lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: OJP's very first custom weapon
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 02-17-2008, 07:11 AM   #1
UDM
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 922
OJP's very first custom weapon

...is 70% ready.

http://i229.photobucket.com/albums/e...g?t=1203250208

What's left to do:

- finish up barrel textures
- export into md3
- make it work in-game

I can get the barrel textures done in an hour, but if anyone's willing to help me export and get the thing working in-game, please, don't hesitate to do so

Source of inspiration:

http://starwars.wikia.com/wiki/Image:Potir.jpg
UDM is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2008, 07:39 AM   #2
Maxstate
I forgot.... what?
 
Maxstate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ;o ;p :eek:
Posts: 2,090
HOLY ****

olice:

This is going to rock so much. Imagine how many jedi we could slaughter with this?

Maxstate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2008, 12:11 PM   #3
UDM
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 922
I was thinking this could be a very high level weapon. Prolly require like somewhere around 30XP just to use it, and it will slow you down like crazy when you equip it

Of course, the pro simply involves being able to massacre anything that stands in your path

I've finished the barrel textures, here are some screenshots of the whole thing:

http://i229.photobucket.com/albums/e...g?t=1203268261
http://i229.photobucket.com/albums/e...g?t=1203268266
http://i229.photobucket.com/albums/e...g?t=1203268262
http://i229.photobucket.com/albums/e...g?t=1203268265
UDM is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2008, 01:45 PM   #4
madcatmach2
Rookie
 
madcatmach2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 206
o thats hot. what gun are you going to override? another thing is its probably going to require its own shooting stance. i really want to try that out.

madcatmach2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2008, 05:04 PM   #5
JRHockney*
Moderator
 
JRHockney*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,255
Hot Topic Starter LFN Staff Member 
Wow, thats insane! What ever gu it overrides we're probablyu going to have to change out the code a bit. Maybe just add in the repeater code and boost the firing rate to a rediculous level We're definitely not making the clone rifle shoot any faster now.


Game screen name: Master Jon Hoc Ni

UDM Quote: in singapore, gangsters are...skinny jacka**es who think they can 0wn you. they hurl insults at u, and then lose in a fight. n00bs
JRHockney* is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-17-2008, 06:11 PM   #6
Maxstate
I forgot.... what?
 
Maxstate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ;o ;p :eek:
Posts: 2,090
http://www.horrorphile.net/images/re...tt-taylor1.jpg

You did the texturing yourself, btw?

Maxstate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-18-2008, 07:54 AM   #7
UDM
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 922
Anyone who can hold one of those monsters with one hand is a real badass =p

Yup I did the texturing myself. I tried to make the textures as sharp as possible. IMHO it's the first model I've ever successfully UV mapped, so I'm going to put in that extra mile of effort for it. I think the textures still could be a little sharper though, so I'll see what I can do

I'll prolly override the repeater to test it out. I hope this can come as a weapon on its own though. Ensi was actually working on code that separated weapons into classes ie. melee, pistol, rifle, heavy, explosives, rather than the individual weapons selection that we have now. I hope someone can finish it, so I can work on other weapons later on. I have the mesh for a DH17 pistol and Force Pike (this one took me only 15 mins lol) done, and they're much easier to UV map than the rotary blaster. I'd really like to get them into the game along with the other weapons that we're planning to implement

Just imagine this line in OJP's features:

"Featuring over 50 weapons from Star Wars lore!"
UDM is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-18-2008, 08:39 AM   #8
Maxstate
I forgot.... what?
 
Maxstate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ;o ;p :eek:
Posts: 2,090
That's excellent.

Maxstate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-18-2008, 10:04 PM   #9
madcatmach2
Rookie
 
madcatmach2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 206
now if only we could animate it to make the barrol spin, though i think theres a shader that can do that i mean look at those ported helicopter vehicles, the blades look like they spin

madcatmach2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-18-2008, 10:59 PM   #10
ensiform
The Stig
 
ensiform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sawtooth Cauldron
Posts: 1,241
Current Game: Borderlands 2
Uhm why md3 and not g2?


iojamp project lead / coder
ensiform is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-18-2008, 11:56 PM   #11
madcatmach2
Rookie
 
madcatmach2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 206
has to do with exporting it to gl2 in game besides the 1st person needs to me in md3 format

madcatmach2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2008, 06:40 AM   #12
UDM
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 922
Quote:
Originally Posted by ensiform
Uhm why md3 and not g2?
We need to talk on MSN if you have experience in porting weapons over. I have 0 knowledge of how to go about doing that. If someone could guide me, that'd be great
UDM is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2008, 06:41 AM   #13
Maxstate
I forgot.... what?
 
Maxstate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ;o ;p :eek:
Posts: 2,090
You need to get on MSN first, lol.

Maxstate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-20-2008, 02:26 PM   #14
madcatmach2
Rookie
 
madcatmach2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by UDM
We need to talk on MSN if you have experience in porting weapons over. I have 0 knowledge of how to go about doing that. If someone could guide me, that'd be great
here's the tut i used when i first put guns in game so very long ago. its fairly easy to understand, the process isn't hard
Gun Compilation Tutorial (getting your gun model in-game)

madcatmach2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2008, 12:20 PM   #15
UDM
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 922
I haven't tried out that tutorial yet, but it looks like a solution. Still, anyone here have any idea how to script a rotatable barrel that accelerates/decelerates instead of firing instantly?
UDM is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2008, 01:58 PM   #16
madcatmach2
Rookie
 
madcatmach2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 206
well JKA in its current state dose not allow animated weapons. It would have to be something for OJP to add. your only other solution that i would think would work is a shader, but then it would be constantly spinning.

madcatmach2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2008, 01:59 PM   #17
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
I know it's possible. The shocker weapon uses code like that. It would require code modifications thou.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2008, 03:56 PM   #18
Maxstate
I forgot.... what?
 
