lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Want something?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-25-2006, 02:03 AM   #1
-=*Raz0r*=-
Rookie
 
-=*Raz0r*=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 243
-=*Raz0r*=-'s Submissions

I'm uploading my submissions to here.


Submissions:

Last edited by -=*Raz0r*=-; 12-28-2008 at 03:34 AM.
-=*Raz0r*=- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-25-2006, 03:45 AM   #2
UDM
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 922
Good to see another member on our team! 3 Cheers!

Btw dang, now I can't call razorace "razor" anymore . Nah jk, you're still welcome *hugs razor*
UDM is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-25-2006, 04:03 AM   #3
-=*Raz0r*=-
Rookie
 
-=*Raz0r*=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 243
Thanks..

So basically if i wanted something to be included..
i'd open up my files i've *tagged* using TortoiseSVN and then right click > commit?
-=*Raz0r*=- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-25-2006, 02:04 PM   #4
JRHockney*
Moderator
 
JRHockney*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,255
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member 
Good to have another hand around here. We definitely need it.

Quote:
I was thinking, as a special force power:
Full recharge.
Recovers all your health (or maybe 75?) but the time it takes to complete this effect is around 2-5 seconds and drains all your force power?
Well, Heal worked a little to similar to that and we got rid of heal mainly because it wasn't very movie realistic. We're not sure if we'll bring that back or not.


Game screen name: Master Jon Hoc Ni

UDM Quote: in singapore, gangsters are...skinny jacka**es who think they can 0wn you. they hurl insults at u, and then lose in a fight. n00bs
JRHockney* is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-25-2006, 05:07 PM   #5
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Quote:
Originally Posted by -=*Raz0r*=-
Thanks..

So basically if i wanted something to be included..
i'd open up my files i've *tagged* using TortoiseSVN and then right click > commit?
Well, actually you're going to have to email your first submission so I can make sure it's acceptable before you're given write access.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-03-2006, 02:06 AM   #6
-=*Raz0r*=-
Rookie
 
-=*Raz0r*=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 243
Updated.
-=*Raz0r*=- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-03-2006, 02:25 AM   #7
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
File seems to be corrupted. Please reupload.

Also, please explain what this submission is. I don't understand.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-03-2006, 02:44 AM   #8
-=*Raz0r*=-
Rookie
 
-=*Raz0r*=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 243
Works fine for me.

Read JRHockey's post for description. I kinda...uhm...edited my first post.
-=*Raz0r*=- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-03-2006, 04:44 AM   #9
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
So it's the efx for a possible full health recharge?


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-03-2006, 06:02 AM   #10
-=*Raz0r*=-
Rookie
 
-=*Raz0r*=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 243
Yes.
-=*Raz0r*=- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2006, 02:50 AM   #11
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
So, what sort of effect are we talking here? Shader on the player, temp effect or what?


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2006, 04:53 AM   #12
-=*Raz0r*=-
Rookie
 
-=*Raz0r*=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 243
Take a look at it. If you have EffectsEd

Basically in order of event:

1) Fire ember spawns above player gliding down. - While that is going on, a red flare starting from playerorigin spawnpoint acts like the regular heal effect.
2) The 'heal' effect stops the same time as the fire ember reaches playerorigin
3) Medium sized explosion, with a fire electricity explosion.
4) Thermal wave takes place.

Screens

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y37/Tha_Track/pic1.jpg
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y37/Tha_Track/pic2.jpg
http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y37/Tha_Track/pic3.jpg

Mind you, it looks much better when you play it.

Instead of the heal effect, i put the colour to red and the texture to a flare.
-=*Raz0r*=- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2006, 04:10 PM   #13
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
neato. It sounds like you know a bit about efx editting. Would you mind enlarging the thermal explosion effect for us? We're trying to make it a bigger explosion and need to make the effect larger to match.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2006, 04:40 PM   #14
-=*Raz0r*=-
Rookie
 
-=*Raz0r*=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 243
The thermal ring grows outwards when it's playing, it ends up being pretty big.

PS: I've just made a simple blood effect, but i can't test ingame because my CD isn't working right now, want to take a look?

And yes, i'm fairly experienced in the effects department.
-=*Raz0r*=- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2006, 04:46 PM   #15
Maxstate
I forgot.... what?
 
Maxstate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ;o ;p :eek:
Posts: 2,090
Well nice of you ace..
I've already started the thermal detonation but it's harder than it looks to get it like Lucas intended. It's supposed to be a growing particle blast in the shape of a sphere that grows 8 meters apart and then collapses.

I wanted to take the altdetonate efx from the demp 2 and make it a whitish colour so I can experiment on it. Add a big growing starting size and to simulate implosion, have a small ending size. But it won't work for some reason, I got too frustrated to continue on it today.

