lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Help w/shaders
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-09-2008, 05:14 AM   #1
Darth Essence
Rookie
 
Darth Essence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Latvia
Posts: 60
Help w/shaders

Hello, I have a problem with them shaders, as you might have understood by the title. I made a saber, I made saber_spec and saber_glow *.tga's copied the original saber shader in weapons.shader, but nothing happens. In game @ saber choose menu you can see how nicely the original sabers reflect the light as they spin, but my saber looks plain, looks like nothing. What should I do? I have never worked with shaders and I have a pretty smaal knowledge and understandig of them. Perhaps the _spec and _glow maps have to be made in a specific way with special settings or smthn? .. Help ?!


Re-Installing your computer without back-up is not a good idea ...
Darth Essence is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-09-2008, 05:42 PM   #2
Angelis
Lurker
 
Angelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: mich
Posts: 4
when the original , your saber when it was made was shaders applied to it or assign after it was done, because if it was not then it will not work, only when the model is made with shaders then you can assign any type of shaders to it
Angelis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-10-2008, 09:25 AM   #3
Darth Essence
Rookie
 
Darth Essence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Latvia
Posts: 60
ūhkei ... so .. I didn't apply them to the model when I made it. So, basically, all I have to do is to recompile the model with _spec.tga and _glow.tga assigned respectively to Specular and Glow maps, right? Nice, I'll try it.


Re-Installing your computer without back-up is not a good idea ...
Darth Essence is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-10-2008, 07:47 PM   #4
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,073
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Usually you just pick a shader type that you like and change the path within the .shader file. Usually i'd copy paste the code that i need into a new file and change paths and filenames. In some cases you'll need specular maps that are relevant to your model (meaning you have to create them specifically for each model).

Of course it all depends on the look you are trying to achieve. Often times we'd use a simple reflective shader by pluging a reflection map from the game, to simulate a bit of reflection from the surface.

Also it might help to see what you put into the .shader file.

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-11-2008, 01:03 PM   #5
Darth Essence
Rookie
 
Darth Essence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Latvia
Posts: 60
Ok, so basically I got this:

//The shader//
models/weapons2/saber_10/saber_10
{
{
map models/weapons2/saber_10/saber_10
rgbGen lightingDiffuse
}
{
map models/weapons2/saber_10/saber_10_spec
blendFunc GL_SRC_ALPHA GL_ONE
detail
alphaGen lightingSpecular
}
}
//The Diffuse map//

24-bit TGA
http://essence.mine.nu/saber_10.jpg

//The Specular map//

24-bit TGA
http://essence.mine.nu/saber_10_spec.jpg

--------------------------
The map has been asigned to specular map at 100% in the model before exporting to md3 (3DS Max 4.2).
I want to make it so that the metal parts reflect the light when they spin in the saber selection menu, as the original sabers do.


Re-Installing your computer without back-up is not a good idea ...

Last edited by Darth Essence; 11-11-2008 at 01:52 PM.
Darth Essence is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-11-2008, 06:41 PM   #6
Psyk0Sith
3D Tech Support
 
Psyk0Sith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Adanac
Posts: 2,073
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Odd, that looks about right. Did you get any error messages in the game console when trying to use the saber?

The quickest way to troubleshoot is usually loading the shader in shadereditor (shadered2.exe) which is part of the SDK, see if any errors come up.

Psyk0Sith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-12-2008, 10:19 AM   #7
Darth Essence
Rookie
 
Darth Essence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Latvia
Posts: 60
No errors in game showed up
ShaderEd shows ap a nolightmap error, but original sabers have it too.
I checked No Lightmap flag, but nothing changed.
ShaderEdit stinks!

Is there a possibility that it's a hardware failure of some kind, 'cause sometimes it just seems that my PC simply hates me - does everything except what I need it to do, etc.


Re-Installing your computer without back-up is not a good idea ...
Darth Essence is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-12-2008, 09:46 PM   #8
Angelis
Lurker
 
Angelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: mich
Posts: 4
not if your other sabers show up with the shaders on them! But looking at your shader there it look's good to me , the only thing that might be the trouble as far as I can see is the folder and the texture are the same name and maybe causing the shader to look at it wrong but I doubt that , , what I think it is , you have another saber with the same name as your file and the shader is looking there and not showing up on yours, the game shader is over taking your shader or something of that nature, try renaming yours and the shader and I'll bet that will solve your problem!

Last edited by Angelis; 11-12-2008 at 10:15 PM.
Angelis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > JediKnight Series > Editing Central > JA Skinning > Help w/shaders

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:48 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.