lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Question about a mod tool
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-27-2007, 09:04 PM   #1
Seymour-Omnis
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Question about a mod tool

I've been doing some searches and I've been only finding topics and posts without a definitive answer for my question, so I'll just create this thread to ask for a direct answer.

Is there a model viewing tool, such as Md3View(for Jedi Knight 2 and 3), available for KOTOR? My idea was to use it to capture screenshots of character models to make a signature. If not, is there any sort of alternative to it?(For example, I know the models are in the .mdl format, so if there's some sort of MDL Viewer...and if that exists, I'd also need some way to import the animations into the program)

I'm sorry for creating a thread while there are pinned threads about this matter, but I searched(not very thoroughly) and didn't find a good answer.

Last edited by Seymour-Omnis; 01-27-2007 at 09:20 PM.
Seymour-Omnis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-28-2007, 03:33 PM   #2
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seymour-Omnis
Is there a model viewing tool, such as Md3View(for Jedi Knight 2 and 3), available for KOTOR?
As far as I know there isn't any model viewers made for KotOR directly. It is said that Bioware's MDL viewer for Neverwinter Nights work with some models, but not all of them, but I haven't verified that myself.

The best you could do currently is probably to use MDLOPS to convert the model to ascii format and then use NWMax to import it into either gmax or 3dsmax and view it there. I don't know if importing animations work well though.
stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-28-2007, 03:44 PM   #3
Seymour-Omnis
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
I see. Thank you.

Using KOTOR Tool, I can extract the .mdl files without having to use this "MDLOPS" you mentioned. However, I used the "extract animations" option while extracting the .mdl, and once I import it to 3DS Max 8(using NWMax), the animation is somehow corrupted, the model just gets distorted around. The model itself is very weird-looking, but maybe that's because of shaders, since I tested the Rakghoul model, since I couldn't find any character models in that "small" list.

Does anyone else know how to work around this? I wouldn't be surprised if what I'm asking for is impossible...if it really can't be done, I'll just change my plans on that signature.
Seymour-Omnis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-07-2007, 12:24 PM   #4
Darkkender
Knight of Holowan
 
Darkkender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: In the mountains of Oregon
Posts: 2,953
Current Game: Star Wars The Old Republic
Veteran Modder 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seymour-Omnis
I see. Thank you.

Using KOTOR Tool, I can extract the .mdl files without having to use this "MDLOPS" you mentioned. However, I used the "extract animations" option while extracting the .mdl, and once I import it to 3DS Max 8(using NWMax), the animation is somehow corrupted, the model just gets distorted around. The model itself is very weird-looking, but maybe that's because of shaders, since I tested the Rakghoul model, since I couldn't find any character models in that "small" list.

Does anyone else know how to work around this? I wouldn't be surprised if what I'm asking for is impossible...if it really can't be done, I'll just change my plans on that signature.
Kotor Tool has a earlier version of mdlops built into it. The extract animation function doesn't actually work properly. The latest version of mdlops vs 0.6a4 supports extracting animations to a limited degree. However please remember that even using this version of mdlops there is still a chance for your animations to get messed up.


Working so, we will learn history as a tree knows it; we will climb into shapes printed in the seed; we will become time made visible, years made fragrant; we will make of concentric memory a stem of praise; we will inhabit daylight at a trees own speed; we will be travelers who remain, patriots to this ground.
OMG I only rank 62.13018% geek or a Extreme Geek as it is referred to on the geektest at Geektest
[TSL]Holowan Plugin

Last edited by RedHawke; 02-07-2007 at 11:53 PM. Reason: Removed refrence to deleted post...
Darkkender is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > T3-M4's Astromech Droid Center > Question about a mod tool

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:22 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.