lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Crysis SP Demo (Yay!)
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Sorry, this thread is closed. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 10-27-2007, 01:38 AM   #1
TiE23
Get bent!
 
TiE23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 6,572
Current Game: Shogun 2
Forum Veteran 
Crysis SP Demo (Yay!)

Good luck running this sucker...
Quote:
Crysis System Requirements

Minimum system requirements
from Crytek and EA


OS - Windows XP or Windows Vista
Processor - 2.8 GHz or faster (XP) or 3.2 GHz or faster* (Vista)
Memory - 1.0 GB RAM (XP) or 1.5 GB RAM (Vista)
Video Card -256 MB**
Hard Drive - 12GB
Sound Card - DirectX 9.0c compatible

Recommended System Requirements
from Crytek and EA


OS - Windows XP / Vista
Processor - Intel Core 2 DUO @ 2.2GHz or AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+
Memory - 2.0 GB RAM
GPU - NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS/640 or similar
1.8 gigs, but the server is pretty reliable right now, getting 800kbps download.

Direct link:
http://na.llnet.cdn.ea.com/u/demos/Crysis_SP_Demo.exe

Official Site:
http://www.crysisdemo.com/

I'm downloading it, but I have a feeling it's going to be pretty bad for me. I've already played this at a convention and even though the PC was probably over $3000 it ran frankly like **** and was hard to play. But it was pretty enjoyable despite the fact of the average 20fps with everything turn on. It feels a lot like playing HL2 or Morrowind or Oblivion for the first time ever.


Tie's Kindle Reading Project
"Making myself a more learned person and then bragging about it."
Since October 2010 - I'm a slow reader
-----------
27 Books Completed
('10: 4, '11: 9, '12: 7, '13: 6)
Fiction: 12 | Fantasy/Sci-Fi 5; Classics 3; Literature 4
Non-fiction: 15 | Investigative 2; History/Politics 3; Science 3; Biography 7
-----------
237,123 'locations'
11,865 pages (approx)
-----------
Last book: Cosmos by Carl Sagan - Dec 2013
TiE23 is offline   you may:
Old 10-27-2007, 02:04 AM   #2
Jeff
Rating: Awesome
 
Jeff's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 8,427
Current Game: SWTOR
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Officer The Walking Carpets Guild Officer Notable contributor LFN Staff Member 
No way I'll be able to play this with a 2.4GHz P4... Too bad because its a game I'd be interested in but I guess I'll have to upgrade my machine eventually anyways.


Follow me on Twitter
Follow StarWarsMMO.net on Twitter | Like us on Facebook
Jeff is offline   you may:
Old 10-27-2007, 03:42 AM   #3
Monkey Mania
 
Monkey Mania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Right behind you
Posts: 771
Congrats for the 5 people who can play it.


Quote:
the PC was probably over $3000 it ran frankly like **** and was hard to play.
This is why I'm a console gamer.
Monkey Mania is offline   you may:
Old 10-27-2007, 05:59 AM   #4
Pho3nix
#rekt
 
Pho3nix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,365
Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monkey Mania
Congrats for the 5 people who can play it.
You're over-exaggerating. The recommended specs ain't that bad actually.

Pho3nix is online now   you may:
Old 10-27-2007, 08:32 AM   #5
swphreak
My cabbages!!!
 
swphreak's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,510
10 year veteran! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Alright, let's see what this sucker can do.
swphreak is offline   you may:
Old 10-27-2007, 09:30 AM   #6
Sabretooth
鬼龍院皐月
 
Sabretooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiE
Minimum system requirements
from Crytek and EA

OS - Windows XP or Windows Vista
Processor - 2.8 GHz or faster (XP) or 3.2 GHz or faster* (Vista)
Memory - 1.0 GB RAM (XP) or 1.5 GB RAM (Vista)
Video Card -256 MB**
Hard Drive - 12GB
Sound Card - DirectX 9.0c compatible
My system can't even meet half those system requirements.


Sabretooth is offline   you may:
Old 10-27-2007, 11:48 AM   #7
Monkey Mania
 
Monkey Mania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Right behind you
Posts: 771
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pho3nix
You're over-exaggerating. The recommended specs ain't that bad actually.

