lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: How to make textures
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-10-2007, 04:41 PM   #1
Master Niewiedzial
Rookie
 
Master Niewiedzial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Newry (Northern Ireland)
Posts: 144
Current Game: JK II JO
How to make textures

I am new to modding and I want to know how to make textures please someone tell me!
EDIT:
I forget to say I use GIMP
Edit2:
And just a small question how to make animations so that the player can talk? I mean he can move his mouth.


Turn to the light, the dark side may have cookies but we have PIE!!!

Last edited by Master Niewiedzial; 10-11-2007 at 03:55 AM.
Master Niewiedzial is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-11-2007, 02:55 PM   #2
Thor the Bassis
Rookie
 
Thor the Bassis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: England
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxie1994
I am new to modding and I want to know how to make textures please someone tell me!
EDIT:
I forget to say I use GIMP
What texture for what? You need to either edit/replace one texture or build a model or a map part to put a new texture on.

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxie1994
Edit2:
And just a small question how to make animations so that the player can talk? I mean he can move his mouth.
Ok big ask that. It's possible but you need one hell of a lot of time to make NEW animations. See this. On the other hand you can script it into a cutscene by using the existing animations.

Could u be more specific on what u want as an end product as it isn't as easy as doing x and it applies to all cases?


Sometimes in life you're the pigeon. Other times you're the statue.
Thor the Bassis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-11-2007, 03:02 PM   #3
Master Niewiedzial
Rookie
 
Master Niewiedzial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Newry (Northern Ireland)
Posts: 144
Current Game: JK II JO
Well I'm doing a Fett customization and I want to make an extra Jango Fett with a cape the thing is that the texture for the cape isn't right colour. So I need to reskin the Boba Fett's cape to blue so it fits Jango.


Turn to the light, the dark side may have cookies but we have PIE!!!
Master Niewiedzial is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-11-2007, 04:32 PM   #4
Thor the Bassis
Rookie
 
Thor the Bassis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: England
Posts: 157
Ok i get what u wanna do.
First you need to copy the boba fett .skin file and name it to another name. The file is in the same directory as the model and texture files.

Open the new .skin file and change the cape texture to the texture you want (this is your new texture file).

Create a texture with this name save as tga (I would). You could proberably do with ModView as this allows you to view the glm models without starting the game.


Sometimes in life you're the pigeon. Other times you're the statue.
Thor the Bassis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-11-2007, 04:52 PM   #5
Master Niewiedzial
Rookie
 
Master Niewiedzial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Newry (Northern Ireland)
Posts: 144
Current Game: JK II JO
Ok I got it and how to reskin textures?


Turn to the light, the dark side may have cookies but we have PIE!!!
Master Niewiedzial is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-12-2007, 04:56 PM   #6
Thor the Bassis
Rookie
 
Thor the Bassis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: England
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxie1994
Ok I got it and how to reskin textures?
Err... that should be it. Unless u haven't zipped the mod up and changed the file extension from .zip to .pk3.

*Oooops did i forget to mention that*


Sometimes in life you're the pigeon. Other times you're the statue.
Thor the Bassis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-12-2007, 04:57 PM   #7
Master Niewiedzial
Rookie
 
Master Niewiedzial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Newry (Northern Ireland)
Posts: 144
Current Game: JK II JO
Hey you didn't said how to reskin the textures. Can anyone tell me how?


Turn to the light, the dark side may have cookies but we have PIE!!!
Master Niewiedzial is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-12-2007, 05:05 PM   #8
Thor the Bassis
Rookie
 
Thor the Bassis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: England
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thor the Bassis
Ok i get what u wanna do.
First you need to copy the boba fett .skin file and name it to another name. The file is in the same directory as the model and texture files.

Open the new .skin file and change the cape texture to the texture you want (this is your new texture file).
This skins the new texture to your model's cape.


Sometimes in life you're the pigeon. Other times you're the statue.
Thor the Bassis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Skinning > How to make textures

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:32 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.