Maxstate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ;o ;p :eek:
Posts: 2,090
Like anyone would really pay attention, to be honest..

Maxstate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-22-2008, 07:21 PM   #19
UDM
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 922
I thought that in Quake 3, the machine gun rotates when it spins? Is there any way, then, to at least get the projectiles to fire out of each barrel?

IDK, I'm stumped at this point because I've never had any experience importing/exporting to games before. It'd be better if someone could work with me to do the necessary procedures for that, but I'm not really going to hold my breath, sit around and wait
UDM is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-23-2008, 11:50 AM   #20
Maxstate
I forgot.... what?
 
Maxstate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ;o ;p :eek:
Posts: 2,090
Oh and this is the third custom gun for OJP, the first was thrillhouse's geonosian blaster and the second was the DE-10 that we got permission to use.

I have nothing against RPG elements in OJP, I have something against RP elements in OJP. To me, there's a difference.

Maxstate is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-23-2008, 10:33 PM   #21
UDM
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 922
Ah thrillhouse's geonosian gun has been done already? The DE-10 isn't a custom weapon specifically made for OJP though, it's borrowed from others
UDM is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-25-2008, 12:55 PM   #22
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
From what I last remember, the geonosian gun is in texturing.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-29-2008, 11:27 AM   #23
UDM
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 922
Ok anyone here know how to export the gun into JKA?
UDM is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-29-2008, 12:46 PM   #24
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Not really. I don't know exactly. But you can probably figure it out by checking what files are used for our clone rifle. I think you need to export your file into the .md3 and the .glm format. You might be do both from 3d max. Alternatively, you can convert a static .md3 into a .glm using Ravensoft's md3view that comes with the SDK.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 02-29-2008, 09:23 PM   #25
madcatmach2
Rookie
 
madcatmach2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 206
in the past i could have helped you more buti have since lost my trial for milkshape and the other free programs dont really have the import export options i need. ok first since we haven't added any completely new guns to the game your going to need to replace one for now till i gess its coded in
1. in your program import the gun glm that your over writing.
2. next import your model
3. size your model to the appropriate size, that move your model so that the handle is on the origin.
4. then just delete the the old model from it. move the efx tag to the end of the barrel
5. export it to glm
congratulations you just did 3rd person view for the gun

for the first person view its basically the same thing just you import it into the various md3's and re export it the md3's. Pk3 it all up and your good to go.

madcatmach2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-01-2008, 12:35 AM   #26
UDM
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 922
GIMME YOUR MSN NAO!!!!!!!!!!!
UDM is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-01-2008, 04:41 PM   #27
madcatmach2
Rookie
 
madcatmach2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 206
unfortunately i don't have msn. do you have aim?

madcatmach2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-01-2008, 08:53 PM   #28
Iron Herald
Rookie
 
Iron Herald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 27
I dunno about animating the gun, but I think it's possible to have the projectiles come out of different barrels though.
The Hailfire Droid from the Naboo Hills 2 map fires rockets seemingly randomly out of it's missile banks, but the question is whether you could cycle it or if the efx tags are chosen randomly each shot.
Iron Herald is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-01-2008, 09:24 PM   #29
madcatmach2
Rookie
 
madcatmach2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 206
with that its because its a vehicle. a vehicle allows it to have multiple efx tags and in the veh. file you tell it which ones to shoot from. so far a regular gun dosnt have that feature

madcatmach2 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-02-2008, 01:26 AM   #30
UDM
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 922
Quote:
Originally Posted by madcatmach2
unfortunately i don't have msn. do you have aim?
No

I think you can use your existing AIM email with MSN though
UDM is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-02-2008, 02:44 AM   #31
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Quote:
Originally Posted by madcatmach2
with that its because its a vehicle. a vehicle allows it to have multiple efx tags and in the veh. file you tell it which ones to shoot from. so far a regular gun dosnt have that feature
There's not really any reason why that couldn't be applied to the new gun as well. You're just going to have to con someone into actually doing it.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-04-2008, 06:47 AM   #32
Iron Herald
Rookie
 
Iron Herald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 27
*wink wink* *Nudge nudge*
Iron Herald is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-04-2008, 12:44 PM   #33
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Speaking of custom weapons. I now have the .max file for the geon weapon that Thrillhouse finished. It just needs to be textured and exported.

UDM, would you be interested in taking up the reighs on the geon gun?


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-05-2008, 12:35 AM   #34
RJW_ca
 
RJW_ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: VANCOUVER BC CANADA
Posts: 175
Current Game: STAR WARS, AVP
THE THRILLHOUSE geon weapon gun ALREADY GOT TEXTURED!!
and a few things remodeled

RJW_ca


RJW_ca is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-05-2008, 07:31 AM   #35
UDM
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 922
You don't have to shout =p

Hey razor talk to me some time on MSN when you're online, I'm running into some problems
UDM is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-05-2008, 12:28 PM   #36
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,172
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJW_ca
THE THRILLHOUSE geon weapon gun ALREADY GOT TEXTURED!!
and a few things remodeled

RJW_ca
Oh, it did? I thought you had dropped off the map.

PM me about your status and we'll get this boat going again.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Community > Hosted Forums > Open Jedi Project (OJP) > OJP's very first custom weapon

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:20 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.