcode. I believe the syntax is simply
Code:
nwnnsscomp -d my_ncs_file.ncs

As Kaspian intimated, you might be able to find the .nss file within the scripts.bif, or failing that, you could download the DeNCS utility so that you don't have to interpret the .pcode yourself.

Sorry I can't provide direct KT assistance.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-16-2006, 01:01 PM   #4
Miltiades
Death... by Exile
 
Miltiades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bruges, Belgium
Posts: 2,829
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member Forum Veteran Folder extraordinaire 
Yeah, I know how to do it manually, I just thought it was possible with Kotor Tool.

@Kaspian: I have Fred Tetra's version of nwnnsscomp, not Hazard's. I've read that Hazard's only works with K1 scripts. Still, Fred's version should work properly, don't know why it doesn't.
Miltiades is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-16-2006, 01:12 PM   #5
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Fallout 2
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Hazard's version works with both (it's what I normally use), you just need to have TSL's nwscript.nss in the same folder as nwnsscomp.exe.

Are you working on a computer in which TSL is installed or on an offline machine?


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-16-2006, 05:39 PM   #6
Kaspian
Rookie
 
Kaspian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Europe
Posts: 50
Miltiades > What is your version of Kotor Tool? I'll test Fred's compiler tomorrow (still at work)
Kaspian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-16-2006, 07:09 PM   #7
Miltiades
Death... by Exile
 
Miltiades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bruges, Belgium
Posts: 2,829
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member Forum Veteran Folder extraordinaire 
Same as yours, 1.0.2210.16738.

@tk102: TSL is installed.
Miltiades is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-16-2006, 09:51 PM   #8
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Fallout 2
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Well, hmm... have you tried reinstalling KotOR Tool?


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-17-2006, 11:46 AM   #9
Miltiades
Death... by Exile
 
Miltiades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bruges, Belgium
Posts: 2,829
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member Forum Veteran Folder extraordinaire 
Didn't work. I'll try Hazard's version of nwnnsscomp, see what that gives.
Miltiades is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-17-2006, 12:32 PM   #10
Kaspian
Rookie
 
Kaspian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Europe
Posts: 50
I tried Fred's compiler and it works. Next I created an empty file, put "ABCDEFGH" text in it, saved as nwnnsscomp.exe in KT's directory and guess what ... it worked No "Error launching nwnnsscomp" - scripts will not compile (tried it, system hung up).

I got the error only once when my file's name wasn't nwnnsscomp.exe
Kaspian is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-17-2006, 02:12 PM   #11
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Fallout 2
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Just thought of something. Do you have a non-US version of TSL installed? There was a syntax error in nwscript.nss that was distributed to non-US version of the game (details here). If you have this syntax error, then nwnnsscomp will fail. Now if you correct the syntax error in nwscript.nss and place nwscript.nss into the same folder as the nwnnsscomp.exe, you should be in business.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-17-2006, 05:01 PM   #12
Miltiades
Death... by Exile
 
Miltiades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bruges, Belgium
Posts: 2,829
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member Forum Veteran Folder extraordinaire 
Yep, I have a non-US version, but I've edited the nwscript.nss a long time ago, so that can't be the problem.

@Kaspian: The filename is correct. There was something weird though. When doubleclicking the nwnnsscomp.exe in the KT map, it opens and closes very quickly. When opening it in the original map, it opens and a whole bunch of lines come up in the window, very fast and non-stop. They're both the same file, so I don't have a clue what this could be.
Miltiades is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > T3-M4's Astromech Droid Center > KotOR Tool > Scripts won't open in KotOR Tool

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:07 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.