lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: [TSL] Globals
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 07-22-2007, 05:22 AM   #1
glovemaster
Now-a-days GroovyCarrot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 697
Current Game: No time for games, sadly
Helpful! 
[TSL] Globals

I was wondering if it is possible to add custom globals to the game?
I tryed editing Globalcat.2da and i kind of screwed things up, and the HUD disappeared..

Thanks in advance
~GM


If you're looking for any of the junk I did a few years ago; you can probably still find it all on filefront
glovemaster is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-22-2007, 06:50 AM   #2
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by glovemaster
I was wondering if it is possible to add custom globals to the game?
I tryed editing Globalcat.2da and i kind of screwed things up, and the HUD disappeared..
Yes it is possible, and as you said it's done by adding new lines to globalcat.2da. (If you try to use a global without it first being declared in this file nothing you assign to it will be stored and it will always return the default value for the data type.)

Be careful to set the data type to a valid value (see the existing lines), and that the name of each global is unique, or things will get messed up.
stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-22-2007, 07:23 AM   #3
glovemaster
Now-a-days GroovyCarrot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 697
Current Game: No time for games, sadly
Helpful! 
Okay then thanks


If you're looking for any of the junk I did a few years ago; you can probably still find it all on filefront
glovemaster is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-24-2007, 05:25 AM   #4
glovemaster
Now-a-days GroovyCarrot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 697
Current Game: No time for games, sadly
Helpful! 
I didn't want to start a new thread so i just tagged it onto this one:
I've come to the stage where i need to add characters and creatures to my modules and its never really been a problem before because i've never needed to be specific. But when the WhereAmI Armband generates to Orientation, what do i do with it? Because i've tryed putting it in the "XOrientation" and then the "YOrientation" and neither of them work.

Thanks in advance
~GM


If you're looking for any of the junk I did a few years ago; you can probably still find it all on filefront

Last edited by glovemaster; 07-24-2007 at 07:14 AM.
glovemaster is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-24-2007, 07:02 AM   #5
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by glovemaster
I've come to the stange where i need to add characters and creatures to my modules and its never really been a problem before because i've never needed to be specific. But when the WhereAmI Armband generates to Orientation, what do i do with it? Because i've tryed putting it in the "XOrientation" and then the "YOrientation" and neither of them work.
I haven't used whereami in a while so I don't remember exactly what it outputs, but the XOrientation/YOrientation fields are, IIRC, a direction vector that produces the angle the object is facing.

Setting proper facing angles tends to be a pain since Bioware apparently couldn't settle for a single method of specifying it and use a bunch of different ways in different places.
stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-24-2007, 07:23 AM   #6
e-varmint
Vapid Pomposticator
 
e-varmint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Abandoned Subway Car
Posts: 760
Current Game: Dragon Age
Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by stoffe
.......the XOrientation/YOrientation fields are, IIRC, a direction vector that produces the angle the object is facing.

Setting proper facing angles tends to be a pain since Bioware apparently couldn't settle for a single method of specifying it and use a bunch of different ways in different places.
Has anyone put a tutorial together that explains how to use the X and Y orientations? I can understand how the [censored] radians work, but not these.........
e-varmint is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-24-2007, 07:26 AM   #7
glovemaster
Now-a-days GroovyCarrot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 697
Current Game: No time for games, sadly
Helpful! 
I haven't seen a tutorial...
Thanks then

Edit: I was just giving this some thought and i came up with this:

In the d3_location.nss script it has the line
Code:
string Orientation=FloatToString(GetOrientation, 5, 5);
And i thought that if we need a vector shouldn't this actually be:
Code:
vector Orientation=AngleToVector(GetOrientation);
string XOrientation = FloatToString(Orientation.x, 5, 5);
string YOrientation = FloatToString(Orientation.y, 5, 5);
And then in the Printing Part:
Code:
string PlayerPosition ="> " +  X_Coordinate + "> " + Y_Coordinate + "> " + Z_Coordinate + "> " +"Orientation: " + Orientation + "> " +"Bearing: " + Bring;
string NplayerPosition ="> " +  X_Coordinate + "> " + Y_Coordinate + "> " + Z_Coordinate + "> " +"Orientation: " + Orientation + "> " +"Bearing: " + Nbring;
Should be:
Code:
string PlayerPosition ="> " +  X_Coordinate + "> " + Y_Coordinate + "> " + Z_Coordinate + "> " +"XOrientation: " + XOrientation + "> " +"YOrientation: " + YOrientation + "> " +"Bearing: " + Bring;
string NplayerPosition ="> " +  X_Coordinate + "> " + Y_Coordinate + "> " + Z_Coordinate + "> " +"XOrientation: " + XOrientation + "> " +"YOrientation: " + YOrientation + "> " +"Bearing: " + Nbring;
Can some one check this through for me? Thanks.

