lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Followers in K1
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 06-10-2007, 12:40 PM   #1
Mindtwistah
Junior Member
 
Mindtwistah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Derka Derka
Posts: 470
Followers in K1

How can you make "followers" or "puppets" in K1?

You probably think: "K1 does not support puppets."

Well what about the droid you buy in Janice droid hall in Taris that explodes after a few sec.


Mindtwistah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-10-2007, 12:46 PM   #2
Darth InSidious
A handful of dust.
 
Darth InSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Eleven-Day Empire
Posts: 5,758
Current Game: KotOR II
That droid just uses a 'follow the leader' script, which, AFAIK, will not work once you transit out of that module...



Works-In-Progress
~
Mods Released
~
Quid existis in desertum videre?
Darth InSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-10-2007, 01:49 PM   #3
Master Zionosis
Relax On Air
 
Master Zionosis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: High In The Sky
Posts: 1,280
Current Game: TR 8: Underworld
Contest winner - Modding 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth InSidious
That droid just uses a 'follow the leader' script, which, AFAIK, will not work once you transit out of that module...
I've been thinking about that, what if someone was to re-fire that script once transited into a new module, that way it gives the illusion of a "puppet", or would that not work.

Master Zionosis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-10-2007, 03:02 PM   #4
Gargoyle King
Veteran
 
Gargoyle King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: In My Own Little World!
Posts: 895
Quote:
Originally Posted by master zionosis
I've been thinking about that, what if someone was to re-fire that script once transited into a new module, that way it gives the illusion of a "puppet", or would that not work.
Yes it does seem feasable, does anyhone know if this is possible or will the script only fire for 1 module at a time, if it is possible it could lead to puppet mods for K1!
Gargoyle King is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-10-2007, 03:08 PM   #5
Mindtwistah
Junior Member
 
Mindtwistah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Derka Derka
Posts: 470
I can imagine. The second they release the script for puppets Taris Upper City Emporium will be filled with "Get your own puppet [K1]" and "Give Bastila the puppet she always wanted [K1]".

That would be fun to see.


Mindtwistah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-10-2007, 03:19 PM   #6
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by master zionosis
I've been thinking about that, what if someone was to re-fire that script once transited into a new module, that way it gives the illusion of a "puppet", or would that not work.
You can fake it reasonably by spawning a new instance of the "puppet" creature in each area the player enters (if one does not already exist there, in which case you just jump the existing one the the player and make it follow).

Only party members (and puppets in TSL) can transition between modules, all other creatures are stuck in the area they were spawned. So it will only be able to follow you while you remain within the area it was created, which is why you'd need to create a new puppet in each new area the player enters.

Other than that you'd need a heartbeat script for the party member to check for the puppet and spawn/jump it as necessary, and a heartbeat script for the puppet creature itself to make it follow its assigned owner around.

If I remember correctly this has been brought up earlier, so if you search around you should be able to find the necessary scripts posted on this forum already if you don't want to create them yourself.
stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-10-2007, 03:33 PM   #7
Mindtwistah
Junior Member
 
Mindtwistah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Derka Derka
Posts: 470
Isn't it possible to just add a script to all the modules in K1 in the "OnEnter" entry and the script spawns the "puppet"? Sure, it would be a lot of work, to add the script in every single module, but it's worth it.


Mindtwistah is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-10-2007, 05:28 PM   #8
Darth InSidious
A handful of dust.
 
Darth InSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Eleven-Day Empire
Posts: 5,758
Current Game: KotOR II
^The compatibility issues would be horrendous.



Works-In-Progress
~
Mods Released
~
Quid existis in desertum videre?
Darth InSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-10-2007, 05:35 PM   #9
Gargoyle King
Veteran
 
Gargoyle King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: In My Own Little World!
Posts: 895
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth InSidious
^The compatibility issues would be horrendous.
It probably would, be good if you don't play much mods though (although i personally play K1 & TSL heavily modified).
Gargoyle King is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-10-2007, 05:58 PM   #10
Darth InSidious
A handful of dust.
 
Darth InSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Eleven-Day Empire
Posts: 5,758
Current Game: KotOR II
Yes, but then who is more likely to download the mod?




Works-In-Progress
~
Mods Released
~
Quid existis in desertum videre?
Darth InSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-10-2007, 06:45 PM   #11
Gargoyle King
Veteran
 
Gargoyle King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: In My Own Little World!
Posts: 895
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth InSidious
Yes, but then who is more likely to download the mod?
First-timer's maybe? I see your point, could TSL Patcher be used in anyway to make it compatible with other mods though?
Gargoyle King is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 06-11-2007, 09:59 AM   #12
Darth InSidious
A handful of dust.
 
Darth InSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Eleven-Day Empire
Posts: 5,758
Current Game: KotOR II
Up to a point, but it's not a miracle device



Works-In-Progress
~
Mods Released
~
Quid existis in desertum videre?
Darth InSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Followers in K1

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:57 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.