I fixed the staff overpoweredness btw.

Maxstate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2006, 04:50 PM   #16
-=*Raz0r*=-
Rookie
 
-=*Raz0r*=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 243
Oh now i get what you mean...

Well actually it' be pretty easy.

*EDIT: How much larger? 2? 3 times larger?
-=*Raz0r*=- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2006, 05:40 PM   #17
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxstate
Well nice of you ace..
Just trying to recruit additional help. You hadn't finished it immediately so I assumed that you might need some help.

As for size, I'm looking for an explosion the size of a large room. I'm thinking that a thermal det was supposed to have a large enough blast to kill everyone in the throne room of Jabba's Palace. You're welcome to completely change the effect if you guys want, just want something that shows the power of the explosion.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2006, 05:45 PM   #18
-=*Raz0r*=-
Rookie
 
-=*Raz0r*=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 243
Ok i'll try that...shouldn't be too hard.
-=*Raz0r*=- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2006, 05:54 PM   #19
-=*Raz0r*=-
Rookie
 
-=*Raz0r*=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 243
I'm making two versions.

1) Regular thermal effects, enlarged, goes for longer (explosion+cloud), sparks.
2) Growing sphere.


*EDIT: I looked into the source code and saw what draws the sphere for demp.

Lines 399,400
Code:
		cgs.media.demp2Shell = trap_R_RegisterModel( "models/items/sphere.md3" );
		cgs.media.demp2ShellShader = trap_R_RegisterShader( "gfx/effects/demp2shell" );
The only problem is, if i change that sphere model size, it changes it for various other things.

So for this to work...a coder would have to work their way around to making the thermal explosion draw "models/items/sphere_thermal.md3"
I will scale the model and send it to you.

Hopefully this works..

Last edited by -=*Raz0r*=-; 12-04-2006 at 06:35 PM.
-=*Raz0r*=- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2006, 06:33 PM   #20
Maxstate
I forgot.... what?
 
Maxstate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ;o ;p :eek:
Posts: 2,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by -=*Raz0r*=-
I'm making two versions.

1) Regular thermal effects, enlarged, goes for longer (explosion+cloud), sparks.
2) Growing sphere.
If you figure out what I'm missing with the growing sphere, please tell me.
I've been busting my head over it for a few hours with no success. I'm off to sleep, it's 12:33 AM..

Maxstate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-05-2006, 02:42 AM   #21
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Doesn't the rocket explosion also have a sphere explosion? What does it use?

From your code example, it looks like the sphere model is used generically and then a specific shader is used on it. The actual size of the sphere model is probably controlled by the code. I'll look into that side of things.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-05-2006, 02:48 AM   #22
-=*Raz0r*=-
Rookie
 
-=*Raz0r*=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 243
No i don't think the rocket does.

That would use effects/rocket/explosion.efx

-I've just looked into that, and found two muzzleFlash effect files. (SP + MP)
I'm going to use the SP one, copy it/rename to the MP name.
The SP just has fire things coming out of the head of the rocket launcher - which the model was made for.

-=*Raz0r*=- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2006, 03:43 PM   #23
-=*Raz0r*=-
Rookie
 
-=*Raz0r*=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 243
Blood effects work now, updated.

Currently: Thinking of new effects..

-=*Raz0r*=- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2006, 03:53 PM   #24
Maxstate
I forgot.... what?
 
Maxstate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ;o ;p :eek:
Posts: 2,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by -=*Raz0r*=-
Blood effects work now, updated.

Currently: Thinking of new effects..
A new lightning hit effect? On bodies I mean.

Maxstate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2006, 05:52 PM   #25
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Razor, I know your thing is effects, but can you do skins as well? I'm shopping around for some people to do holocron skins for the various weapon skills that are available in Enhanced. That way we could include them in Holocron FFA.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2006, 07:22 PM   #26
-=*Raz0r*=-
Rookie
 
-=*Raz0r*=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 243
Razor
Yes, i can skin.
I might need some guidelines for what you're looking at though..just making every skin team support or something? That should be easy.

Maxstate
Ok, will do.
[edit]I think it uses a shader. I'll look around.[/edit]
[edit2]I'm trying to get the fullBodyElectric2 from effects.shader to draw gfx/misc/newlightning.jpg (custom-made lightning) instead of gfx/misc/lightning3.jpg (default ja force lightning). Not working.[/edit2]


Last edited by -=*Raz0r*=-; 12-08-2006 at 09:56 PM.
-=*Raz0r*=- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2006, 09:17 PM   #27
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Oh, it's just the holocron models used for the holocrons. If I could have additional holocrons based around the various Enhanced skills that can be used, then we could add those holos to that gametype.

An example Holocron would be the Heal Holocron, which is models/map_objects/mp/lt_heal.md3 in your game assets.

