lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: HK-47's Eyes
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-05-2008, 10:04 PM   #1
Ascendant_Justice
Rookie
 
Ascendant_Justice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 140
Current Game: Half Life 2 pending
HK-47's Eyes

As far as I'm aware, HK's eyes have always had an orange glow that flickers when he talks. This is my first playthrough on a pc copy of KotOR, and I just got to Yuka Laka's droid shop. Upon seeing HK-47, I discovered there was no glow in his eyes. As a matter of fact, they were completely blank, like they were shut off. HK looks, well, dead without the eye glow. I have no idea why this is happening. I need to know how to fix this. I can't listen to Sand People translations from a dead-looking HK. Please help.

Here are some of my system specs as taken from KotOR's hardware scan All of the recommended system requirements for this game are met or exceeded by my pc. I'm only posting specs I think may be relevant. If you need more, just ask:

Windows XP version 5.1 build 2600 service pack 2
Intel Pentium 4, 2.8 GHz
512 MB RAM (only spec that doesn't exceed recommended)
ATI Radeon 9250, 256 MB
DirectX [9.0+] [4.09.00.0904] (fully up to date as far as I know? Definitely above the ?9.0b? that the game comes with.

Image for your reference:

http://img139.imageshack.us/img139/6875/hk47probtd0.jpg

I don't know if this feature is exclusive to the Xbox version, but, when I entered first person view on the Xbox, HK's vision would be red. However now, on the pc, it's just normally colored. Is this a problem too? It's not going to bug me at all, I'm just curious. I'm much more concerned about his eyes.
Ascendant_Justice is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-05-2008, 10:09 PM   #2
90SK
Senior Member
 
90SK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Eastern USA
Posts: 4,379
Is that an HK-47 skin you have installed? That might be the problem.

If not, sniff around the graphic settings of KotOR. There might be something that's turned off, though I don't really know what it'd be.

90SK is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-05-2008, 10:18 PM   #3
Ascendant_Justice
Rookie
 
Ascendant_Justice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 140
Current Game: Half Life 2 pending
I have no mods that directly affect HK in any way, as far as I know. I do, however, have many mods installed, about three or four of which modify the appearance.2da file. Even so, I'm not sure why something so specific as HK's eyes would be affected by them. Just in case, I'll list my mods that are installed:

Bastila Romance Enhancement
Bastila's Extra Dialog on Tatooine
Black Vulkar Nikto Reskins
Calo Nord Reskin
Carth Republic Uniform (plus)
Darth Malak Eyes Reskinned
Ebon Hawk Usable Supplies
Garrum and Tar'eelok Restoration
Helena-Bastila's Mother Changes
I Want to be a Jedi
Jedi Robe Model Mod
Korriban Crystal Cave
Korriban Workbench
Realistic Visual Effects (1.1 I think)
Robes for Korriban Sith Students
Male Head Pack (2.0 I think)
Sharina Fizark Restoration
Sherruk-Attacks with Lightsabers (...my god.)
Star Forge Revan's Robes
Taris Lower City Restoration
Turn T3 Into a Workbench
Yuthura Ban Reskin
Easy Swoop Racing

Thus far, I have seen no notable conflicting between all these mods. Most of them are enhancements and restorations, not game changes modifications. I used KMM to install the majority of them and I will deactivate those ones to see if it changes anything. I am reluctant to manually deactivate mods that aren't on my KMM, though, especially the few that edit the appearance.2da file.

UPDATE: Deactivating all my KMM mods seem to resolve nothing. Tinkering with my graphics settings also seem to resolve nothing.

Mods installed using KMM:

Korriban Academy Workbench
Bastila's Extra Dialog on Tatooine
Black Vulkar Nikto Reskins
Calo Nord Reskin
Darth Malak Eyes Reskinned
Easy Swoop Racing
Ebon Hawk Usable Supplies
Helena-Bastila's Mother Changes
I Want to be a Jedi
Jedi Robe Model Mod
Korriban Crystal Cave
Realistic Visual Effects
Sherruk-Attacks with Lightsabers
Taris Lower City Restoration
Turn T3 into a Workbench
Yuthura Ban Reskin
And, I THINK, Bastila Romance Enhancement and Garrum and Tar'eelok Restoration

I say "I THINK" because two of the mods in my KMM are not properly named (they're named "To Override" and "Modules"). I'm 90% those two are, indeed, BRE and Gar/eelok, though as both of those have files named the aforementioned names.

