lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Stuck Loading New Game
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-03-2008, 03:48 PM   #1
Wave160
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Question Stuck Loading New Game

Hey all.

I am new to this forum and this game, so please bare with me.

Alright. First of all, I'll tell you my story.

I borrowed the game from a very good friend of mine. I installed the game and everything seems fine, no problems at all. I update, no problem there.
I run the game. I get to the menu. As I always do, I open the options. I set every graphical option to High Quality, since I know my computer *should* be able to handle that quality.
Since this is my first try at the game, and I have no savefiles, I press the 'New Game' button. Sure, the game goes into loading... and loading.... and loading... then it gets stuck at the end and my mouse appears, I can move it around while in the loading screen. I ofcourse think, that's funny and go watch some tv, since new games can take a while to load in the start. I come back, say, 10 minutes later and it still didnt work. So I alt-tab it says that something prevented the game from working. The first thing I think of is Windows Firewall, I disable it and try again. Same situation. Okay, Anti-Virus off, Anti-Spyware off, MSN Live Messenger off, everything that is not needed or has anything to do with what I'm doing right now is off(Corel Photo Downloader etc etc), Highest Quality, Lowest Quality. I try again. Nu-uh, still doesnt work.

So what am I surposed to do?
I searched Google, and I searched forums. I couldnt find a solution.
So this is my last hope, if not, I'll have to unstall the game.

This is my computer:

Vista 32-bit Home Basic
4gb RAM
nVidia Geforce 8800 GT
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q9450 @ 2.66GHz

The game:

Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic

(if you need more information on theese parts, please ask)

My computer is fairly new, and has the latest drivers and updates.

I wonder if a possible solution might work. If anyone could link a download for a save file in the very start of the game. As soon as you can save in the game. I would love that. Thanks in advance.

If you have any questions, please be so kind and ask

Thank you --

Last edited by Wave160; 08-03-2008 at 03:50 PM. Reason: fixed grammar and inserted more information
Wave160 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-03-2008, 09:26 PM   #2
Da_Man_2423
Forumite
 
Da_Man_2423's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 745
Current Game: NCAA Football 10
Did you try looking in the Vista thread about this? You said your computer had the latest drivers and updates...did you update the game itself to the latest patch?


Da_Man_2423 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-04-2008, 11:29 AM   #3
Wave160
Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
I'll go look in the Vista thread. And I have updated the game to the latest patch. Thanks.



...

Okay I looked in the Vista thread. Someone said I should go and look in the Kotor Config. I did it and scanned hardware.
This is what it says.

[OS]
Name=Win9x
Version=Windows 9X v6.0 build 6001 Service Pack 1
Service Pack=Service Pack 1
Status=Fail


[SwapFiles]
?:\pagefile.sys=0

[CPU]
CPUCount=1
CPUSpeed=2666
CPUFamily=6
CPUModel=7
CPUStepping=7
CPUVendor=Intel
CPUName=Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q9450 @ 2.66GHz
Status=Pass

[Memory]
RAM=2048
Status=Pass

[Disk Free Space]
C: (NTFS), UNICODE=533.74GB
Status=Pass

[CD-ROMs]
DriveLetters=D:\,E:\,F:\
Drives=

[Video]
Video Card Name=
Video Memory=2048
Desktop Resolution=0x0x0
DirectX=DirectX (9.0+) (4.09.00.0904)
OpenGL Version=2.1.2
OpenGL Vendor=NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL Renderer=GeForce 8800 GT/PCI/SSE2
NVidia Driver=(null)
Vid Card Status=Warning
Vid Card Driver Status=Fail
GL Status=Pass
DX Status=Pass


[Audio]
Sound Card Name=Primær lyddriver
Status=Pass



If anyone could tell me what this means?

I'm guessing the top one either means it cant(?) run on Vista or I have to update Vista. Please help on this matter.

The lower one is either becourse I need to update or was it becourse I had to download older drivers, becourse the game was so old?

I recall that my video card drivers are fully updated. But I'll take a second look on that matter. My video card is nVidia Geforce 8800 GT.

Thanks in advance.

..

The situation has been solved. It appears that was a new update to my video card. I updated it and now it should work fine.

Thanks.

Last edited by Wave160; 08-04-2008 at 11:57 AM. Reason: added progress in the current situation
Wave160 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > Stuck Loading New Game

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:10 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.