lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: ghoul2 collision
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-21-2008, 10:37 PM   #1
Tinny
 
Tinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,188
ghoul2 collision

Hey guys, I made a check in t2_trace that if it checks for a very large npc (we're talking atat and mutant_rancor size here) that it should use a ghoul2 trace instead. This does allow me to do cool things like crawl through an atsts legs etc, but its CPU intensive. One glitch I did come across though was that many times when I collide with the npc I stick do it where I jitter back and forth and am not able to free myself from it. Does anyone know what's going on?


Redeemed!

An old school mod for jedi academy.
Tinny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-10-2008, 03:24 PM   #2
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,187
sounds like the data that is returned to the movement code is different. Is this for vehicles, people, or both?


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-10-2008, 07:46 PM   #3
Tinny
 
Tinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,188
Its for a person interacting with the ATAT npc.


Redeemed!

An old school mod for jedi academy.
Tinny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-10-2008, 07:53 PM   #4
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,187
what happens when a vehicle goes thru? Like an AT-ST or tauntan?


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-10-2008, 08:51 PM   #5
Tinny
 
Tinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,188
Ooh, I haven't tried anything as big as an atst, but a swoop is going so fast that it hardly gets stuck due to its acceleration. It will accelerate faster in that one frame than the jitter will pull it back if that makes sense.


Redeemed!

An old school mod for jedi academy.
Tinny is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-11-2008, 02:04 PM   #6
razorace
Impressive, Terran!
 
razorace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,187
Yeah, try something slower that walks on the ground. It's possible that the issue is isolated to one type of object movement.


---Jedi Guardian of the Newbie Questions
---Masters of the Force Team Leader / Creator
---Open Jedi Project Lead Moderator / Co-Founder
razorace is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-11-2008, 06:34 PM   #7
ensiform
The Stig
 
ensiform's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sawtooth Cauldron
Posts: 1,241
Current Game: Borderlands 2
Keep in mind all the g2 stuff isn't as complete as it is in SP. This could also be an issue. Like, they do actually have hit-boxes in some cases where you think its g2 but not rly. Look at the rancors for example, try hitting their head nothing happens but making marks. Gotta hit their crotch area or so before it does anything.


iojamp project lead / coder
ensiform is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Coding > ghoul2 collision

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:23 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.