lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: moving project to another laptop
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-04-2007, 10:48 AM   #1
Tinny
 
Tinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,188
moving project to another laptop

Hey guys, I was moving my project to another laptop and I tried to compile but it wouldn't. It would say certain .obj files weren't found and then it would give an error at g_crash.c saying that it could not find windows.h. Do any of you know what could cause this problem and how to fix it?


Redeemed!

An old school mod for jedi academy.
Tinny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2007, 11:09 AM   #2
DarthDie
Junior Member
 
DarthDie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 407
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en
download that
after installation goto tools->options->projects and solutions->VC++ directorys->on the right goto include add [Drive]:/Program Files/Microsoft SDK/Include
do same for library but [microsoft SDK]/Lib
~Die


OJP Sponsors and websites

"...and what about all those screenshots in there of DarthDie with a swastika of demo charges."
DarthDie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2007, 12:02 PM   #3
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,171
Tinny, are you using the Express or Full version of VS2005?


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2007, 04:11 PM   #4
Tinny
 
Tinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,188
Hey Razor, i'm using express. Darth, i'm about to implement what you just said to do.


Redeemed!

An old school mod for jedi academy.
Tinny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2007, 06:31 PM   #5
JRHockney*
Moderator
 
JRHockney*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,255
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member 
LOL, hey razor, does this error sound familiar?!

I implemented it and I still get the same errors

I get this:

LINK : fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file 'odbc32.lib'

BSCMAKE: error BK1506 : cannot open file '..\Debug\JK2game\g_crash.sbr': No such file or directory

g:\program files\tortoisesvn\enhanced\source\game\g_crash.c(1 98) : fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'windows.h': Permission denied

LINK : fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file 'odbc32.lib'

I guess when I originally deleted the win32 stuff, it refuses to come back even with a new platform. It won't even work if I re-add it to the solution! WTF!!!


Game screen name: Master Jon Hoc Ni

UDM Quote: in singapore, gangsters are...skinny jacka**es who think they can 0wn you. they hurl insults at u, and then lose in a fight. n00bs

Last edited by JRHockney*; 04-04-2007 at 07:23 PM.
JRHockney* is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-04-2007, 07:35 PM   #6
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,171
Permission denied..... WEIRD! Maybe it's set to read-only or something.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-05-2007, 02:49 AM   #7
Maxstate
I forgot.... what?
 
Maxstate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ;o ;p :eek:
Posts: 2,090
I would start with getting all of those files mentioned into one folder then piece by piece checking their properties for read-only and checking if you're allowed to do anything with them at all in advanced --> users. Who knows, maybe the copypasta will help already!

Maxstate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2007, 03:06 PM   #8
Tinny
 
Tinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRHockney*
LOL, hey razor, does this error sound familiar?!

I implemented it and I still get the same errors

I get this:

LINK : fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file 'odbc32.lib'

BSCMAKE: error BK1506 : cannot open file '..\Debug\JK2game\g_crash.sbr': No such file or directory

g:\program files\tortoisesvn\enhanced\source\game\g_crash.c(1 98) : fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'windows.h': Permission denied

LINK : fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file 'odbc32.lib'

I guess when I originally deleted the win32 stuff, it refuses to come back even with a new platform. It won't even work if I re-add it to the solution! WTF!!!
Did you make sure to change the setting on the top right from executable to library and then include when you were in the menu to change the directories for the include and libraries?

Alright Darth, I did what you told to do and almost everything is fixed except i'm getting one error in g_crash.c:

g_crash.obj : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol __imp__wsprintfA referenced in function _win32_backtrace

So when I comment out the line:

wsprintf(modname, "Unknown");

in win32_backtrace function in g_crash everything compiles ok. I figure the line is important though.


Redeemed!

