lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Another graphic problem...
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-05-2007, 07:08 PM   #1
Kazim
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Another graphic problem...

I tried to search discussed problems like mine on this forum in posts, but no reslut...
I have these bugs... All the time active objects and characters look like this:





I think I tried everything... no result May be I tried wrong... MAy to buy old computer for GF is better? ^__^
Kazim is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-05-2007, 08:20 PM   #2
Du Man
Junior Member
 
Du Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 374
Manny's in the matrix
Du Man is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-07-2007, 06:26 AM   #3
Stickywulf
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 26
In the game options, set 3d acceleration to software.
Stickywulf is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2007, 10:32 AM   #4
grenadier
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
I had the same problem which was also fixed by disabling directdraw. Is there any way to enable antialiasing with directdraw disabled though?? The game looks terrible otherwise on a large screen (1680x1050).
grenadier is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2007, 03:54 PM   #5
Thrik
Symbolically Compelling
 
Thrik's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 4,202
Hot Topic Starter Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
I'm not sure about the thread author's problem, but I do know that very similar graphical problems can be caused by forcing anti-aliasing when using an NVIDIA graphics card. Possibly ATI cards too, but I've never owned one to test.

If you see my post below you can read about how to enable anti-aliasing safely on an NVIDIA card. Basically, you'll be using a very old anti-aliasing algorithm that's still hidden in the drivers; while it's no good for newer games, it works well for Grim Fandango seeing as it's roughly from Grim Fandango's era.

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=160387


Thrik is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2007, 07:53 PM   #6
elemily
Rookie
 
elemily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 12
wow he looks like a ghostie! I wonder if I will get any strange errors when I try to play on my laptop
elemily is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-16-2007, 11:04 PM   #7
grenadier
Lurker
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
I tried that and rivatuner doesn't give me a 2x2 anti-aliasing option. Right now even with directdraw disabled I'm getting random sound crashes, lockups, and all other kinds of madness. It might be worth building a really outdated rig from spare parts just to play old games like this.

Any idea what kind of setup would be ideal for playing this game?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thrik
If you see my post below you can read about how to enable anti-aliasing safely on an NVIDIA card...
grenadier is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-17-2007, 04:54 AM   #8
Thrik
Symbolically Compelling
 
Thrik's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 4,202
Hot Topic Starter Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
It depends. If you're looking to get a retro rig, I'd work out what the latest year of games I'd really want to play is and then get hardware from around that era.

In my case it'd probably be Escape From Monkey Island, which uses an updated version of Grim Fandango's engine and was released in 2001. So I'd get hardware that was prevalent in 2001, and indeed back in 2001 I could play Grim Fandango and all the older LucasArts classics very nicely with anti-aliasing and all.

I think at the time I was using a Pentium of some kind clocked at 1.2GHz, a GeForce 2 MX, and about 512mb of RAM. I might be thinking of my slightly newer machine with the processor/RAM, but I'm fairly certain on the graphics card.

While I'm surprised the 2x2 option isn't there and will look into it for my other post (it may have been renamed or further hidden), if you're getting other problems then it is indeed probably worth building an older machine. I'm guessing it'd be incredibly inexpensive to do so.

Although with that said, processors and RAM haven't fundamentally changed that much over the years unless you're using a 64-bit operating system, so it might be your graphics card and operating system that're contributing mostly to the problems.

What I'd do as a first step is buy a GeForce 2, make sure you're using very old drivers (newer ones will work but as Du Man's article points out, support for old games diminishes with time; for best results you want drivers that were used in 2001) and dual boot into Windows 98. You can then use the device manager to disable/enable the other graphics card in each operating system. This is, of course, assuming you have a spare AGP or PCI slot (the GeForce 2 came as both). If this fails then you can then go ahead and buy the remaining hardware needed.


Thrik is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Grim Fandango Discussion > General Forums > Glottis' Garage > Another graphic problem...

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:22 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.