That's because you're one of the 5.
Monkey Mania is offline   you may:
Old 10-27-2007, 01:14 PM   #8
Tyrion
nothing is real
 
Tyrion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: no one I think is in my tree, I mean it must be high or low
Posts: 6,917
LF Jester Forum Veteran 
I'm going to assume that my sadly already antiquated AMD 64 3200 processor can't run it on XP without imploding from too much awesome.

Stupid people and their stupid mutli-cores.



Tyrion is offline   you may:
Old 10-27-2007, 01:16 PM   #9
IG-64
Moderator
 
IG-64's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 5,958
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Been definitely looking forward to this game mainly for it's engine. However, the demo runs like ****.

Intel Core 2 Extreme QX6800 oc'd to 3.2GHz
1 Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX
2GB RAM
Vista 64-bit

The auto-detect sets everything on very high but I end up getting about 8-fps. On the crysis EA forums, theres a 6 page-long thread about people with high-end comps that get low frame-rate, with a bunch of people with different combinations of quad-core/dual-core 2GB RAM/4GB RAM and 1 8800/2 8800 SLI and most of them are getting pretty bad framerates on highest settings.

Either this is a demo-only issue and the final product will run better, or Crytek wants us all to use future-computers.

http://forums.ea.com/mboards/thread....hreadID=300093 <-- thread
IG-64 is offline   you may:
Old 10-27-2007, 01:45 PM   #10
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
Just completed the demo twice or thrice. I must say this game has the best visuals ive ever seen, and its not even at max settings. Was running on 1024x768 on medium - high settings. And the game is almost like a slideshow, but im used to playing under such conditions. Gameplay wise, its exactly like far cry imo. Only much better. You've got a lot of variety in completing your objectives. Overall, the gameplay was pretty much what i expected from crysis.




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may:
Old 10-27-2007, 06:17 PM   #11
swphreak
My cabbages!!!
 
swphreak's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,510
10 year veteran! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
It ran fine on High for me. I only noticed a small jitter during a cutscene. It sure looks pretty, but I think I'll pass.
swphreak is offline   you may:
Old 10-27-2007, 11:06 PM   #12
TiE23
Get bent!
 
TiE23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 6,572
Current Game: Shogun 2
Forum Veteran 
Can I has ur computerz now plz?

Also, I'm playing this on my lesser computer, the one with a 7600GT. I have 1280x1024 with most settings low except medium on shaders, shadows, and game effects. It's frozen on me twice but luckily it's a gentle crash to desktop.

I'll try it on my other computer, will probably have a better experience with it on that computer.


Tie's Kindle Reading Project
"Making myself a more learned person and then bragging about it."
Since October 2010 - I'm a slow reader
-----------
27 Books Completed
('10: 4, '11: 9, '12: 7, '13: 6)
Fiction: 12 | Fantasy/Sci-Fi 5; Classics 3; Literature 4
Non-fiction: 15 | Investigative 2; History/Politics 3; Science 3; Biography 7
-----------
237,123 'locations'
11,865 pages (approx)
-----------
Last book: Cosmos by Carl Sagan - Dec 2013
TiE23 is offline   you may:
Old 10-27-2007, 11:34 PM   #13
Crow_Nest
Forum Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 5,307
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pho3nix
You're over-exaggerating. The recommended specs ain't that bad actually.
Yeah but its too bad even going above the recommended specs cant even play it decently...




Xbox 360 Gamertag: cr0wnes7
Crow_Nest is offline   you may:
Old 10-28-2007, 04:19 AM   #14
Darth Groovy
The Dapper Zabrak
 
Darth Groovy's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Joliet, IL, USA
Posts: 11,297
Current Game: Awaiting Greatness from PS4!
10 year veteran! Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member LucasCast staff 
And this, ladies and jelly spoons, is why Groovy gave up on PC games.

This was the ONE PC game I wanted to buy. Why? because Crytek pwns, and I loved the Far Cry games. Unfortunately this sucker is not coming out on consoles. I feared this would happen, and ashamed that I reserved the game thinking it would run.

Here are MY specs from the computer I just bought earlier this summer.

AMD Athlon 64X2 Dual Core processor 3800+ 2.00 GHz

NVIDIA Geforce 6150 LE

Forgetaboutit...

This is why PC games are failing in the consumer market. At the end of the day, we just want to install the damn thing and play it...without the hassles. And NO game is worth the pricey upgrades. Ever.
Darth Groovy is offline   you may:
Old 10-28-2007, 01:07 PM   #15
TiE23
Get bent!
 
