lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Omni-bot
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-04-2007, 03:18 AM   #1
ensiform
The Stig
 
ensiform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sawtooth Cauldron
Posts: 1,241
Current Game: Borderlands 2
Omni-bot

Take a look at:
http://www.omni-bot.de/e107/news.php

Anyone else up for the task of making Omni-bot work with JA?

DrEvil said he could help if need be. I've got the full sdk on HDD from svn.

I'd rather not post direct link to the main svn and only pm it to those who would be of interest in helping etc.

Honestly... this way pwns TABBots anyday, sorry Razor.

You'll need knowledge of some C++ if you want to help btw.

For starters we mostly just need basic goals for JA, can add siege and force powers later...


iojamp project lead / coder
ensiform is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2007, 10:43 AM   #2
Tinny
 
Tinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,188
Have you seen them in action? I tried looking up how they are different from other bots but to no avail.


Redeemed!

An old school mod for jedi academy.
Tinny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2007, 12:07 PM   #3
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,161
I've never played them. Not sure how they would be better than the TABBots.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2007, 12:56 PM   #4
ensiform
The Stig
 
ensiform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sawtooth Cauldron
Posts: 1,241
Current Game: Borderlands 2
Yea, the page itself doesn't show much about them. But I had played on an ETPub server last week and they had some names of real players with uber high XP with XPSave. They honestly would rape me some of the times and helped me a lot on some maps. And I didn't realize they were bots until i did !listplayers and saw their GUID was *OMNIBOT....


iojamp project lead / coder
ensiform is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2007, 01:10 PM   #5
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,161
Well, it's not that hard to make a uber-aim bot.

I personally think the goal of a good bot is to make them act like real players. I do realize that the TABBots aren't the greatest, but I simply haven't had the time to work on them farther.

I think it would be easier to just upgrade the TABBots than it would be to import a bot from another game.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2007, 04:07 PM   #6
ensiform
The Stig
 
ensiform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sawtooth Cauldron
Posts: 1,241
Current Game: Borderlands 2
Well I've got a compiled .dll for JA based off of the skeleton "basic" sdk.

Now I'm just merging the gamecode stuff to my mod to see if I can make them spawn.


iojamp project lead / coder
ensiform is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2007, 09:30 PM   #7
ensiform
The Stig
 
ensiform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sawtooth Cauldron
Posts: 1,241
Current Game: Borderlands 2
Omni-bot wandering my standard waypoints placed on CTF4:
Picture

Waypoints Drawing From an Interprocess Message Queue From omnibot_ja.dll -> cgame module:
Picture


iojamp project lead / coder
ensiform is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2007, 02:58 PM   #8
Tinny
 
Tinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,188
Couldn't tell much from those pictures. Now the game play in ET and JA would require completely different codes, how does the skeleton of the base of omni bod fare in JA?


Redeemed!

An old school mod for jedi academy.
Tinny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2007, 03:03 PM   #9
ensiform
The Stig
 
ensiform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sawtooth Cauldron
Posts: 1,241
Current Game: Borderlands 2
Skeleton is mostly the basic setup of bots that know how to explore on their own and go to specific waypoints when commanded too.

ET has special evaluators / goals for each thing that it knows.

Will add JA specific ones at a later time though. DrEvil just got JA so yea..


iojamp project lead / coder
ensiform is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-08-2007, 01:01 AM   #10
ensiform
The Stig
 
ensiform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sawtooth Cauldron
Posts: 1,241
Current Game: Borderlands 2
Some rather big updates...
  • I've got them using several of the weapons now.
  • Using the so far unreleased 0.7 codebase.
  • Can use force jump when told to to get to certain areas.
  • They know how to attack certain things even if not players.
  • They "feel" being drained and pushed/pulled since they do not take damage, had to mimic the feel pain event.
  • For now they ignore players whom have the bot mindtricked (instead of trying to counter if they have seeing).
  • Bot file for custom userinfo based on names set in the ja_autoexec.gm file.
  • They know CTF goals but there is a bug currently that causes them to stop moving around with flags taken.
  • Cleaned up SVF_BOT checks with interface functions from other places in cgame code.
  • With 0.7 codebase, comes newer debug window, and the waypoint code previously shown.
  • Eventually, might have the ability to use NavMesh (FloodFill)

New Early OpenGL Debug Window In Map View:

http://img149.imageshack.us/img149/6512/obmapet3.jpg


iojamp project lead / coder
ensiform is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-08-2007, 01:01 PM   #11
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,161
Going with FloodFill is a smart choice.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-08-2007, 03:32 PM   #12
ensiform
The Stig
 
ensiform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sawtooth Cauldron
Posts: 1,241
Current Game: Borderlands 2
Not necessarily, things still need to be optimized for later. Plus there isn't enough data known to really make it work (Unless one wanted to go and do millions of traces for virtually every coord (-65536, -65536 to 65536, 65536)

You can already do waypoint_autofeature and it puts points at spawnpoints, push triggers (and their target), teleport triggers (and their target), and ctf flags.


iojamp project lead / coder
ensiform is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-08-2007, 04:53 PM   #13
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,161
Yes, it would take a lot of preprocessing, but it would allow for more accurate routing later on.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-11-2007, 01:42 AM   #14
ensiform
The Stig
 
ensiform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sawtooth Cauldron
Posts: 1,241
Current Game: Borderlands 2
Partially fixed CTF bot bugs.

Edit: All good now.


iojamp project lead / coder

Last edited by ensiform; 11-11-2007 at 12:25 PM.
ensiform is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Coding > Omni-bot

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:52 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.