lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Mass Effect Save Bug
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-20-2008, 03:51 PM   #1
Gargoyle King
Veteran
 
Gargoyle King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: In My Own Little World!
Posts: 895
Mass Effect Save Bug

Hi. I am currently (or rather was ) playing Mass Effect on a first playthrough. The problem is i'm about 11 hours into the game and i've encountered a major bug. I talked To Tali in the engine room of the Normandy after completing the quest were:
spoiler:
you get a datapad containing vital information of which Tali could use to help her people, the Quarians defeat the Geth and reclaim their world. Being the renegade i am however i refused her the datapad and she will now obviously not have much to say to me.
The problem is i immediately saved the game and switched the game off having been playing it straight for around 6 hours. But now when i load the game, all i get is a black screen of which i can hear my character running around when i move (of whom i can't see) and can still see the HUD etc.

Any help here will be greatly appreciated, as i don't fancy starting the game again after completing a lot of sidequests. If i can't save my savegame (excuse the pun) then i'll have to reluctantly restart. For the record i'm playing as a Female; Earthborn; Ruthless; Soldier.
Gargoyle King is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2008, 04:00 PM   #2
JoeDoe 2.0
n - 1
 
JoeDoe 2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Aeros
Posts: 1,907
So you have an autosaved game? Try loading that one if you do


JoeDoe 2.0 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2008, 04:15 PM   #3
Gargoyle King
Veteran
 
Gargoyle King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: In My Own Little World!
Posts: 895
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeDoe 2.0
So you have an autosaved game? Try loading that one if you do
Actually no i have autosaving disabled (yeah i know a stupid idea, guess i learned my lesson).
Gargoyle King is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2008, 05:44 PM   #4
adamqd
Jedi vs Sith
 
adamqd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,195
Forum Veteran The Walking Carpets Guild Member 
It could be your Xbox, I've had similar trouble with a game, it just suddenly decided that it wont render certain areas, no matter what I do, but it pays other games fine. very temperamental. Although I did take my game and hard drive around a friends, and the save game loaded fine on his, maybe try that and you'll know if your console is on its way out


adamqd is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2008, 05:52 PM   #5
Ctrl Alt Del
Uncreative User
 
Ctrl Alt Del's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Posts: 3,814
Current Game: Dishonored
Forum Veteran 
You can still see the HUD, eh? Try overwriting that buggy savegame with one of this darkened Engine Room. It might work, and I think that the situation can't get any worse.


Inspiration

.Bioshock inspiration.
Ctrl Alt Del is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-20-2008, 07:06 PM   #6
Gargoyle King
Veteran
 
Gargoyle King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: In My Own Little World!
Posts: 895
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamqd
It could be your Xbox, I've had similar trouble with a game, it just suddenly decided that it wont render certain areas, no matter what I do, but it pays other games fine. very temperamental. Although I did take my game and hard drive around a friends, and the save game loaded fine on his, maybe try that and you'll know if your console is on its way out
I'll try it on my mates 360, problem is though mine is a brand new 360 Elite, so it will be quite annoying if it is on it's way out. Thanks for the help everyone, if nothing else works then it looks i'll be restarting.
Gargoyle King is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-22-2008, 08:57 PM   #7
mimartin
TOR ate my KotOR
 
mimartin's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 6,052
Current Game: TOR/FO:NV
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Officer The Walking Carpets Guild Officer Alderaan News Holopics contributor 
I was going to write that the bug was normal and it has happen to me, which is true. However, I got the red rings of death tonight, so my saying that means nothing. Although my save game problem in the engine room happen on my first play through that is over 100 hours of playtime ago. The first advice and the best advice I remember reading the first time I came to this forum was “Save, Save, Save.” That holds true not matter the game.

No worries about the Xbox, I’m already back to playing Mass Effect after a short ride to Best Buy. I had no clue the hard drives just popped off. I was upset that I had lost all my information more than the cost of a new 360. Now I have to deal with Microsoft.


mimartin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Community > The Outlander Club > Mass Effect Save Bug

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:37 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.