lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Black Vulkar Base Restoration v1.1
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Sorry, this thread is closed. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-05-2008, 05:34 AM   #1
DarthJebus05
Banned
 
DarthJebus05's Avatar
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 631
[K1] Black Vulkar Base Restoration v1.1

Original Version

A lot of people have been asking to make the restoration compatible with other mods. So I whipped up a V1.1 and the changes are:

-This mod is compatible with any mod that doesn't use the files tar_m10aa.mod and tar_m10ab.mod

-New dialogs to make up for the missing dialog.tlk file

I did release this to kotorfiles.com a few days ago, but it hasn't gone up yet, and I promised this to people a week or 2 ago.

Download Link

Original and the next versions Readme is included.

Remember, put the files into your MODULES folder and not your Override.

Enjoy!
DarthJebus05 is offline   you may:
Old 02-05-2008, 05:51 AM   #2
Seamhainn
Forumite
 
Seamhainn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Taris, during bombardment
Posts: 633
DJ, I hope you did not mess with my translations :-) . Just kidding!!!

My question is, is there any interest to enhance that area?

Spoiler alert ahead!

My ideas:
spoiler:

- Delete all keycards which can be found for free.
- The keycard can be gained only from the spice junkie.
- You can leave the area only with the keycard. (Maybe this keycard is the only possibility to turn off the turrets in the other level. But that would take it a bit far, and - most of all - would mean that we change the game itself, which I am very reluctant to do!)
- You can enter the laboratory only if you manipulated the heating system.


I guess those ideas are along the lines the devs had in mind. But even if that isn't so, those things would make the level much more interesting to play!

Other things which could be done:
spoiler:

- The jail area is pretty empty. This is a big area to put in some additional stuff into. the pc could free a bunch of female Twi'lek prisoners which would be very thankful afterwards. (Just kidding, this is a pg 6 forum if I am not mistaken. And for female players it must be male prisoners. Then again there are other tastes intirely. But I stop here...)
- Serious though some need ideas could be done here.


I'd like to hear some oppinions, and if someone want to help, everybody is welcome.

Take care

Last edited by Seamhainn; 02-05-2008 at 06:07 AM.
Seamhainn is offline   you may:
Old 02-05-2008, 06:09 AM   #3
DarthJebus05
Banned
 
DarthJebus05's Avatar
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 631
Well, we did have a vague idea to do it when we first released it, but never went through with it. We could do it, wont take that long to do. Just a few days, a week tops. I'll think it over and tell you what we could and not do.
DarthJebus05 is offline   you may:
Old 02-05-2008, 06:15 AM   #4
Seamhainn
Forumite
 
Seamhainn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Taris, during bombardment
Posts: 633
Right but there are an aweful lot of empty crates and footlockers. We could toss in many, many goodies - bu is that advisable? I think not.

It would be good if can make a brainstorming what to do with that level to make it as interersting as possible!

Take care
Seamhainn is offline   you may:
Old 02-05-2008, 10:25 AM   #5
murdrax
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 166
hmm maybe put in a sneak peek of bastilla being escorted by vulcars to race tracks in preperaation of swoop.

dialogue could be hey thats bastilla you scream out her name 3 of lets say 8 vulcars turn to fight you while rest escort bastilla out of base!!
murdrax is offline   you may:
Old 02-05-2008, 10:42 AM   #6
Seamhainn
Forumite
 
Seamhainn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Taris, during bombardment
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by murdrax
hmm maybe put in a sneak peek of bastilla being escorted by vulcars to race tracks in preperaation of swoop.

dialogue could be hey thats bastilla you scream out her name 3 of lets say 8 vulcars turn to fight you while rest escort bastilla out of base!!
Not a bad idea indeed. Though we will do nothing which has not VOs. So it will be difficult. But a cutscene might be possible. DJ?
Seamhainn is offline   you may:
Old 02-05-2008, 10:54 AM   #7
Darth Payne
I Am Revan, I Remember.
 
Darth Payne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grong, Norway
Posts: 2,491
Current Game: DS3, Alien: Colonial Marines
If the escort thing gets done, will bastilla be in her default clothing or the slave outfit she has in the cage?

