lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Shaders for .md3's and .glms
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-04-2006, 06:33 PM   #1
Gug Eyewalker
 
Gug Eyewalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 74
Shaders for .md3's and .glms

Okay...
I can't seem to figure this bit out, been working on it all day.

I created a model in Gmax and exported it as a .md3, applied a basic texture to it.

I went to the models.shader file and added an entry for it, tried giving it a glow.

But why won't this shader work in the map?? Texture shows up, model shows up, OTHER models show up with their shaders, mine wont activate the shader, and I have tried variouse shader formats.

So how does one make a shader work for an md3 ?


We are the music makers, and WE are the dreamers of the dream. -Willie Wonka
Gug Eyewalker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-07-2006, 11:33 AM   #2
Inyri
The Magical Malefactor
 
Inyri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,505
Current Game: Mass Effect 3
Veteran Modder Forum Veteran Helpful! Contest winner - Fan Fiction 
First of all, you may want to make a separate shader for your model, to avoid unnecessary shader conflicts. Secondly, how are you trying to apply your glow? There are several ways to do it. Also, in case it needed stating, make sure dynamic glow is turned on. If it's not, you likely won't see a difference.

Inyri is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-07-2006, 11:06 PM   #3
Gug Eyewalker
 
Gug Eyewalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 74
perhaps not glow is the right term, maybe it is, but at the very least i want self-illumination.

For example, I created a holocron that I want to be translucent and glowing (or not affected by dark). I put the md3 in the map_objects/canyon folder along with the jpegs for the base texture, and another jpeg labeled darkholocron_g (for the parts i want to glow).

I created a shader with notepad that looks like this::

models/map_objects/canyon/darkholocron
{
cull twosided
{
map $lightmap
}
{
map models/map_objects/canyon/darkholocron
blendFunc GL_DST_COLOR GL_ZERO
}
{
map models/map_objects/canyon/darkholocron_g
blendFunc GL_ONE GL_ONE
glow
}
}

saved this in the shaders folder as darkholocron.shader, I also added darkholocron to the shaders list.

when i run this as a static model in gtkradiant and load the map - i get the .md3 but no glowing texture.
In fact I can make shaders and apply them to brushes and have them work just fine, just not .md3's.

I also tried adding the same shader entry to the models.shader file and saved it, but i get the same result.

edit: please note that the above shader does not reflect that i actually have tabs in the right places.


We are the music makers, and WE are the dreamers of the dream. -Willie Wonka

Last edited by Gug Eyewalker; 12-07-2006 at 11:08 PM. Reason: update
Gug Eyewalker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2006, 01:05 PM   #4
Gug Eyewalker
 
Gug Eyewalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 74
Perhaps if I can't get an answer in this forum I could have a moderator move this over to the skinning forum - perhaps that is where this should go.
Still stumped. Thanks!


We are the music makers, and WE are the dreamers of the dream. -Willie Wonka
Gug Eyewalker is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2006, 03:18 PM   #5
Inyri
The Magical Malefactor
 
Inyri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,505
Current Game: Mass Effect 3
Veteran Modder Forum Veteran Helpful! Contest winner - Fan Fiction 
It's more likely a mapping question, actually. I'm not a mapper, but I remember running into this problem... I just can't for the life of me remember what the solution was. I think it had something to do with the way you insert the MD3 into the map. I really don't remember though .

Inyri is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Modeling > Shaders for .md3's and .glms

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:26 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.