TiE23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 6,572
Current Game: Shogun 2
Forum Veteran 
^^^ CPU is mkay. You can play it on lower settings. That video card is atrocious, you'll want a 7800GT or higher... And I'm guessing you don't have 2gb of RAM. But meh, you're right.


Tie's Kindle Reading Project
"Making myself a more learned person and then bragging about it."
Since October 2010 - I'm a slow reader
-----------
27 Books Completed
('10: 4, '11: 9, '12: 7, '13: 6)
Fiction: 12 | Fantasy/Sci-Fi 5; Classics 3; Literature 4
Non-fiction: 15 | Investigative 2; History/Politics 3; Science 3; Biography 7
-----------
237,123 'locations'
11,865 pages (approx)
-----------
Last book: Cosmos by Carl Sagan - Dec 2013
TiE23 is offline   you may:
Old 10-28-2007, 01:44 PM   #16
Monkey Mania
 
Monkey Mania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Right behind you
Posts: 771
$300 console vs. $3000 PC

PC wins for crispness and resolution, but the little graphics improvement is not worth the price difference.
Monkey Mania is offline   you may:
Old 10-28-2007, 02:33 PM   #17
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,696
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
anyone who spends $3000 on a PC is either rich or a fool. You can build a great gaming rig for under $1K. Most prebuilt computers are going to screw gamers in two areas, parts, or price. Groovy got screwed on parts, while the 6150 cards are from 2005, the GeForce 6000 series was introduced in 2004. Essentially, you got a cheap integrated version of 3 year old tech with your computer.

acdcfanbill is offline   you may:
Old 10-28-2007, 04:17 PM   #18
Kjølen
Resident Polak
 
Kjølen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,916
Current Game: Monkey Island
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran Folder extraordinaire 
Athlon 64 X2 4000+ 2.0GHz
2GB DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) SDRAM
GeForce 7950GX2 1GB GDDR3 PCI-Express
Sound Blaster Audigy 4

1280x1024, all settings on Medium, and it's running fairly decent. Everyone wait for tomorrow, when the 8800GT comes out. That thing will price $200-$250ish and will outperform everything but the 8800GTX (barely).
Click for review


"Kjølen is a pretty cool guy. 'e doesn't afraid of anything and 'e doesn't anything about anything."
―Kjølen

* Ye Olde Harbour * Aresen *
Kjølen is offline   you may:
Old 10-28-2007, 07:03 PM   #19
Anthony
Thats it.
 
Anthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Canuckistan
Posts: 1,734
Current Game: Life
Forum Veteran 
Considering after im done playing pretty much any game I have to extinguish my PC before it sets fire to the wall, I'll pass.


Anthony is offline   you may:
Old 10-28-2007, 08:11 PM   #20
Datheus
Whosawhatnow?
 
Datheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Adrift
Posts: 1,426
Woot. I get to try out my 8800 GTS that I won this weekend!
Datheus is offline   you may:
Old 10-28-2007, 10:13 PM   #21
RoxStar
Moderator
 
RoxStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,411
Current Game: Everything Zelda
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
This game ran better than its installer did. I thought my comp was hosed like 5 times during installation :|

The game ran fine on lowish settings.

Pentium D 3.4 ghz
768 mb DDR ram (no fancy number after that)
Nvidia 6600
XP Pro
RoxStar is offline   you may:
Old 10-28-2007, 11:40 PM   #22
TiE23
Get bent!
 
TiE23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 6,572
Current Game: Shogun 2
Forum Veteran 
Stuff I'm doing:
  • Chopping down trees with my guns.
  • Breaking down a beach house with my bare hands.
  • Stacking cans of gasoline next to a GPS jammer to destroy it because I don't have any grenades.
  • Using camo and grabbing a dude by his neck.
  • Killing a guy by throwing him off a cliff.
  • Taking out enemies one by one like I'm the ****ing predator.
  • Gunning down retreating soldiers with my dual handguns.
  • Taking out each solider in an area one by one as the others get more and more scared.
  • Throwing a grenade into an outhouse as a guy uses it and watching it disintegrate.
  • Throwing a dumpster through walls of a house.


