lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: OJP Bots
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-02-2007, 04:11 PM   #1
Wytchking
Rookie
 
Wytchking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: England
Posts: 86
OJP Bots

I was just wondering if someone could make it so bots used their skill points as at the moment bots never use force powers or guns. It would also be nice to have an upgrade to the cleverness of the bots but I know this is never going to be a particularly high priority compared with Hybrid balancing etc.
Wytchking is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-02-2007, 04:19 PM   #2
DarthDie
Junior Member
 
DarthDie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 407
I think they do spend skill points based on bot file...at least i think thats what someone said...-- if so then i guess they havent been setup to use force/guns?


OJP Sponsors and websites

"...and what about all those screenshots in there of DarthDie with a swastika of demo charges."
DarthDie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-02-2007, 05:51 PM   #3
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Yeah, they will distribute their skill points in the Force skills based on their bot file, but the bot file doesn't include anything about the weapon skills. However, this is fixable since bots do have weapon preferences, which could be converted into skill point selections.

Bug ticket the problem. It sounds like I just forgot about it.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-03-2007, 07:19 AM   #4
bjusterbaarlik
Rookie
 
bjusterbaarlik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 49
How about getting rid of the whole 'forceinfo' variable in the botfiles and use the 'BotWeaponWeights' system for Force powers as well? The first two values of forceinfo are not really used anymore anyways, since there is a whole different skill system and you don't explicitly choose for the dark or light side either.

This is all just a suggestion and at the same time a guess, since I do not know if this is doable. However, if this will be done, I am always able to help with changing around all the individual botfiles.
bjusterbaarlik is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-03-2007, 12:04 PM   #5
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Well, my experience has been that completely new OJP editing features go unused. As such, I think it's better to go with a system that works with botfiles out-of-the-box.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-03-2007, 12:34 PM   #6
TheShaman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 277
Hum, actually I've seen tabbots pull a weapon out and shoot at me... but maybe they picked it up on me when I died earlier, not sure...
TheShaman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-03-2007, 12:45 PM   #7
DarthDie
Junior Member
 
DarthDie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 407
Aye -- they only use weapons if they pick it up....then they just sit there and shoot it till it runs out of ammo.


OJP Sponsors and websites

"...and what about all those screenshots in there of DarthDie with a swastika of demo charges."
DarthDie is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-04-2007, 11:21 AM   #8
TheShaman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 277
Also in Jedi master gametype they use their pistol.
TheShaman is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-26-2007, 01:08 AM   #9
tarbaby
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 18
i just posted a ticket on this. can you give bots a set of priorities to follow when spend their skill points? i.e. 1st priority weapon, 2nd priority offensive force, 3rd priority defensive force etc. i went into greater detail on the ticket.

thanks

tb
tarbaby is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-26-2007, 02:15 PM   #10
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Right now, you can basically assign what their ideal/final skill selections would be.

However, if they don't have enough points in those skills, they fall back on the standard "you-don't-enough-points" behavior which attempts to remove skill assignments until the player isn't over their limit. Unfortunately, that system isn't the smartest, and it would be pretty hard to improve on it.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Community > Hosted Forums > Open Jedi Project (OJP) > OJP Bots

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:25 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.