lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: PROBLEM WITH GRAVITY
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-20-2008, 11:37 AM   #1
maezme
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
PROBLEM WITH GRAVITY

Hi, i'm having this "problem", i'm playing JO, the single player mode, and when i try to change the g_gravity, it says it is read only. Is there any way i can change it?. If somebody knows please tell me.
Thanks.
maezme is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-20-2008, 12:14 PM   #2
Samuel Dravis
 
Samuel Dravis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,973
I can't remember if you can change gravity in single player, but if you can, the way to unlock such commands is to type "helpusobi 1" and then try the gravity command again.


"Words are deeds." - Wittgenstein
Samuel Dravis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-20-2008, 02:03 PM   #3
maezme
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuel Dravis
I can't remember if you can change gravity in single player, but if you can, the way to unlock such commands is to type "helpusobi 1" and then try the gravity command again.
Yes, i've tried that, but it says it is read only. Maybe i can change a game file, but i don't know which one.
Anyway, thank you for replying.
maezme is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-20-2008, 10:15 PM   #4
nizwiz
Rookie
 
nizwiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 159
Well, I don't know if it can be accomplished easily using a cheat or something. At any rate, it can be done by hacking all the singleplayer .bsp files (there are about 25 of them). If you're up for the challenge (it certainly is a bit tedious), I can tell you how. How badly do you want to change the gravity, anyway?

EDIT:
If you were prepared to install a Perl interpreter, I could post a bunch of scripts that would allow you to edit the entities lump in a .bsp file (which is exactly what you need to change gravity) without much effort.

EDIT:
Well, here you go:
http://files.filefront.com/jk2bspLum.../fileinfo.html

Included is a shell script addgrav.cmd that does exactly what you want.
E.g., if you want to set the gravity in a bunch of sp maps to 700, extract the respective bsp files from assets0.pk3/maps into a new folder called maps, open a command prompt in that folder and enter the following
Code:
for %f in (*.bsp) do addgrav %f 700
(provided perl and addgrav.cmd are lying in your PATH).
Then pack the new folder up in a pk3.

Uhm, one more thing: if you're intending to try it out, please note that you do so at your own risk (read the disclaimer in the details section on the filefront page beforehand). I cannot be held responsible should the scripts prove defective and have unexpected side effects
(I've tried them out on all vanilla sp maps and they worked flawlessly, but I haven't thoroughly tested them, to be honest).

Last edited by nizwiz; 04-14-2008 at 05:03 PM.
nizwiz is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-15-2008, 08:29 AM   #5
maezme
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Thank you. I haven't tried it yet, but i will.
maezme is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Game Discussion > Jedi Outcast > PROBLEM WITH GRAVITY

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:38 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.