Tie's Kindle Reading Project
"Making myself a more learned person and then bragging about it."
Since October 2010 - I'm a slow reader
-----------
27 Books Completed
('10: 4, '11: 9, '12: 7, '13: 6)
Fiction: 12 | Fantasy/Sci-Fi 5; Classics 3; Literature 4
Non-fiction: 15 | Investigative 2; History/Politics 3; Science 3; Biography 7
-----------
237,123 'locations'
11,865 pages (approx)
-----------
Last book: Cosmos by Carl Sagan - Dec 2013
TiE23 is offline   you may:
Old 10-29-2007, 12:19 AM   #23
swphreak
My cabbages!!!
 
swphreak's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,510
10 year veteran! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Yeah, after playing the demo a third time, I gotta say, the game is pretty frickin' awesome. I was shooting at some soldiers hiding in the forest and was suprised when the trees started to fall. Not to mention the explosions look awesome.

Now I just need to find a cheat code that will let me cloak indefinately a la the Predator.


Tie, you know you can just... turn off the jammer, right?
swphreak is offline   you may:
Old 10-29-2007, 12:49 AM   #24
PR-0927
Formerly Majin Revan
 
PR-0927's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,468
Current Game: BF3
Yeah, it auto-detected to medium settings for all for me. It lagged like no other. So, I've been making changes, and it hasn't run with a good frame rate yet (I hate trying to shoot people with a bit of choppiness, 'cause I always miss 'em).

I have a Dell Vostro 1500, 2 GB RAM, Windows Vista Business, Intel Core 2 Duo (2.0 GHz), and an nVidia GeForce 8600M GT 256 MB RAM. I'm using a modded driver from LaptopVideo2Go (I'm using modded 169.01).

- PR-0927




- Former Star Wars: Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy, Star Wars: Battlefront, and Star Wars: Battlefront II modder. Used to go by the name "Majin Revan."
PR-0927 is offline   you may:
Old 10-29-2007, 03:08 AM   #25
TiE23
Get bent!
 
TiE23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 6,572
Current Game: Shogun 2
Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally Posted by StarWarsPhreak
Yeah, after playing the demo a third time, I gotta say, the game is pretty frickin' awesome. I was shooting at some soldiers hiding in the forest and was suprised when the trees started to fall. Not to mention the explosions look awesome.

Now I just need to find a cheat code that will let me cloak indefinately a la the Predator.


Tie, you know you can just... turn off the jammer, right?
What? I walked up to the panel on the side and I didn't see any buttons or anything... Anyway, blowing **** up is more fun, ya pansy.

TiE: 1, Phreak: 0



Tie's Kindle Reading Project
"Making myself a more learned person and then bragging about it."
Since October 2010 - I'm a slow reader
-----------
27 Books Completed
('10: 4, '11: 9, '12: 7, '13: 6)
Fiction: 12 | Fantasy/Sci-Fi 5; Classics 3; Literature 4
Non-fiction: 15 | Investigative 2; History/Politics 3; Science 3; Biography 7
-----------
237,123 'locations'
11,865 pages (approx)
-----------
Last book: Cosmos by Carl Sagan - Dec 2013
TiE23 is offline   you may:
Old 10-29-2007, 12:08 PM   #26
BongoBob
Good Eye, Sniper
 
BongoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Camper Velourium
Posts: 6,391
Current Game: BC2, FFXIII
The Walking Carpets Guild Member Forum Veteran 
Plus, they could always go back and turn it on. Blowing it up, while insanely more fun, is also smarter


BongoBob is offline   you may:
Old 10-29-2007, 03:33 PM   #27
swphreak
My cabbages!!!
 
swphreak's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,510
10 year veteran! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Am I the only one who hijacks a boat just to admire the water?

I've noticed a few small things like walking/driving through some objects, and the water splashing through the bottom of the boat. I realize this is just a pre-relase demo. Just hope it's not in the final build.

Has anyone else modified the config file to allow infinite cloak? It's awesome to see how the AI reacts when they get picked off one by one.
swphreak is offline   you may:
Old 10-29-2007, 04:07 PM   #28
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Hey, SWP:

What are your system specs and/or what might you be doing differently to make this hardware-breaker of a game run smoothly?

