lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: The Temple Mod Beta Release
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-08-2008, 05:41 AM   #1
Quanon
Senior Member
 
Quanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lost in my own unconsiciousens
Posts: 2,600
Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
[K1] The Temple Mod Beta Release

EDIT : I stopped working on this mod, yes... very sad...
Eh, no it isn't , I passed my mod to Darth Insidious.
After some chit chatting with PMs, I gave DI permission to use my Temple/
So I've sended everything I got and... well I'm not sure what DI's plans are,
but I think he'll do a good job.

Hey,

I finannly have a version I think is good enough for an early release .

Do mind its a Beta , so its not polished and some things might look unfinished .
Like no mini-map , Camera goes throw walls and the walls don't block line of sight , so expect HK-47 and Carth to blast straight throw them at enemys .

And to don't expect something unbelieve-able super !

The new areas are not huge , rather small really , still they asked lots of work to get them look good .

To put it simple : Its one big brawl and fight .

Plus I hope it works on your PC , when encountering problems , post them here and I'll see what I can do .

Note that I cleanded out my Override folder , the only mods I got installed where simple "add" extra items mods , like a new gun and swords .

If you have more complex mods installed I recommand to get them out or edit / tweak the files yourself .

I have not yet learned to use the TSL patcher .

The WIP thread : http://www.lucasforums.com/showthrea...10#post2407010


I'll post the readme aswell :

Quote:

********************
** THE TEMPLE MOD **
** -BETA EDITION- **
********************
__________________

AUTHOR: Quanon
EMAIL:
NAME: TempleMOd
CREDITS: - Quanon
- GloveMaster
- InyriForge


FILENAME: Beta_TempleMod.zip
FILE SIZE: 7,30 MB

__________________

_________
* INTRO *
_________

First off,

Thank you for downloading this early beta of my mod.
I hope you noticed the word BETA, indeed this is not
finished yet. And I warn you it might be best to play this without
any other complex mods .

Else you might get in trouble with 2DA files and such , though I didn't add
to much , someone with some skill in modding might fix the things to work
together without nasty crashes.

So once more, expect trouble if you have lots of mods installed.
If the game goes crazy and your PC with it, I'm not responsable.

This version is what I first had in my mind, a simple brawl and fight,
but by positive replys and much support on the LF Holowan boards,
I'm trying to make this a real fine "pro" mod.

Now this brings me to thank : InyriForge for helping me out on my blade model.

GloveMaster for setting up the .mod files and 2DA editing.

Magnusll for Kaurora , without that little niffty programme
all of this wouldn't have been possible !

Lots of other people with helpfull tips and ideas !

Again , thank you guys !

_______________________
* WhAT IS THIS MOD ? *
_______________________

Not one but 2 real new Areas to explore ,they're
an extra addition to the PLanet Korriban.

Always wondered what's behind the Shyrak caves,
well now you can and have peek for yourself .

___________
* INSTALL *
___________

In the .zip you'll find two folders :

- Override
- Modules

Copy the content to the same named folders in your install directory of Kotor 1.

Thats it.


_______________
* Not Perfect *
_______________

Yep, the new areas I build are not perfect,
expect still some stretched textures here and there,
the walls don't block line of sight, so sometimes the
party members start to blast straight throw them at an enemy
on the other side.

This is all because this is quite new (modding wise ) and for the moment I have not found
solutions for this annoying "sight" and camera problem .

Plus there's no mini-map aswell.

And I might have missed some things.

So that concludes it I think, expect a newer version. Soon ?
When its done ;-)

________________
* Contact Info *
________________

Post all questions or comments at my WIP thread on Holowan LF forums.

________________
* Terms of Use *
________________

Altering the contents of this mod is permitted only for your own personal usage.

his mod may/may not be used without the explicit permission of the author.
This mod may/may not be distributed on other sites without the express permission of the author.


THIS MODIFICATION IS PROVIDED AS-IS AND IS NOT SUPPORTED BY BIOWARE/OBSIDIAN ENTERTAINMENT OR LUCASARTS
OR ANY LICENSERS/SPONSORS OF THE MENTIONED COMPANIES.
USE OF THIS FILE IS AT YOUR OWN RISK AND THE ABOVE MENTIONED
COMPANIES OR THE AUTHOR IS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY DAMAGE CAUSED TO YOUR COMPUTER FOR THE USAGE OF THIS FILE.
Download Link 1 : Clicky

Download Link 2 :Clicky


TIQUILAAAAAAAA

Last edited by Quanon; 02-24-2008 at 12:34 PM.
Quanon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2008, 05:53 AM   #2
sekan
Junior Member
 
sekan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 418
Nice Quanon I'll test it right away.

