lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Laptop Power Problems...
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-15-2008, 04:52 PM   #1
Marius Fett
Frigged if I know!
 
Marius Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 3,379
Laptop Power Problems...

Argh, me again.

This time it's not about my mouse though.

My laptop refuses to charge..

I plug the charger into the socket, plug the charger into the laptop and nothing happens!

The blue "charging" light doesn't come on, the place where I plug the charger in doesn't light up, and the charging icon doesn't appear on screen..

Any idea what could be the problem?




Visit the new JediKnight.net!
Marius Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-15-2008, 05:00 PM   #2
ChAiNz.2da
Leave Everything to Me!
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,848
Is the wall socket still good? Flip / trip any breakers recently?

EDIT:
Your charging cord may have a short in it as well.. do you roll it up when not i use, or do you fold it?


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-15-2008, 05:04 PM   #3
General LiWar
Junior Member
 
General LiWar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: I'm gone...
Posts: 412
Also, is the battery in all the way. And how old is it? Sometimes the batteries just stop holding a charge.

but more than likely it's what ChAiNz said

General LiWar is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-15-2008, 05:09 PM   #4
Marius Fett
Frigged if I know!
 
Marius Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 3,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChAiNz
Is the wall socket still good? Flip / trip any breakers recently?

EDIT:
Your charging cord may have a short in it as well.. do you roll it up when not i use, or do you fold it?
There are other things plugged in there too, and they all work..

I just leave the cord where it is when i'm not using it, plus I normally have the laptop plugged in when using it anyway.

Quote:
Also, is the battery in all the way. And how old is it? Sometimes the batteries just stop holding a charge.
It's less than a year old.




Visit the new JediKnight.net!
Marius Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-15-2008, 05:13 PM   #5
ChAiNz.2da
Leave Everything to Me!
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,848
Not sure how useful this might be.. but it's worth a shot.

Try going through the steps and see how far you get. Might not be the battery, but the actual laptop jack connection being loose, but it couldn't hurt

http://www.daileyint.com/hmdpc/battery.htm


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-15-2008, 05:15 PM   #6
RC-1183
Junior Member
 
RC-1183's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Texas
Posts: 470
Current Game: Halo Reach, KotOR II
probably has a shorted cord like chainz said




Ordo-"If only there was a manuel on females.."
Kal- "If there is i never got my copy"
RC-1183 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-15-2008, 05:27 PM   #7
Marius Fett
Frigged if I know!
 
Marius Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 3,379
Ah, thanks ChAiNz, i'll have a look through that..

First though, i'll see if I can borrow my cousins charger, so as to make sure it's the charger not the battery.




Visit the new JediKnight.net!
Marius Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-16-2008, 02:00 AM   #8
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
not having much luck recently Marius! Is this laptop old?

Definitely give an alternate power supply a try. Then an alternate battery. Theyd be the cheapest to replace. Does your lappie work without a battery in it, just plugged into the wall?? If you'e tried all of the above and determined that its the internal circuit that is messed up, that is definitely the scenario you dont want !

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-16-2008, 11:55 AM   #9
Marius Fett
Frigged if I know!
 
Marius Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 3,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astro
not having much luck recently Marius!
Is this laptop old?[/QUOTE]

Quote:
Is this laptop old?
No, I just got it Christmas 2007.

I've tried several wall sockets now and it STILL won't work.




Visit the new JediKnight.net!

Last edited by Marius Fett; 08-16-2008 at 05:40 PM.
Marius Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-17-2008, 12:28 AM   #10
jediTJrocks
Rookie
 
jediTJrocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: look behind you
Posts: 21
it might be the thing on the laptop where you plug it in
jediTJrocks is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-17-2008, 01:25 AM   #11
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marius Fett View Post
No, I just got it Christmas 2007.

I've tried several wall sockets now and it STILL won't work.
If its looking like the lappie socket itself is buggered, its lucky its still under warranty. I wouldnt mess with such a potentially disastrous problem... take it back and get it fixed/replaced

just take all your pron important stuff off first.

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-19-2008, 03:37 PM   #12
Marius Fett
Frigged if I know!
 
Marius Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 3,379
Uh, the battery is on like 4% so I won't be able to back much up..

All the stuff I do need though is on an external HD so...

I'll take it to the store tommorow.




Visit the new JediKnight.net!
Marius Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-19-2008, 03:41 PM   #13
ChAiNz.2da
Leave Everything to Me!
 
ChAiNz.2da's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tennessee (USA)
Posts: 6,848
Your wall plugs aren't like mine are they?

I have to flip a wall switch for the top plug(s) to work (most apts./condos have something like this wired). Or houses too, if the electrician was feeling froggy


"Eagles May Soar, But Weasels Don't Get Sucked Into Jet Engines"


| Mods (FF) (DS) | Folding | SWK.com | FB: (LF) (Me) | Steam | The Herd |
ChAiNz.2da is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-19-2008, 04:46 PM   #14
Marius Fett
Frigged if I know!
 
Marius Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 3,379
Nope, all the sockets work normally.

Quote:
I have to flip a wall switch for the top plug(s) to work (most apts./condos have something like this wired). Or houses too, if the electrician was feeling froggy
Never heard of anything like that before.

Strange..

I REALLY hope that I can get this fixed in the shop tomorrow...




Visit the new JediKnight.net!
Marius Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Community Discussion > General LFNetwork Forums > General Tech Discussion > Laptop Power Problems...

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:10 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.