lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Kse V 3.3.3 problem
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 05-22-2007, 09:42 AM   #1
Saber-Scorpion
Rookie
 
Saber-Scorpion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Smedsby,Finland
Posts: 236
Kse V 3.3.3 problem

i can't get the kotor savegame editor version 3.3.3 to start it just loads for some seconds and then it dosen't start
Saber-Scorpion is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-22-2007, 09:47 AM   #2
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: Watch_Dogs
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Try KSE 3.3.2a from http://www.starwarsknights.com/tools.php

There's a known bug that causes this if you have a non-English OS or if you have a username with a diacritical marked character in it.

If you have any further problems, take a look at this thread: Troubleshooting KSE Errors
tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-22-2007, 10:17 AM   #3
Saber-Scorpion
Rookie
 
Saber-Scorpion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Smedsby,Finland
Posts: 236
i tried every Kse but it's only those who are lower than version 3 thats working i mean that it's only the version 2.0.7 that is working
Saber-Scorpion is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-22-2007, 01:24 PM   #4
Shem
Master of the Force
 
Shem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 2,899
Current Game: Variations of games
10 year veteran! Veteran Modder Notable contributor Hot Topic Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saber-Scorpion
i can't get the kotor savegame editor version 3.3.3 to start it just loads for some seconds and then it dosen't start
Have you by any chance uninstalled and reinstalled your game? If you have, you may want to try renaming your override folder and see if that works. If you have done this with both KOTOR games, do it to both override folders. If that solves your problem, then try renaming your spells.2da file once you pinpoint which game is giving you the problem. Then update your progress.


Interested in hosting a your KOTOR or TSL mod at FileFront? Send your mod HERE and we'll validate it as soon as we can! FileFront is a good way to get publicity for your mod as we get 1000's of visitors everyday. Is my LucasForum PM box full again? If you really need to reach me, PM me at YouTube under the username: Shem L -- Watch my KOTOR videos! Download my mods from FileFront!

Shem is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-22-2007, 01:28 PM   #5
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: Watch_Dogs
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Version 2.0.7 did not TSL savegames, so I suspect your problem is with KotOR2. Shem's advice is good, and you can get more information by creating a kse.log file as detailed in the thread link I provided.
tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-22-2007, 01:46 PM   #6
Shem
Master of the Force
 
Shem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 2,899
Current Game: Variations of games
10 year veteran! Veteran Modder Notable contributor Hot Topic Starter 
I've had to help out with your tool at KotorFiles a lot there, tk102; so I'm used to giving this type of advice out. Usually the problem is always involving the dialog.tlk file. When people uninstall their game and back up their mods, they forget to back up their dialog.tlk file.


Interested in hosting a your KOTOR or TSL mod at FileFront? Send your mod HERE and we'll validate it as soon as we can! FileFront is a good way to get publicity for your mod as we get 1000's of visitors everyday. Is my LucasForum PM box full again? If you really need to reach me, PM me at YouTube under the username: Shem L -- Watch my KOTOR videos! Download my mods from FileFront!

Shem is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-22-2007, 02:04 PM   #7
Saber-Scorpion
Rookie
 
Saber-Scorpion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Smedsby,Finland
Posts: 236
well how do i do that then
Saber-Scorpion is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-22-2007, 02:13 PM   #8
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: Watch_Dogs
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Your question is vague and to be honest disappointing. Shem offered you clear advice in post #4 of this thread and I've given instructions on how to create a kse.log file in probably 20 threads. Please demonstrate that you have read the instructions and that you have attempted to resolve the issue.
tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-22-2007, 02:26 PM   #9
Saber-Scorpion
Rookie
 
Saber-Scorpion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Smedsby,Finland
Posts: 236
sorry i'm a little bit tired i guess because of that i didn't read the instructions

i reinstalled in last week so i tried again but then it didin't work so i just started to play oh it's kotor 1 and tsl

ps what should i rename it to the same thing or something else

Last edited by tk102; 05-22-2007 at 02:39 PM. Reason: combined double-post
Saber-Scorpion is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-22-2007, 02:37 PM   #10
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: Watch_Dogs
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Try renaming your Override folder to something like "Override_old" or something.

