lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: problem installing JK on win xp x64
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-03-2007, 09:08 AM   #1
iceydamo
Lurker
 
iceydamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 5
Question problem installing JK on win xp x64

I can not install JK on win xp x64 cause of the 16 bit installer does anyone know a way round this program it would be a great help.
iceydamo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-03-2007, 03:00 PM   #2
Kurgan
Headhunter
 
Kurgan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1997
Location: The Dawn of Time
Posts: 18,298
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
Can you try running it in "compatability mode"?

Or maybe there's some help on LucasArt's site (Yoda's Help Desk)?


Download JK2 maps for JA Server|BOOT CAMP!|Strategic Academy|
(JA Server: 108.178.55.189:29070)


"The Concussion Rifle is the weapon of a Jedi Knight Player, an elegant weapon, from a more civilized community." - Kyle Katarn
Kurgan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-03-2007, 03:12 PM   #3
Boba Rhett
I Slay Dragons
 
Boba Rhett's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Man-Room in Missouri
Posts: 13,805
Current Game: Scrolling Eldery
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! LF Jester Helpful! 
Read this.

You could also do a dual boot or use something like this.

If those don't work, the only other way I've ever seen this done is by manually copying over all the game files and manually creating the registry keys for the game.

Good luck!
Boba Rhett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-03-2007, 04:14 PM   #4
iceydamo
Lurker
 
iceydamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 5
I tryed yoda help desk but they forwarded me to activiton cause they dont support the eurpern version of the game and i have tried it in combatibilty which doesnt help cause x64 blocks any program tht are 16-bit, tried what it says still doesnt work.

i finally got it sorted i had to download a .gob extracter once i done that put it all in a directary it worked

Last edited by iceydamo; 02-03-2007 at 05:17 PM.
iceydamo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-03-2007, 11:17 PM   #5
Boba Rhett
I Slay Dragons
 
Boba Rhett's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Man-Room in Missouri
Posts: 13,805
Current Game: Scrolling Eldery
LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! LF Jester Helpful! 
Would you perhaps be willing to spell out the steps you took to get it to work? I imagine many more will be asking this same question later down the road.
Boba Rhett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-04-2007, 04:58 AM   #6
iceydamo
Lurker
 
iceydamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 5
ok first I found a program called dragon unpacker which you can grab here: http://www.softpedia.com/get/Program...UnPACKer.shtml
which could open the .gob files,
right first go to game data folder on disk 1 then copy the controls, episodes and resource folders to where you want on to the hardrive "eg:c:\jedi", then go back to the game data folder then go into the exe folder and copy other the files from there into the folder you copied the other folders too earlyer,
right then install dragon unpacker then once its installed run it then go to file open then browse to the miniinstall folder in the game data folder, right there are 2 gob files here one for low end files and the other one is for the highend most people whould probley want better graphics and sound so open the RES1HI.GOB and right notice in the left colum it has the name of the file you openedwith a plus sign next to it.
Right hit that and you noticed free folders now before you extract go back to the jedi folder on your hardrive and create three folders to match the names of the ones in the program, then go back to the program click on the first one which should be sound then right click and tell it to extract to then browse to the folder you created for it and click extract then do that for the other two and your done.
double click on the exe and enjoy.

hopethly i explaned that ok.
iceydamo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-04-2007, 09:37 AM   #7
ZeqMacaw
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 9
There is no need to "unpack" the gob files for installing JK. So, no need to get DragonUnpacker.

I have written a short tutorial on how to install JK manually, that is, without JK's installer program.

By the way, one of the files copied in that tutorial should allow you to play JK without the CDs.


Last edited by ZeqMacaw; 02-04-2007 at 09:51 AM.
ZeqMacaw is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-04-2007, 12:59 PM   #8
iceydamo
Lurker
 
iceydamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 5
all in good I did that but it wouldnt run for me on this machine untill I extracted the gob file (im not saying it wont work for other people). but better explanison then mine and yes it works without the disks.
iceydamo is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Knight / MotS > problem installing JK on win xp x64

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:50 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.