EDIT: Compiled and tested the script and it works, i just need to se if the values it give me work properly.

Edit: Woo! It worked! I'll post to Darth333 about it.

Anywho, another problem i would like help with!
It seems that all of my modules like to autosave as you enter them. I've looked through the ARE, GIT and IFO files but i can't find anything other than Mod_IsSaveGame and they are all set to 0 anyway. What do i have to change?

Thanks again
~GM


If you're looking for any of the junk I did a few years ago; you can probably still find it all on filefront

Last edited by RedHawke; 07-26-2007 at 12:38 AM. Reason: Combining triple post...
glovemaster is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-24-2007, 11:30 AM   #8
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by glovemaster
It seems that all of my modules like to autosave as you enter them. I've looked through the ARE, GIT and IFO files but i can't find anything other than Mod_IsSaveGame and they are all set to 0 anyway. What do i have to change?
It's set in the modulesave.2da file, in the autosaveonenter column:
yes = autosave if it hasn't been done in a while
no = never autosave
force = autosave regardless of when it was last done

stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-24-2007, 11:33 AM   #9
glovemaster
Now-a-days GroovyCarrot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 697
Current Game: No time for games, sadly
Helpful! 
Ah thank you, more 2da editing..


If you're looking for any of the junk I did a few years ago; you can probably still find it all on filefront
glovemaster is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-24-2007, 11:48 AM   #10
glovemaster
Now-a-days GroovyCarrot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 697
Current Game: No time for games, sadly
Helpful! 
Last question (I say that but never mean it )
I remember reading a thread somewhere about someone constructing the minimaps for the droid modules, if they actually finished it, where can i download them and who was the author?

Thanks again!


If you're looking for any of the junk I did a few years ago; you can probably still find it all on filefront
glovemaster is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-24-2007, 01:38 PM   #11
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by glovemaster
Woo! It worked! I'll post to Darth333 about it.
Thanks glovemaster for making the armband more user-friendly. I've uploaded the new version (2.0.6) with your changes to SWK.

I'll let Darth333 handle the French version.
tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-24-2007, 01:47 PM   #12
glovemaster
Now-a-days GroovyCarrot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 697
Current Game: No time for games, sadly
Helpful! 
No Probs


If you're looking for any of the junk I did a few years ago; you can probably still find it all on filefront
glovemaster is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-24-2007, 02:17 PM   #13
DarthStoney
To bed. I'm old and tired
 
DarthStoney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 506
Contest winner - Modding Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by glovemaster
Last question (I say that but never mean it )
I remember reading a thread somewhere about someone constructing the minimaps for the droid modules, if they actually finished it, where can i download them and who was the author?

Thanks again!
I have created some mini maps for the droid planet except for 806&807
if you pm me and give me an email address I can e-mail them to you if
you want them.They will also only work with the propersettings in the
.are files which I can send you also.
DarthStoney is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-24-2007, 03:08 PM   #14
Master Zionosis
Relax On Air
 
Master Zionosis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: High In The Sky
Posts: 1,280
Current Game: TR 8: Underworld
Contest winner - Modding 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSTONEY642000
I have created some mini maps for the droid planet except for 806&807
if you pm me and give me an email address I can e-mail them to you if
you want them.They will also only work with the propersettings in the
.are files which I can send you also.
Maybe you could just zip them up and host it so it is accessible to anyone that wants them.

Also, if you don't have anywhere to host the zip I can host it for you, I have PLENTY of space.

I'll PM you my email if you want me to host them for you.

Master Zionosis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-24-2007, 03:26 PM   #15
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Master Zionosis
Also, if you don't have anywhere to host the zip I can host it for you, I have PLENTY of space.
As does kotortool.starwarsknights.com...
tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 07-25-2007, 05:29 AM   #16
glovemaster
Now-a-days GroovyCarrot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 697
Current Game: No time for games, sadly
Helpful! 
Thanks DSTONEY I've just recived the files. And thanks for premission to edit and distibute, it will be part of the Ark Angel mod so they won't be stand-alone and of course credit will go to you for that.

Thanks again!


If you're looking for any of the junk I did a few years ago; you can probably still find it all on filefront
glovemaster is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > [TSL] Globals

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:22 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.