If that is correct, the only mods I don't have installed on my KMM are:

Carth Republic Uniform
Robes for Korriban Sith Students
Male Head Pack
Sharina Fizark Restoration
Star Forge Revan's Robes

END UPDATE

Last edited by Ascendant_Justice; 08-05-2008 at 10:43 PM.
Ascendant_Justice is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-10-2008, 12:31 AM   #4
haemonculus
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 16
In my recent playthrough I had some texture-related problems too
1. Same as you, HK had 'empty' eyes
2. Zaalbars Texture didn't seem to fit at his wrists and ankles
3. Asian male head #5 had 'hair-problems'
And guess what, I fixed all of them by extracting the texture-in-question via Kotor Tool and put them in the override, and the problems where gone.
Hope this was helpfull.
haemonculus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-10-2008, 12:58 AM   #5
Da_man
CHEATER (Apparently)
 
Da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sunny Arizona
Posts: 1,173
Current Game: Team Fortress 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by haemonculus View Post
In my recent playthrough I had some texture-related problems too
1. Same as you, HK had 'empty' eyes
2. Zaalbars Texture didn't seem to fit at his wrists and ankles
3. Asian male head #5 had 'hair-problems'
And guess what, I fixed all of them by extracting the texture-in-question via Kotor Tool and put them in the override, and the problems where gone.
Hope this was helpfull.
This method seems sound. I'd definitely give it a whirl. I can't think what would screw it up. The only things I can think of that would REMOTELY even touch HK's texture is male head pack. But that probably won't even effect it.


Last edited by Da_man; 10-10-2008 at 10:01 AM.
Da_man is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-10-2008, 01:04 AM   #6
Inyri
The Magical Malefactor
 
Inyri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,479
Current Game: Borderlands
Veteran Modder Forum Veteran Helpful! LFN Staff Member 
If he's talking about my mod, then a human male head pack would not affect a droid head.

Inyri is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-10-2008, 02:36 AM   #7
Christos K
Forumite
 
Christos K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 718
It might have to do with the lighting on Tatooine. Try going into a dark area maybe Kashyyk or the Krayt cave on Tatooine.


"It's the one that says Bad Mother ****er." - Jules Winnfield... Describing his wallet, Pulp Fiction.
Christos K is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-10-2008, 08:11 AM   #8
haemonculus
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 16
I guess it has something to do with his (and mine) ATI-chips. Seems like they have problems interacting with the packed textures somehow.
In fact the HK-eye-problem was there ever since I bought my current card.
But the method I posted is really easy to realise, and it worked perfectly.
haemonculus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-10-2010, 01:07 PM   #9
SithSharnos
Lurker
 
SithSharnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by haemonculus View Post
In my recent playthrough I had some texture-related problems too
1. Same as you, HK had 'empty' eyes
2. Zaalbars Texture didn't seem to fit at his wrists and ankles
3. Asian male head #5 had 'hair-problems'
And guess what, I fixed all of them by extracting the texture-in-question via Kotor Tool and put them in the override, and the problems where gone.
Hope this was helpfull.
What is "Texture-in-Question"? I didn't find anything like that in Kotor tools can you please guide me through this? as I have the same problem.
SithSharnos is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-11-2010, 07:03 PM   #10
Christos K
Forumite
 
Christos K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 718
The texture in question isn't an actual item or file.
Let's say you wanted male Asian head #5 head probably going to be a tga file, you would use the KotORTool to find that file and then load it into the override folder.


"It's the one that says Bad Mother ****er." - Jules Winnfield... Describing his wallet, Pulp Fiction.
Christos K is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-14-2010, 10:57 PM   #11
SithSharnos
Lurker
 
SithSharnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christos K View Post
The texture in question isn't an actual item or file.
Let's say you wanted male Asian head #5 head probably going to be a tga file, you would use the KotORTool to find that file and then load it into the override folder.
Soooo... how do I fix the HK eyes, because I don't really know that much about kotor tool >.>.

also um I seem to be having problems with my frame buffer effects on both Kotor and Kotor 2

Last edited by SithSharnos; 08-14-2010 at 11:09 PM. Reason: Grammar reasons, Another question
SithSharnos is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-24-2010, 01:27 AM   #12
MishraArtificer
Rookie
 
MishraArtificer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by SithSharnos View Post
Soooo... how do I fix the HK eyes, because I don't really know that much about kotor tool >.>.

also um I seem to be having problems with my frame buffer effects on both Kotor and Kotor 2
There. That is your problem.

I have run both KOTOR and TSL on my old Dell Latitude D600 with an ATI Mobility Radeon 9000 graphics chipset, and Frame Buffer Effects couldn't be enabled. It seems the card isn't designed for it, so Bioware and Obsidian won't even let you turn it on in-game. So along with HK's photoreceptors not glowing, my stealth field would look like a funky forcefield, and Force Speed wouldn't look stretched out and warped (not a problem for me).

I managed to get some of the Frame Buffer Effects to show up by going into swkotor.ini and enabling them manually. See if that works for you.
MishraArtificer is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Trouble Shooting > The Work Bench > HK-47's Eyes

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:11 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.