You can also look at the Force Pull holo that I modified so that it would use the correct skin (it was using the Force Push skin before). It can be found in the OJP assets under /models/map_objects/mp/force_pull.md3.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2006, 09:52 PM   #28
-=*Raz0r*=-
Rookie
 
-=*Raz0r*=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 243
I see what you mean.

Well, i could have a crack at it.

I'll update you as soon as i've got something done.

-=*Raz0r*=- is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2006, 10:07 PM   #29
JRHockney*
Moderator
 
JRHockney*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,255
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member 
I was also thinking that it might be a good idea to make higher skill point bubbles for the skill menu since I dont think they go higher than 8 as far as the graphic is concerned. They might be useful in case we ever want higher skill levels for things or "out of reach" items untill you have more skill. You or UDM could probably make those pretty well.


Game screen name: Master Jon Hoc Ni

UDM Quote: in singapore, gangsters are...skinny jacka**es who think they can 0wn you. they hurl insults at u, and then lose in a fight. n00bs
JRHockney* is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2006, 06:19 AM   #30
Maxstate
I forgot.... what?
 
Maxstate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ;o ;p :eek:
Posts: 2,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRHockney*
I was also thinking that it might be a good idea to make higher skill point bubbles for the skill menu since I dont think they go higher than 8 as far as the graphic is concerned. They might be useful in case we ever want higher skill levels for things or "out of reach" items untill you have more skill. You or UDM could probably make those pretty well.
Oh even I could do them if you want, I'm still interested to keep my ****ty jack of all title

It's just the forcestar file that needs to get some extra punch in it, I'll see what I can do.

Maxstate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2006, 09:36 AM   #31
JRHockney*
Moderator
 
JRHockney*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,255
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxstate
Oh even I could do them if you want, I'm still interested to keep my ****ty jack of all title

It's just the forcestar file that needs to get some extra punch in it, I'll see what I can do.
Ok, if you can do it, then you're welcome to try it. I'm sure we'll get some use out of them. Use your best judgement on what number bubbles to make. Good luck if you decide to make some over 100, LOL.


Game screen name: Master Jon Hoc Ni

UDM Quote: in singapore, gangsters are...skinny jacka**es who think they can 0wn you. they hurl insults at u, and then lose in a fight. n00bs
JRHockney* is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2006, 12:08 PM   #32
Maxstate
I forgot.... what?
 
Maxstate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ;o ;p :eek:
Posts: 2,090
How's this?

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y30...te/example.jpg

I'm still planning on adding some kind of effect on this one.

But if you don't like it, I'll just take the old ones and add effects to them.

Maxstate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2006, 03:23 PM   #33
JRHockney*
Moderator
 
JRHockney*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,255
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member 
LOL, wow thats pretty cool! Those might be perfect for Bober's Castlevania mod! Although I'm not sure how appropiate it will be for the starwars universe.

The main reason why I suggested new bubbles is not neccessarily to change the apparence of the numbers, but how high the numbers can go since I think 8 is the highest. If we could have 10, 15, 20, 50, or even 100 point bubbles, we might have more flexibility on what we can spend on certain items or how powerful we can make them. Say, maybe we could make a 50 or 100 point bubble for another level of flamethrower that makes you use less fuel or some thing like that. See, the possibilities are endless on what we could do with these in order to really make earning points an important, worthy feature.


Game screen name: Master Jon Hoc Ni

UDM Quote: in singapore, gangsters are...skinny jacka**es who think they can 0wn you. they hurl insults at u, and then lose in a fight. n00bs
JRHockney* is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2006, 03:37 PM   #34
Maxstate
I forgot.... what?
 
Maxstate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ;o ;p :eek:
Posts: 2,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRHockney*
LOL, wow thats pretty cool! Those might be perfect for Bober's Castlevania mod! Although I'm not sure how appropiate it will be for the starwars universe.

The main reason why I suggested new bubbles is not neccessarily to change the apparence of the numbers, but how high the numbers can go since I think 8 is the highest. If we could have 10, 15, 20, 50, or even 100 point bubbles, we might have more flexibility on what we can spend on certain items or how powerful we can make them. Say, maybe we could make a 50 or 100 point bubble for another level of flamethrower that makes you use less fuel or some thing like that. See, the possibilities are endless on what we could do with these in order to really make earning points an important, worthy feature.
Ahh okay, sorry, I misunderstood.

Someone mentioned the idea of spending "money" on items and gadgets and "skill points" on skills. Would it be possible to split gunner and Jedi stuff up and create a money/skill duality?

Just throwing out an idea here.

Maxstate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2006, 05:43 PM   #35
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
It would be possible, but would take quite a while to impliment. I'm happy with the current system.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Community > Hosted Forums > Open Jedi Project (OJP) > Want something?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:36 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.