I ask because there are several mods that change the slave outfit.

Might be best to use the default outfit and have the Vulkars change her at another location, or something like that.


http://www.xboxlc.com/cards/sig/newblack/pederskomsvold.jpg
Formerly known as: Danyael27
My mods at KotorFiles: K1 Robe Stat Boost, TSL Jedi Robe Stat Boost, Jedi Fight Training.
Quando omni flunkus moritati - the motto of the Possum Lodge, Pseudo-Latin for 'when all else fails, play dead.'


SW: Invasion 05,P16 -(Spraug: Seriously? A Wookie with a lightsaber? Thats just overkill.
Darth Payne is offline   you may:
Old 02-05-2008, 06:01 PM   #8
DarthJebus05
Banned
 
DarthJebus05's Avatar
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 631
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seamhainn
Not a bad idea indeed. Though we will do nothing which has not VOs. So it will be difficult. But a cutscene might be possible. DJ?
I've never made a cutscene before, but it is possible. We could try and do it, but I'm not sure how far we will get.
DarthJebus05 is offline   you may:
Old 02-05-2008, 06:09 PM   #9
murdrax
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 166
crosses fingers!!

goodluck with the bastilla bit overall i love default bit of currrent mod looking forward to new stuff!!
murdrax is offline   you may:
Old 02-05-2008, 06:35 PM   #10
Totenkopf
English spoken in What
 
Totenkopf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: What?
Posts: 4,787
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seamhainn
- The jail area is pretty empty. This is a big area to put in some additional stuff into. the pc could free a bunch of female Twi'lek prisoners which would be very thankful afterwards. (Just kidding, this is a pg 6 forum if I am not mistaken. And for female players it must be male prisoners. Then again there are other tastes intirely. But I stop here...)
Well, in the interests of keeping this "clean", perhaps they can provide you with a location of riches (random or otherwise) that spawn elsewhere.


Now, I want you to remember that no bastard ever won a war by dying for his country. He won it by making the other poor, dumb bastard die for his country.---Patton

There is no room in this country for hyphenated Americanism.---Teddy Roosevelt

I never forget a face, but in your case I'll make an exception.---Groucho

And if you all get killed, I'll piss on your graves.---Shaman Urdnot

How would you like to own a little bit of my foot in your ass.---Red Foreman
Totenkopf is offline   you may:
Old 02-05-2008, 06:38 PM   #11
Ctrl Alt Del
Uncreative User
 
Ctrl Alt Del's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Posts: 3,814
Current Game: Dishonored
Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danyael27
If the escort thing gets done, will bastilla be in her default clothing or the slave outfit she has in the cage?
The "slave outfit" are her panties of the dark side. Basically, if you strip he when she's wearing a dark jedi robe, she'll be on that outfit. So I don't see why it isn't possible.


Inspiration

.Bioshock inspiration.
Ctrl Alt Del is offline   you may:
Old 02-05-2008, 06:44 PM   #12
Darth Payne
I Am Revan, I Remember.
 
Darth Payne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grong, Norway
Posts: 2,491
Current Game: DS3, Alien: Colonial Marines
Hmmm, location of a cache containing riches the Vulkars have hidden from Davik would be very cool.

I don't see how Brejik could *not* try to double-cross Davik.

Perhaps a load of credits and some expensive and powerfull weapons and armor?


http://www.xboxlc.com/cards/sig/newblack/pederskomsvold.jpg
Formerly known as: Danyael27
My mods at KotorFiles: K1 Robe Stat Boost, TSL Jedi Robe Stat Boost, Jedi Fight Training.
Quando omni flunkus moritati - the motto of the Possum Lodge, Pseudo-Latin for 'when all else fails, play dead.'


SW: Invasion 05,P16 -(Spraug: Seriously? A Wookie with a lightsaber? Thats just overkill.
Darth Payne is offline   you may:
Old 02-05-2008, 06:55 PM   #13
DarthJebus05
Banned
 
DarthJebus05's Avatar
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 631
Thats a very good idea. Possibly you find datapads or talk to people inside the base to get the 5 digit code or something. Then you have to find the actual cache, which clues will be given by Vulkar's by using Force Persuade.
DarthJebus05 is offline   you may:
Old 02-05-2008, 07:07 PM   #14
Darth Payne
I Am Revan, I Remember.
 
