lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Wii want Wi-Fi!!!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 09-02-2008, 07:27 PM   #1
Negative Sun
Death to all but metal!
 
Negative Sun's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tropical Scotland
Posts: 2,683
Current Game: NWN
Forum Veteran Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
Wii want Wi-Fi!!!

So I've been trying to get my Wii connected to my Wireless router, but so far it's not gone too smoothly...after some digging, I've found this page, and I tried to apply their solution of the MAC filtering...I switched it to "on" on my router, but pretty soon after, my desktop (which is wirelessly connected) lost connection to the router, and so did all my other devices...So because I couldn't get back into the router settings wirlessly, I had to get the 'ol ethernet cable out to plug my laptop into the router and fix the settings back...

But my question is this:
The above site mentions this:"If MAC filtering is turned on, you will need to enter the Wii console's MAC Address into one of the available fields."

But I'm thinking I'm gonna have to do that for all my other devices as well, or am I wrong here? Because surely that's what's messed up the connection for my PC and such...

I'm just asking in case there's an easier solution I've overlooked or something.

My Wii is recognizing my router as an access point, and I can enter my WEP-Key, it just seems to have problems connecting to the router after that, so it generated an error code which led my to that page on the Nintendo support site.

ANy help would be welcome



"I killed a man cause he killed my goat."
Negative Sun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-02-2008, 08:51 PM   #2
Det. Bart Lasiter
obama.png
 
Det. Bart Lasiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: `(.)~
Posts: 7,997
Current Game: all
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Negative Sun View Post
But my question is this:
The above site mentions this:"If MAC filtering is turned on, you will need to enter the Wii console's MAC Address into one of the available fields."

But I'm thinking I'm gonna have to do that for all my other devices as well, or am I wrong here? Because surely that's what's messed up the connection for my PC and such...
That's kinda the whole idea of MAC filtering... you specify which devices can connect based on their MAC address.



"No, Mama. You can bet your sweet ass and half a titty whoever put that hit on you already got the cops in their back pocket." ~Black Dynamite
Det. Bart Lasiter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-03-2008, 12:47 AM   #3
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
I use an app that does a great job of optimising router settings and creating device profiles.. I use wifi via tablet pc and a ds. It integrates perfectly with my wired network devices(gaming pc, htpc, media server) and Ive had to zero extra config to get them on. My sister even can get onto my network wither her mac with zero issues. Folder and print sharing is a breeze.

Give it a go negsun, tis free... (shareware) www.networkmagic.com Its my number one killer app of all time



mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-03-2008, 04:22 PM   #4
Negative Sun
Death to all but metal!
 
Negative Sun's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tropical Scotland
Posts: 2,683
Current Game: NWN
Forum Veteran Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmac7142 View Post
That's kinda the whole idea of MAC filtering... you specify which devices can connect based on their MAC address.
Sorry, didn't quite sink in with me but it is quite obvious lolz, thanks...

@ Astro:
I've got Network Magic, I've used it to get a hold of all the MAC addresses my devices use to connect, so I'll try to enable MAC filtering again to see what happens.

EDIT:
YESSS!!! That did the trick...



"I killed a man cause he killed my goat."

Last edited by Negative Sun; 09-03-2008 at 04:55 PM.
Negative Sun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 09-06-2008, 10:10 PM   #5
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
lolz....another happy camper

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Community Discussion > General LFNetwork Forums > General Tech Discussion > Wii want Wi-Fi!!!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:52 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.