lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Save Game help
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-17-2008, 05:43 PM   #1
Fat_albert
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Save Game help

I apologize if there is a thread about this. I looked but did not see anything.

So, I just have the files for the game. I have the patch installed. I played through the first year, with occasional crashes but nothing reloading a save couldn't fix. So, I get to the second year and it crashes immediately every time.I would like to try and use some the save games from grimfandango.net but my question is how do I "use" them in my game? Do I have to extract them in a certain place?

Thanks for all help!
Fat_albert is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-18-2008, 12:27 AM   #2
Du Man
Junior Member
 
Du Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 374
It's not that hard, but I know the feeling of being helpless with technology, so here's a play by play of how you do it. Assuming you're running xp...just extract the file to your Grim folder where your other grim fandango saved games are. Then just run the game and click the file. I'm copying this from advice I gave long ago as seen below.

"Download the file to some place you can easily get to (like your desktop) open the extraction file like you would a normal folder, and move the one program in there to your C drive/Program Files/LucasArts/Grim. If you look carefully in the Grim file, and if you saved a lot of games, you should notice that they look like the program from the extraction file that you are putting in their. Once you got it in there, play the game and load the save file that you least recognize (that should be the one you threw in the folder)."

And don't worry about there being other threads about your problem unless it is within like the most recent five. It's easier for us old geezers to dig up the old threads for you than for you to go on a long search for one related to your problem.
Du Man is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-18-2008, 10:13 PM   #3
Fat_albert
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Thank you so much Du man! I guess it was kind of easy. Yeah, I managed to get pass the part I was stuck on where it would just crash at the beginning of year two, but now it is crashing on a completely different part. I am running on vista. It is pretty frustrating, but I don't know what to do because I love this game. I managed to get save games working, so let's see how that turns out.
Fat_albert is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-19-2008, 12:42 AM   #4
DeadYorick
The Keeper of Peace
 
DeadYorick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,275
Current Game: Pheonix Wright
Ah your running on the infamous Vista. Yes Vista is as famous as Mac for not letting Windows games run properly. Since GF is quite old I doubt it runs as well on XP as on Vista. I think there is a separate Vista patch. But I am not sure.


"There's gotta be a better way to make a living"
-Kyle Katarn
DeadYorick is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2008, 10:47 PM   #5
urluckyday
Up all night to get lucky
 
urluckyday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Beautiful USA
Posts: 2,760
Current Game: Red Orchestra 2
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran 
Here you go...this should help clear things up...

http://www.grim-fandango.com/comment...ype=news&id=19



If I die today, I'm happy how my life turned out
urluckyday is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2008, 11:29 PM   #6
Thrik
Symbolically Compelling
 
Thrik's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 4,202
Hot Topic Starter Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Yeah, Grim Fandango should work fine on Vista. Only problem is that you'll probably have to run it in software mode, as if you have Vista you probably have a modern PC. And if you have a modern PC, the chances are high you have a GeForce 8. And if you have a GeForce 8, hardware acceleration seems to be broken.

If anyone has a GeForce 8 and doesn't get graphical corruption, please tell us more.


Thrik is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-21-2008, 12:49 AM   #7
urluckyday
Up all night to get lucky
 
urluckyday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Beautiful USA
Posts: 2,760
Current Game: Red Orchestra 2
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran 
Haven't tried it on my Vista PC, but does it work fine w/ out the hardware acceleration? All I need is a playable game that doesn't look screwy...I'm fine w/ less than perfect graphics...just as long as the game is playable...



If I die today, I'm happy how my life turned out
urluckyday is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-21-2008, 05:03 AM   #8
Thrik
Symbolically Compelling
 
Thrik's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 4,202
Hot Topic Starter Forum Veteran LFN Staff Member 
Yeah, that's what software mode is.

I did notice during my brief Vista 64-bit testing that the sound would occasionally screw up (go into a loop and then stop). I didn't experiment with the various compatibility modes though, and as a last resort you can always use Microsoft Virtual PC 2007 (free for Vista owners) to run it in software on virtualised Windows XP.

It's running hardware that's really problematic.


Thrik is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Grim Fandango Discussion > General Forums > Glottis' Garage > Save Game help

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:39 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.