Darth Payne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grong, Norway
Posts: 2,491
Current Game: DS3, Alien: Colonial Marines
Needing to have force persuade might not be such a good idea.

I myself don't do any leveling up past lvl2 until dantooine, and i don't think i'm the only one that do that.

however, neediing a certain persuade level could work. Either that or intimidation if you fail a persude check.

Perhaps a guard for the cache?


http://www.xboxlc.com/cards/sig/newblack/pederskomsvold.jpg
Formerly known as: Danyael27
My mods at KotorFiles: K1 Robe Stat Boost, TSL Jedi Robe Stat Boost, Jedi Fight Training.
Quando omni flunkus moritati - the motto of the Possum Lodge, Pseudo-Latin for 'when all else fails, play dead.'


SW: Invasion 05,P16 -(Spraug: Seriously? A Wookie with a lightsaber? Thats just overkill.
Darth Payne is offline   you may:
Old 02-06-2008, 01:49 AM   #15
Seamhainn
Forumite
 
Seamhainn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Taris, during bombardment
Posts: 633
Okay, while the Shadowland level is in DJ's capable translating hands, I'll give it a go for the Vulkar Base.

My first step will be to make it enjoyable to play and a coherent level with what is already in it. After we will add (maybe) new things which make sence AND are doable.

For that matter a question: I can't remember where a door which can only be opened with a key card is. If someone who knows where one of those doors is in-game, I'd be glad for any hint.

Thanks and take care
Seamhainn is offline   you may:
Old 02-06-2008, 02:21 AM   #16
Robespierre
Junior Member
 
Robespierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 493
Quote:
Right but there are an aweful lot of empty crates and footlockers. We could toss in many, many goodies - bu is that advisable? I think not.
Perhaps you could put some essentially useless things in there? Some adhesive grenades, a blaster or two, perhaps some vibroblades, etc. And some antidote and medpacks.

Quote:
Hmmm, location of a cache containing riches the Vulkars have hidden from Davik would be very cool.

I don't see how Brejik could *not* try to double-cross Davik.
I would have it so that Brejik's latest 'payment' to Davik was full of 'counterfeit credits'. So the first container you find is full of credits (well, say 200 or something), but the rest are full of fake credits. In one of the crates you also find a datapad with Brejik's instructions on how the credits are to be delivered.

Its just there's a real issue with balancing if you start giving low level players lots of credits to spend.



"We must use daring, daring and more daring." - Georges Jacques Danton
Robespierre is offline   you may:
Old 02-06-2008, 03:31 AM   #17
Totenkopf
English spoken in What
 
Totenkopf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: What?
Posts: 4,787
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member Forum Veteran 
Quote:
Its just there's a real issue with balancing if you start giving low level players lots of credits to spend.
Well, one way to balance that out would be to make the vulkar guards a lot tougher than the ones you meet in the lower city. 200 creds is actually pretty paltry. In the swoop garage hangar there is already a footlocker that contains 2000 credits and several other items. You could also make it so that there's an item or two being sold by one of the merchants (or a new one) that eats up a number of your new found credits in this cache. Or maybe you can set up a situation where someone has to be bribed, and that could end up costing $$ too. Btw, just exactly how much do you consider to be too much? Besides, given all the modding tutorials, you could always downgrade the stats you think over the top with ones more to your liking (or simply avoid a mod you find "unbalanced"). Remember, there are already a few mods out there that try to address the question of balance by making the game harder. Incorporate those into your game as well.


Now, I want you to remember that no bastard ever won a war by dying for his country. He won it by making the other poor, dumb bastard die for his country.---Patton

There is no room in this country for hyphenated Americanism.---Teddy Roosevelt

I never forget a face, but in your case I'll make an exception.---Groucho

And if you all get killed, I'll piss on your graves.---Shaman Urdnot

How would you like to own a little bit of my foot in your ass.---Red Foreman
Totenkopf is offline   you may:
Old 02-06-2008, 09:09 AM   #18
Darth Payne
I Am Revan, I Remember.
 