BTW: Take away your email adress from the readme. You don't want to be hunted by spamm bots do you?


[size=1] My mods | My webiste
Are you trying to foooooool me?
sekan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2008, 05:57 AM   #3
Quanon
Senior Member
 
Quanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lost in my own unconsiciousens
Posts: 2,600
Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by sekan
Nice Quanon I'll test it right away.

BTW: Take away your email adress from the readme. You don't want to be hunted by spamm bots do you?
Thanks for the tip .

And good luck with the testing !

*crosses fingers*


TIQUILAAAAAAAA
Quanon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2008, 06:33 AM   #4
sekan
Junior Member
 
sekan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 418
I have finished the temple and it looks fantastic. Altrought there is one bug when you finished a fight you can't move. So i have to save then load that save to countinue. This happend almost after every single fight. I did remove all other mods before playing.

Can someone confirm this so i it isn't just a problem that i had becuase i used cheats?


[size=1] My mods | My webiste
Are you trying to foooooool me?
sekan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2008, 06:37 AM   #5
Quanon
Senior Member
 
Quanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lost in my own unconsiciousens
Posts: 2,600
Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by sekan
I have finished the temple and it looks fantastic. Altrought there is one bug when you finished a fight you can't move. So i have to save then load that save to countinue. This happend almost after every single fight. I did remove all other mods before playing.

Can someone confirm this so i it isn't just a problem that i had becuase i used cheats?
Hmmm , I had somesort of stuttering effect before and you can get stuck on the edges , near the bridge sometimes and near the Korriban Desert, but hitting Tab => Switching between party members always helped to get out of "stuck" .

Though I never had to reload a save-game .


TIQUILAAAAAAAA
Quanon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2008, 06:40 AM   #6
sekan
Junior Member
 
sekan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 418
O yeah it isn't your temple that is making this becuase i had this problem in The Syrach Cave. Stupid cheats that destroys my game


[size=1] My mods | My webiste
Are you trying to foooooool me?
sekan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2008, 10:23 AM   #7
Lordjedi
Forumite
 
Lordjedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 509
Very Nice
Lordjedi is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2008, 11:03 AM   #8
Darth InSidious
A handful of dust.
 
Darth InSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Eleven-Day Empire
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: KotOR II
I'm greatly looking forward to playing this mod!



Works-In-Progress
~
Mods Released
~
Quid existis in desertum videre?
Darth InSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2008, 11:25 AM   #9
Silveredge9
Retired Modder
 
Silveredge9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 710
Veteran Modder Forum Veteran Hot Topic Starter Contest winner - Modding 
Interesting. I'm usually too lazy to download mods, but I figured I'd make an exception this time.

It's pretty neat. I encountered no problems, other then the stuttery framerate and those you already listed. But then again, it's just the beta, so these things have to be expected. :P

Silveredge9 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2008, 11:45 AM   #10
Quanon
Senior Member
 
Quanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lost in my own unconsiciousens
Posts: 2,600
Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silveredge9
Interesting. I'm usually too lazy to download mods, but I figured I'd make an exception this time.

It's pretty neat. I encountered no problems, other then the stuttery framerate and those you already listed. But then again, it's just the beta, so these things have to be expected. :P
Hmmm, I knew it would nibble on the FPS on certain systems .

Though I noticed this odd stuttering / bobbing effect on the camera aswell , but I encountered that in Ebon-Hawk aswell .

Anyway, I hope I can get rid of that Camera swooshing throw walls .
It just spoils the fun some bit .

If any of you encountered some serious troubles then post them .


TIQUILAAAAAAAA
Quanon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2008, 11:51 AM   #11
Silveredge9
Retired Modder
 
Silveredge9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 710
Veteran Modder Forum Veteran Hot Topic Starter Contest winner - Modding 
Yeah, I can confirm the stuttery framerate I had experianced was down to my system. I toned the settings down a little and it runs fine. I need a better PC. :P

Silveredge9 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-08-2008, 02:03 PM   #12
Quanon
Senior Member
 
Quanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lost in my own unconsiciousens
Posts: 2,600
Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silveredge9
Yeah, I can confirm the stuttery framerate I had experianced was down to my system. I toned the settings down a little and it runs fine. I need a better PC. :P
Well part of it is my fault I'm not using the engine like I should .

A one part room of 12.000 <=> 16.000 polys , plus characters , sounds and AI scripts to run=> makes PC sloppy


TIQUILAAAAAAAA
Quanon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-09-2008, 02:08 PM   #13
Darth InSidious
A handful of dust.
 
Darth InSidious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: The Eleven-Day Empire
Posts: 5,765
Current Game: KotOR II
Filefront link: http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filef...om/file/;85657. Nice work, Q.