Inquiring minds want to know.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may:
Old 10-29-2007, 09:37 PM   #29
acdcfanbill
..the wonders I have seen
 
acdcfanbill's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Random Hell Wholes around the
Posts: 5,696
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member LFN Staff Member 10 year veteran! 
I'm betting water will come thru the bottom of the boat in the final build and in most games until they can find a way to make a cheap water particle system.

acdcfanbill is offline   you may:
Old 10-29-2007, 10:00 PM   #30
swphreak
My cabbages!!!
 
swphreak's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,510
10 year veteran! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qliveur
Hey, SWP:

What are your system specs and/or what might you be doing differently to make this hardware-breaker of a game run smoothly?

Inquiring minds want to know.
Specs:
XP Pro SP2
Intel Core 2 Quad CPU @ 2.6 Ghz
2GB RAM
GeForce 8800 GTX with drivers from April - I should probably update them.

Running the game at 1024x768 on High. I'll give 1280x1024 a try and see if that effects anything, but either way, I usually play my games at 1024.

Edit: Yeah, it looked like it was stuttering more.
swphreak is offline   you may:
Old 10-29-2007, 10:41 PM   #31
Darth Groovy
The Dapper Zabrak
 
Darth Groovy's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Joliet, IL, USA
Posts: 11,297
Current Game: Awaiting Greatness from PS4!
10 year veteran! Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member LucasCast staff 
Quote:
Originally Posted by acdcfanbill
anyone who spends $3000 on a PC is either rich or a fool. You can build a great gaming rig for under $1K. Most prebuilt computers are going to screw gamers in two areas, parts, or price. Groovy got screwed on parts, while the 6150 cards are from 2005, the GeForce 6000 series was introduced in 2004. Essentially, you got a cheap integrated version of 3 year old tech with your computer.
I really should have ran it by you before I bought it. You and I have been talking shop about computers for years. Then I got sucked into consoles and forgot about PC Gaming until Crysis came along. I have had my eye on that game for quite some time. I agree with Billeh, I should have built it myself. These days I just don't have the time to do it. I am NOT going to say I don't have the money or the resources, just over all lack of free time.

My last compy was bought in 2002, or 2003. It ran it's life, and had at least 2 or 3 upgrades. I weighed in the price of future upgrades vs, another prebuilt pc, and I could not pass up the sale they had that week. I guess you get what you pay for.

I also agree that PC game developers should stop trying to out do each other and take a step outside of the box for a minute. If all these parts were more affordable to the general public, then PC games would be more popular. Games like Crysis appear to be developed for hard core pc gamers that have no problem what so ever at spending a week's pay check on a top of the line gaming rig. I am sick to death of the guess work. PC games have faulty misleading info on the boxes they are packaged in. They advertise what you need to run it. Sure it will run at minimum specs, but will run as a slide show. Rarely do you get "recommended" specs from any other source, other than forums, or websites. These companies want to sell the games, but they don't give a damn if the customers are satisfied with the end result. I am pretty honest with my customers, and I am also sympathetic to customers who bring back games that don't run. I loose money on those returns, but at the same time, I warn them before they buy it. Usually they exchange for an older game that is not so demanding of a system. Don't even get me started on Bioshock for the PC...
Darth Groovy is offline   you may:
Old 10-29-2007, 10:57 PM   #32
IG-64
Moderator
 
IG-64's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston, Tx.
Posts: 5,958
LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally Posted by acdcfanbill
anyone who spends $3000 on a PC is either rich or a fool.
I spent over $3000 on a PC, and I'm not rich.

However, I did not just buy it for games, I bought it for 3D stuff. The games are a bonus for having a really good comp (which is why I kept it to gaming parts).

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiE23
Stuff I'm doing:
Stuff I'm doing:
Chopping down trees with my fists.
Running like a girl from any koreans.
Admiring the graphics.
Trying to get it to work with my comp so it wont run like drunk snails.
IG-64 is offline   you may:
Old 10-30-2007, 09:58 AM   #33
Kjølen
Resident Polak
 
Kjølen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,916
Current Game: Monkey Island
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran Folder extraordinaire 
Well, I just found 2GB of DDR2 800 SDRAM on Newegg for $40 after a rebate that ends today (clickie) and paired it with a new Athlon 64 X2 5000+ 2.6GHz Black Edition (Unlocked multipliers). Hopefully the kick-ass processor will get rid of the bottleneck of my current 2.0GHz 4000+.