Darth Payne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grong, Norway
Posts: 2,491
Current Game: DS3, Alien: Colonial Marines
I agree with totenkopf, 200 credits is way too low.

There is one armor on dantooine that costs 15,000 and another on kashyyyk that costs 10,000. Then there is Cassus fetts blaster on korriban for 10,000.

I'd recommend at least 25-35,000 credits, leave a datapad there as well explaining why there are so many credits there.


http://www.xboxlc.com/cards/sig/newblack/pederskomsvold.jpg
Formerly known as: Danyael27
My mods at KotorFiles: K1 Robe Stat Boost, TSL Jedi Robe Stat Boost, Jedi Fight Training.
Quando omni flunkus moritati - the motto of the Possum Lodge, Pseudo-Latin for 'when all else fails, play dead.'


SW: Invasion 05,P16 -(Spraug: Seriously? A Wookie with a lightsaber? Thats just overkill.
Darth Payne is offline   you may:
Old 02-06-2008, 10:51 AM   #19
Totenkopf
English spoken in What
 
Totenkopf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: What?
Posts: 4,787
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member Forum Veteran 
Maybe there was a payroll cache on one of the republic pods that crashed on Taris.
I was thinking initially in the range of ~20-25K myself. Most of us who use the mods are people that have probably played the game several times already anywhow. The whole point of these things is to punch up the game for playability. Just using RH as an example, his expansion pack gives you 150K on the ES itself, and another 60K+ or so in the Ruins. He also gives you the option in his KEG to spend up to 100K of that upgrading your players stats a bit on the EH. Seriously, if balance is a really big issue, then maybe using TK's KSE to "weaken" the PC might be an avenue worth exploring or maybe Kotor tool to generate weaker weapons/stronger enemies for the override folder. Just a few suggestions to tweak the game to a more challenging level.


Now, I want you to remember that no bastard ever won a war by dying for his country. He won it by making the other poor, dumb bastard die for his country.---Patton

There is no room in this country for hyphenated Americanism.---Teddy Roosevelt

I never forget a face, but in your case I'll make an exception.---Groucho

And if you all get killed, I'll piss on your graves.---Shaman Urdnot

How would you like to own a little bit of my foot in your ass.---Red Foreman
Totenkopf is offline   you may:
Old 02-08-2008, 11:46 PM   #20
ARC Cody
Rookie
 
ARC Cody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kiev
Posts: 80
Did any one else find that the Nikto tech in the spice lab spoke in english? I think that the Ithorian lab tech should be changed to another species, or given a dialog option asking you to let him go, because he doesnt have any fight animations and just stands there. Just my o so useless input.
Thanks
ARC Cody is offline   you may:
Old 02-09-2008, 05:11 PM   #21
Lordjedi
Forumite
 
Lordjedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by ARC Cody
Did any one else find that the Nikto tech in the spice lab spoke in english? I think that the Ithorian lab tech should be changed to another species, or given a dialog option asking you to let him go, because he doesnt have any fight animations and just stands there. Just my o so useless input.
Thanks
Don't you mean Galatic Basic
Lordjedi is offline   you may:
Old 02-09-2008, 07:34 PM   #22
DarthJebus05
Banned
 
DarthJebus05's Avatar
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 631
Heh, well spotted Lord.

As you get further through the game, I find that the normal medpacs are useless, and you spend a lot more on more expensive medpacs. And if Tatooine in your first planet, I couldn't afford HK-47. SO maybe $10,000 credits?
DarthJebus05 is offline   you may:
Old 02-09-2008, 11:32 PM   #23
ARC Cody
Rookie
 
ARC Cody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kiev
Posts: 80
Yes, yes Galactic basic (mutters something inaudible about perfectionists). But seriously, was I the only one with this bug?
ARC Cody is offline   you may:
Old 02-09-2008, 11:43 PM   #24
Darth Payne
I Am Revan, I Remember.
 
Darth Payne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grong, Norway
Posts: 2,491
Current Game: DS3, Alien: Colonial Marines
Nope, had it myself.