Works-In-Progress
~
Mods Released
~
Quid existis in desertum videre?
Darth InSidious is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-09-2008, 03:13 PM   #14
Quanon
Senior Member
 
Quanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lost in my own unconsiciousens
Posts: 2,600
Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth InSidious
Thanks DI !

And what an intro


TIQUILAAAAAAAA
Quanon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-13-2008, 01:28 PM   #15
Marius Fett
Frigged if I know!
 
Marius Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 3,379
Da iawn!

(That's Welsh btw)

Means very good!

Though I guess what I should be saying is ardderchog!!!

(EXCELLENT!)




Visit the new JediKnight.net!
Marius Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-17-2008, 12:09 AM   #16
Beastamon
Rookie
 
Beastamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Neon City
Posts: 19
Excellent Quanon, when I saw and played to see how good everything looked I was so delighted, I can't wait to see the final version (this is a beta right just to be sure, I think beta is a prototype). This is probably a useless suggestion/question but if your light side and find Thalia May and the Sith renegades and help them they leave going to the surface a.k.a. entrance of the temple the you made. My question are you going to show what happens to them in your mod when its finished?

I am asking because it would seem more realistic rather than them going to the entrance and disappearing forever or maybe you can have a datapad telling what happened to them after they left.
Beastamon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-23-2008, 08:52 PM   #17
Lord2
Rookie
 
Lord2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 113
Oh.. Does somebody have a save game they can share outside the cave?


Meh...
Lord2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-24-2008, 10:59 AM   #18
2Cold Scorpio
Rookie
 
2Cold Scorpio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Greenville, SC, USA - RG Eastern Command
Posts: 80
This looks very interesting, though I have a question: I already have appearence.2da and heads.2da in my Override; if I merged them with the ones in your mod with Stoffe's tool, would it still work? Also, will the final version of this use the TSLPatcher?

I don't have a *ton*of mods installed (Just BoS, the Darth Bane pack, a few of RedHawk's mods, Tomb of Jesset Dal'Kest (2.0), and a couple of minor things that don't break anything), but it is my irst playthrough with BoS, so I don't want to start over (I haven't left Dantooine yet). I ask, toom, because i have a pretty beefy rig that I could test to see if those lag issues come up over here too. My rig is:
-Core 2 Duo E6750 2.66 GHz overclocked to 3.4 GHz
-4 GBs of 800MHz RAM at 5-5-5-16 timings
-eVGA GeForce 8800GT Superclocked video card
-Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer
-Windows XP Pro & Windows Vista Ultimate 32-bit

If you want, though, I can temporarily empty out my Override folder, and test the mod for you (I've been running KotOR with everything on High, 16x AF, 8x AA, and in 1680x1050 w/ V-Sync, and the nVidia CP set to "Best Graphics" rather than performance), so it'd be interesting to see if this place makes my rig lag any. If anyone has a Korriban save, that'd be even better.


2Cold Scorpio, Rogues' Guild class 1A
www.GuildCom.us

"By the ancient spirits' rites, the old ghosts proclaim their rights; still they're lost in time." -"Blood on My Hands", Demons & Wizards
"We'll build a perfect beast with the knowledge they seek; if it takes ten thousand years, we never will retreat!" -"Prophecy", Iced Earth
"If you'll pardon my stealing of movie lines: The Force is with us" -Ronald W. Reagan
2Cold Scorpio is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-24-2008, 12:30 PM   #19
Quanon
Senior Member
 
Quanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lost in my own unconsiciousens
Posts: 2,600
Forum Veteran Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Cold Scorpio
This looks very interesting, though I have a question: I already have appearence.2da and heads.2da in my Override; if I merged them with the ones in your mod with Stoffe's tool, would it still work? Also, will the final version of this use the TSLPatcher?
I don't have a *ton*of mods installed (Just BoS, the Darth Bane pack, a few of RedHawk's mods, Tomb of Jesset Dal'Kest (2.0), and a couple of minor things that don't break anything), but it is my irst playthrough with BoS, so I don't want to start over (I haven't left Dantooine yet).

Using the TSL patcher might work very well. Its not that I edited the 2DAs that heavly.
It was just to give a warning to not hastely dump the 2DA files into your override and "kill" your other mods.

Plus, nice specs for your system, I don't believe you'll get any "slow" effects.

Anyway, I should edit my first post, I've past my Temple mod to Darth Insidious.

I'm not sure how he will fill it in.But it'll be more then just ghosts to fight.

Ow, make a back-up of your override folder.


TIQUILAAAAAAAA
Quanon is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Taris Upper City Emporium > The Temple Mod Beta Release

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:24 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.