By renaming the entire folder, you are effectively removing all mods from the game. This can still cause issues if you try to use an old savegame that was played when mods were installed. And it is possible that this could cause KSE issues.

If it works however, great.
****
If it doesn't, I would recommend creating the kse.log file in the same folder as KSE.
1. Open Notepad.
2. Choose File: Save As... "kse.log" (be sure to use the quotation marks!)
3. Exit notepad

Launch KSE and let it crash. Then open up the kse.log file in Notepad. The last line of the file will give a big clue as to what the root cause of the problem is.
tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-22-2007, 04:03 PM   #11
Saber-Scorpion
Rookie
 
Saber-Scorpion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Smedsby,Finland
Posts: 236
thanks both of you
Saber-Scorpion is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-23-2007, 04:11 PM   #12
Saber-Scorpion
Rookie
 
Saber-Scorpion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Smedsby,Finland
Posts: 236
okay not to disturb you tk102 but what program do i make files with
Saber-Scorpion is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-23-2007, 04:15 PM   #13
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: Watch_Dogs
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Are you talking about making a kse.log file?

Start -> Programs -> Accessories -> Notepad -> Save As... "kse.log" (with quotes)
tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-23-2007, 04:18 PM   #14
Saber-Scorpion
Rookie
 
Saber-Scorpion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Smedsby,Finland
Posts: 236
how do i make the quotes cause im new to this
Saber-Scorpion is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-23-2007, 04:28 PM   #15
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: Watch_Dogs
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
*blinks*

Do you have a Finnish keyboard like this?

The quotes are typed by pressing Shift and the number 2 simultaneously.
tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-23-2007, 04:34 PM   #16
Saber-Scorpion
Rookie
 
Saber-Scorpion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Smedsby,Finland
Posts: 236
yeah i have i try it out

Edit:
but shall i just keep doing that shall i write "kse.log"
i tried but i don't know if i did right i mean it loads for maybe 5 seconds then it's stops and then nothing happens

Last edited by Jae Onasi; 05-23-2007 at 06:03 PM. Reason: combined double post
Saber-Scorpion is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-23-2007, 04:45 PM   #17
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: Watch_Dogs
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Very good. Now double-click on the kse.log file and when it asks what application you want to open it with, choose Notepad. Please post the contents when you're done.
tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-23-2007, 04:51 PM   #18
Saber-Scorpion
Rookie
 
Saber-Scorpion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Smedsby,Finland
Posts: 236
i tried to get the file but is it supposed to be like a readme file
Saber-Scorpion is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-23-2007, 05:29 PM   #19
Shem
Master of the Force
 
Shem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 2,899
Current Game: Variations of games
10 year veteran! Veteran Modder Notable contributor Hot Topic Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by tk102
That's awesome TK!

@Saber-Scorpion, you could just copy "kse.log" (highlight it and hit CTRL+C) and paste it (CTRL+V) when renaming your notepad file.


Interested in hosting a your KOTOR or TSL mod at FileFront? Send your mod HERE and we'll validate it as soon as we can! FileFront is a good way to get publicity for your mod as we get 1000's of visitors everyday. Is my LucasForum PM box full again? If you really need to reach me, PM me at YouTube under the username: Shem L -- Watch my KOTOR videos! Download my mods from FileFront!

Shem is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 05-24-2007, 12:50 AM   #20
Saber-Scorpion
Rookie
 
Saber-Scorpion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Smedsby,Finland
Posts: 236
okay but is it supposed to be the same sort of file as a readme
Saber-Scorpion is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-19-2007, 07:35 AM   #21
Saber-Scorpion
Rookie
 
Saber-Scorpion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Smedsby,Finland
Posts: 236
i done it many times now but it dosen't come text to the kse log is it becasue it's a text document
Saber-Scorpion is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-19-2007, 09:33 AM   #22
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: Watch_Dogs
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
To unhide the extensions of files, in Windows Explorer:
Tools: Folder Options: View: Hide Extensions for Known File Types (uncheck)

After you do this, you can see for sure if it is named kse.log or kse.log.txt
tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > T3-M4's Astromech Droid Center > Kse V 3.3.3 problem

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:19 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.