"Kjølen is a pretty cool guy. 'e doesn't afraid of anything and 'e doesn't anything about anything."
―Kjølen

* Ye Olde Harbour * Aresen *
Kjølen is offline   you may:
Old 10-30-2007, 10:49 AM   #34
Ray Jones
[armleglegarmhead]
 
Ray Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: digital
Posts: 8,184
10 year veteran! LF Jester Helpful! Forum Veteran 
Long gone are the times where you fought clock and timing settings for many nights until you managed to run your DX/2 100 processor at virtual 110MHz and that actually was like a day/night difference.

What I wonder is why would the same game needs higher specs for Vista as it does for XP? Makes no sense.


Ray Jones is offline   you may:
Old 10-30-2007, 11:22 AM   #35
BongoBob
Good Eye, Sniper
 
BongoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Camper Velourium
Posts: 6,391
Current Game: BC2, FFXIII
The Walking Carpets Guild Member Forum Veteran 
Because Vista is a hueg resource hog?


BongoBob is offline   you may:
Old 10-30-2007, 12:52 PM   #36
Det. Bart Lasiter
obama.png
 
Det. Bart Lasiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: `(•.°)~
Posts: 7,997
Current Game: all
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
because dx10 has xtreme grafix. YOU CAN SEE THE BEADS OF SWEAT ON YOUR ENEMIES' FOREHEADS RAYSTON SO YOU KNOW IT'S WORTH THE EXTRA CASH



"No, Mama. You can bet your sweet ass and half a titty whoever put that hit on you already got the cops in their back pocket." ~Black Dynamite
Det. Bart Lasiter is offline   you may:
Old 10-30-2007, 07:29 PM   #37
TiE23
Get bent!
 
TiE23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 6,572
Current Game: Shogun 2
Forum Veteran 
Lots of anti-Vista bitterness going on in this thread. If you can't run this game, well then too ****ing bad.


Tie's Kindle Reading Project
"Making myself a more learned person and then bragging about it."
Since October 2010 - I'm a slow reader
-----------
27 Books Completed
('10: 4, '11: 9, '12: 7, '13: 6)
Fiction: 12 | Fantasy/Sci-Fi 5; Classics 3; Literature 4
Non-fiction: 15 | Investigative 2; History/Politics 3; Science 3; Biography 7
-----------
237,123 'locations'
11,865 pages (approx)
-----------
Last book: Cosmos by Carl Sagan - Dec 2013
TiE23 is offline   you may:
Old 10-30-2007, 10:17 PM   #38
RoxStar
Moderator
 
RoxStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,411
Current Game: Everything Zelda
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Is there not an Xbox 360 Version in the works?
RoxStar is offline   you may:
Old 10-30-2007, 10:38 PM   #39
BongoBob
Good Eye, Sniper
 
BongoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Camper Velourium
Posts: 6,391
Current Game: BC2, FFXIII
The Walking Carpets Guild Member Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally Posted by TiE23
If you are smart and don't like running an OS that takes 12 gigs to install and requires at least 2 gigs of ram to run smoothly and is as stable as Britney Spears at best, too f***ing bad.
Fixed.


BongoBob is offline   you may:
Old 10-31-2007, 02:47 AM   #40
TiE23
Get bent!
 
TiE23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 6,572
Current Game: Shogun 2
Forum Veteran 
Not a problem. I have 700gb of space on my computer. And I have a "TV Shows" folder that weighs over 180gigs alone. And the 2gb for my computer only cost $60. And Vista owns XP no matter what you say. You shouldn't judge an OS from downloading the open beta from a year ago.


Tie's Kindle Reading Project
"Making myself a more learned person and then bragging about it."
Since October 2010 - I'm a slow reader
-----------
27 Books Completed
('10: 4, '11: 9, '12: 7, '13: 6)
Fiction: 12 | Fantasy/Sci-Fi 5; Classics 3; Literature 4
Non-fiction: 15 | Investigative 2; History/Politics 3; Science 3; Biography 7
-----------
237,123 'locations'
11,865 pages (approx)
-----------
Last book: Cosmos by Carl Sagan - Dec 2013
TiE23 is offline   you may:
Post a new thread. Sorry, this thread is closed. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Community > Yoda’s Swamp > Crysis SP Demo (Yay!)

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:38 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.