Found it very odd that one of those spoke Basic/English.

It would be more believeable with a Twi'lek or human.


http://www.xboxlc.com/cards/sig/newblack/pederskomsvold.jpg
Formerly known as: Danyael27
My mods at KotorFiles: K1 Robe Stat Boost, TSL Jedi Robe Stat Boost, Jedi Fight Training.
Quando omni flunkus moritati - the motto of the Possum Lodge, Pseudo-Latin for 'when all else fails, play dead.'


SW: Invasion 05,P16 -(Spraug: Seriously? A Wookie with a lightsaber? Thats just overkill.
Darth Payne is offline   you may:
Old 02-10-2008, 12:43 AM   #25
Totenkopf
English spoken in What
 
Totenkopf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: What?
Posts: 4,787
Imperialist Meatbags Guild Member The Walking Carpets Guild Member Forum Veteran 
Yeah, I've noticed the ithorian problem as well. Also, as regards the medpacs, as your VP get higher, you need more medpacs to get you back to full health. They only seemed more effective when you were "weaker" b/c your VP was fairly low. But since you often have enough time to fire up an armband shield or use force powers before going into combat, it's probably not too big a problem. I s'ppose one could always alter the stats of the medpacs w/KT and dump their upgraded versions into their OR folder. Pretty painless bit of modding.


Now, I want you to remember that no bastard ever won a war by dying for his country. He won it by making the other poor, dumb bastard die for his country.---Patton

There is no room in this country for hyphenated Americanism.---Teddy Roosevelt

I never forget a face, but in your case I'll make an exception.---Groucho

And if you all get killed, I'll piss on your graves.---Shaman Urdnot

How would you like to own a little bit of my foot in your ass.---Red Foreman
Totenkopf is offline   you may:
Old 02-10-2008, 02:55 AM   #26
ARC Cody
Rookie
 
ARC Cody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kiev
Posts: 80
I found a new really weird bug and a few small glitches to-
1) The spice addict mech ran out of the rec room once I gave him the spice and into the lift. He then just stood in the shaft and I started talking to him again and the convo repeated "Your back again. Bring me the spice blah blah". I went back up to the main base and came down again and he was still there. I started convo again and halfway through it he finally faded and the words are just hanging on the screen when I move around.
2) The pazaak playing mech is titled "Mechaniker", which is german.
3) The lift on the new level doesn't display where its taking you, for eg. "Main Vulkar Base". Theres just a blank space.
I also have a suggestion. Give the Nikto guarding the Main Control Panel some weapons because guards fighting with their hands seems unrealistic. And either toughen up the vulkars slightly or give them better weapons. They're so weak.
Thanks
ARC Cody is offline   you may:
Old 02-10-2008, 03:15 AM   #27
DarthJebus05
Banned
 
DarthJebus05's Avatar
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 631
Quote:
Originally Posted by ARC Cody
2) The pazaak playing mech is titled "Mechaniker", which is german.
I'm not sure how that happened, I used the English version of the files...

I'll have to go check it out.
DarthJebus05 is offline   you may:
Old 02-10-2008, 03:29 AM   #28
Shem
Master of the Force
 
Shem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 2,904
Current Game: Variations of games
10 year veteran! Veteran Modder Notable contributor Hot Topic Starter 
Here your most recent submitted update!

http://knightsoftheoldrepublic.filef...kar_Base;86493


Interested in hosting a your KOTOR or TSL mod at FileFront? Send your mod HERE and we'll validate it as soon as we can! FileFront is a good way to get publicity for your mod as we get 1000's of visitors everyday. Is my LucasForum PM box full again? If you really need to reach me, PM me at YouTube under the username: Shem L -- Watch my KOTOR videos! Download my mods from FileFront!

Shem is offline   you may:
Old 02-10-2008, 05:29 AM   #29
DarthJebus05
Banned
 
DarthJebus05's Avatar
 
Status: Banned
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 631
Thank you for that Shem, much appreciated.
DarthJebus05 is offline   you may:
Post a new thread. Sorry, this thread is closed. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Taris Upper City Emporium > Black Vulkar Base Restoration v1.1

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:53 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.