lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: A problem with handmaiden(s)
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-06-2007, 09:23 PM   #1
jonathan7
Exiled Jedi...
 
jonathan7's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ivory Tower
Posts: 3,676
Contest winner - Modding LFN Staff Member Veteran Modder Helpful! 
A problem with handmaiden(s)

Hey all, well I've done my skin of the handmaiden (haven't figured out if i can give her long hair yet either... does anyone know?). But having stuck her .tga into my override folder I found that upon entering the polar academy all the handmaidens now have blond hair... Is it possible to make it so the other handmaidens keep their original appearance?



"Love is the only reality and it is not a mere sentiment. It is the ultimate truth that lies at the heart of creation." - Rabindranath Tagore

"Many a doctrine is like a window pane. We see truth through it but it divides us from truth." - Kahlil Gibran
jonathan7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-06-2007, 09:32 PM   #2
stoffe
Mostly dormant
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,834
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonathan7
Hey all, well I've done my skin of the handmaiden (haven't figured out if i can give her long hair yet either... does anyone know?). But having stuck her .tga into my override folder I found that upon entering the polar academy all the handmaidens now have blond hair... Is it possible to make it so the other handmaidens keep their original appearance?
Since the Handmaiden and her Sisters use the exact same appearance type they look completely identical in the standard game. To change that you'll need to create a separate appearance type for the sisters and change their appearances to use that.

I did something like that a while ago with this mod, feel free to have a look at it as an example of one possible solution if you wish. It's override-based, not changing any of the modules, and as such uses scripts to modify the appearance of the Handmaiden Sisters who do not have unique UTC template names (most of them do, some do not).

The alternative approach would be to update the UTC templates directly in the modules to use the new appearance type (which I probably would have done if I had made the mod today, but since the mod installer didn't handle modifying RIM files back then it was not as viable an option).


mt
stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-06-2007, 10:15 PM   #3
jonathan7
Exiled Jedi...
 
jonathan7's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ivory Tower
Posts: 3,676
Contest winner - Modding LFN Staff Member Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoffe
Since the Handmaiden and her Sisters use the exact same appearance type they look completely identical in the standard game. To change that you'll need to create a separate appearance type for the sisters and change their appearances to use that.

I did something like that a while ago with this mod, feel free to have a look at it as an example of one possible solution if you wish. It's override-based, not changing any of the modules, and as such uses scripts to modify the appearance of the Handmaiden Sisters who do not have unique UTC template names (most of them do, some do not).

The alternative approach would be to update the UTC templates directly in the modules to use the new appearance type (which I probably would have done if I had made the mod today, but since the mod installer didn't handle modifying RIM files back then it was not as viable an option).
Stoffe you legend :-) out of your .tga files which is the NPC Handmaiden? As couldn't I just rename the .tga's I've skinned and raname what you have called them for your mod? Or would that not work? (This mod is only for my private use, so don't worry about me trying to steal your work).



"Love is the only reality and it is not a mere sentiment. It is the ultimate truth that lies at the heart of creation." - Rabindranath Tagore

"Many a doctrine is like a window pane. We see truth through it but it divides us from truth." - Kahlil Gibran
jonathan7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-06-2007, 11:34 PM   #4
stoffe
Mostly dormant
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,834
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonathan7
Stoffe you legend :-) out of your .tga files which is the NPC Handmaiden? As couldn't I just rename the .tga's I've skinned and raname what you have called them for your mod? Or would that not work? (This mod is only for my private use, so don't worry about me trying to steal your work).
The Handmaiden's textures should be named the same as normal, from what I remember. I think I just created a copy of the original Handmaiden model and textures and renamed them to something else to use with the Handmaiden Sister appearance type instead. You could doublecheck the appearance.2da file to be sure though.


mt
stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > A problem with handmaiden(s)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:30 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.