An old school mod for jedi academy.
Tinny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2007, 03:19 PM   #9
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,171
what a tick, is the wsprintf in the g_crash? it's possible that we could change that to something else and avoid the problem entirely.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2007, 04:00 PM   #10
Tinny
 
Tinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,188
Hey yeah, but don't worry. I might have done something wrong by not following this:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/vstudio/ex...alc/usingpsdk/

correctly.


Redeemed!

An old school mod for jedi academy.
Tinny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2007, 04:26 PM   #11
JRHockney*
Moderator
 
JRHockney*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,255
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinny
Hey yeah, but don't worry. I might have done something wrong by not following this:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/vstudio/ex...alc/usingpsdk/

correctly.
Both myself and Darthdie got the same error, so probably not... of course, I didn't read that link either.


Game screen name: Master Jon Hoc Ni

UDM Quote: in singapore, gangsters are...skinny jacka**es who think they can 0wn you. they hurl insults at u, and then lose in a fight. n00bs
JRHockney* is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2007, 04:35 PM   #12
DarthDie
Junior Member
 
DarthDie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 407
Yeah we both have had to comment out that dang line....gotta to ensi about what that is....Hey ensi what is that line??


OJP Sponsors and websites

"...and what about all those screenshots in there of DarthDie with a swastika of demo charges."
DarthDie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-07-2007, 04:41 PM   #13
Tinny
 
Tinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,188
Hmm, I followed the instructions closely this time and it would let me compile with the wsprintf uncommented.


Redeemed!

An old school mod for jedi academy.
Tinny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2007, 03:11 AM   #14
JRHockney*
Moderator
 
JRHockney*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,255
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinny
Hmm, I followed the instructions closely this time and it would let me compile with the wsprintf uncommented.
hmm, I noticed that that tutorial is for R2. We have sp1 I think. I tried step 3 and step 4 so far with the appropriate changes for our version and I got the same error as before.Step 5 looks like just a test or something.


Game screen name: Master Jon Hoc Ni

UDM Quote: in singapore, gangsters are...skinny jacka**es who think they can 0wn you. they hurl insults at u, and then lose in a fight. n00bs
JRHockney* is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2007, 07:46 PM   #15
Tinny
 
Tinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,188
Oh, I think there's some parts to step 5 other than testing:

In Visual C++ Express, the Win32 Windows Application type is disabled in the Win32 Application Wizard. To enable that type, you need to edit the file AppSettings.htm file located in the folder %ProgramFiles%\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\VCWizards\AppWiz\Generic\Application\html\103 3\".

In a text editor comment out lines 441 - 444 by putting a // in front of them as shown here:

// WIN_APP.disabled = true;
// WIN_APP_LABEL.disabled = true;
// DLL_APP.disabled = true;
// DLL_APP_LABEL.disabled = true;


Redeemed!

An old school mod for jedi academy.
Tinny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2007, 10:07 PM   #16
JRHockney*
Moderator
 
JRHockney*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,255
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinny
Oh, I think there's some parts to step 5 other than testing:

In Visual C++ Express, the Win32 Windows Application type is disabled in the Win32 Application Wizard. To enable that type, you need to edit the file AppSettings.htm file located in the folder %ProgramFiles%\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\VCWizards\AppWiz\Generic\Application\html\103 3\".

In a text editor comment out lines 441 - 444 by putting a // in front of them as shown here:

// WIN_APP.disabled = true;
// WIN_APP_LABEL.disabled = true;
// DLL_APP.disabled = true;
// DLL_APP_LABEL.disabled = true;
Well I just tried that. I got the same error


Game screen name: Master Jon Hoc Ni

UDM Quote: in singapore, gangsters are...skinny jacka**es who think they can 0wn you. they hurl insults at u, and then lose in a fight. n00bs
JRHockney* is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-08-2007, 10:11 PM   #17
Tinny
 
Tinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,188
I'm sorry, i'm out of ideas now .


Redeemed!

An old school mod for jedi academy.
Tinny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Community > Hosted Forums > Open Jedi Project (OJP) > moving project to another laptop

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:01 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.