lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Adding unique items to random loot
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-30-2007, 01:53 PM   #1
dcinroc
Rookie
 
dcinroc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 73
Adding unique items to random loot

I have been looking for a tutorial on how to add unique items to the random loot found in the game.

Can somebody point me in the right direction?
dcinroc is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-30-2007, 11:01 PM   #2
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
For KotOR or Sith Lords?

For Sith Lords, simply follow the naming convention used by the game itself for your new item. The script that generates the random loot doesn't care if wooden piston fiber #27 was made by you or someone at Obsidian
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2007, 01:06 AM   #3
dcinroc
Rookie
 
dcinroc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 73
TSL

Which file(s) do I edit? itemcreate.2da and itemcreatemira, or placeables?
dcinroc is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2007, 02:29 PM   #4
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
The utis for the unique items. You did say random loot correct?

All you have to do is use the existing naming covention and the game will automatically add it to random loot.
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2007, 02:41 PM   #5
dcinroc
Rookie
 
dcinroc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Achilles
The utis for the unique items. You did say random loot correct?

All you have to do is use the existing naming covention and the game will automatically add it to random loot.
I am not sure I understand.

So, any mod item that is put into my Override folder should have a chance of showing up randomly in the game?

For example, I have downloaded all of Prime's armour and robe mods, but I've never seen any of those things show up as loot. I can only get them by console.
dcinroc is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2007, 02:51 PM   #6
Darth Xander
Riding Pterodactyls
 
Darth Xander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 667
Current Game: Star Wars KOTOR II
What Achilles means is that to add a unique item to "the loot" you will have to use a current item's templateresref and tag. Replacing the item with the tag and resref!

e.g replacing dark jedi robe

tag:a_robe_09
templateresref: a_robe_09

Darth Xander is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2007, 03:05 PM   #7
dcinroc
Rookie
 
dcinroc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Xander
What Achilles means is that to add a unique item to "the loot" you will have to use a current item's templateresref and tag. Replacing the item with the tag and resref!

e.g replacing dark jedi robe

tag:a_robe_09
templateresref: a_robe_09
So, in other words, you can't "add" at all, just replace?

Cuz wouldn't doing what you say overwrite the original item?
dcinroc is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-31-2007, 05:48 PM   #8
Achilles
Dapper Chimp
 
Achilles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8,204
Helpful! Veteran Modder Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcinroc
I am not sure I understand.

So, any mod item that is put into my Override folder should have a chance of showing up randomly in the game?
Yes, that precisely correct, assuming that it adheres to the standard naming convention.

Read how Achilles learned about this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcinroc
For example, I have downloaded all of Prime's armour and robe mods, but I've never seen any of those things show up as loot. I can only get them by console.
The code that handles robes is capped at...I think it's like 21 or something like that, so you'd only see them if he replaced existing robes. Everything else will work as described above.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Xander
What Achilles means is that to add a unique item to "the loot" you will have to use a current item's templateresref and tag. Replacing the item with the tag and resref!

e.g replacing dark jedi robe

tag:a_robe_09
templateresref: a_robe_09
Actually, not quite however you are absolutely correct so far as robes are concerned. Unfortunately, he didn't specify robes so I did not assume that he was asking about them.
Achilles is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-01-2007, 12:30 AM   #9
dcinroc
Rookie
 
dcinroc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 73
Quote:
...assuming that it adheres to the standard naming convention.
Sorry to be a pain. I just want to make sure.

If it is armor, then it must have a_light/medium/heavy_xx, for weapons w_melee/blaste/brifle_xx, color crystal u_l_colo_xx, etc...

Quote:
Unfortunately, he didn't specify robes so I did not assume that he was asking about them.
I didn't specify, because I didn't know there was a difference. But that also explains why all those special robes (Crado, Sylvar, etc...) never show up either.

Thanks, guys.
dcinroc is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-01-2007, 08:15 AM   #10
stoffe
Network Caretaker
 
stoffe's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,833
Helpful! 10 year veteran! Notable contributor 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcinroc
I have been looking for a tutorial on how to add unique items to the random loot found in the game.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Achilles
For Sith Lords, simply follow the naming convention used by the game itself for your new item. The script that generates the random loot doesn't care if wooden piston fiber #27 was made by you or someone at Obsidian
If you do use the "fill out the blanks" method to add new items random loot, keep in mind that the number at the end of the UTI filename is linked to the player's character level to determine when the item becomes available (you can only get some of the better loot at high levels), so if you add items at the end of the number sequence they won't become available until later in the game.

This post contains some info about how the Random Loot scripts pick what items to spawn.

If you want to add new items of a type that doesn't have any vacant "slots" in the number series, or want to add low-level loot, you'll have to modify the random loot system to include your items. The problem with doing this is that this isn't just a single script, but a huge bunch of scripts that use a set of include files, all of which would need to be recompiled.

To make it a little easier to add new items without having to recompile all those scripts I modified the random loot scripts to trigger an external script where custom items could be spawned. You can get it here if you want it. The "plugin" script (which is the only one that should be modified) is 000_custom_loot.nss, it has code comments at the top that explains how it works. The normal random loot scripts (in the compiled filder) runs this script.


Last edited by stoffe; 11-01-2007 at 08:25 AM.
stoffe is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-01-2007, 11:01 AM   #11
dcinroc
Rookie
 
dcinroc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 73
Thanks, stoffe.

So, I guess the reasons why the mod items aren't showing up are two-fold;

1. some don't use the standard naming convention

2. those that DO use the standard naming convention usually have number suffixes that are too high (such as w_blaste_99)
dcinroc is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Adding unique items to random loot

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:46 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.