lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Tell me: The difference between 720p, 1080p, abc, cnn, etc
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-08-2008, 11:48 AM   #1
swphreak
My cabbages!!!
 
swphreak's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,512
10 year veteran! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Tell me: The difference between 720p, 1080p, abc, cnn, etc

So I'm lookin' to upgrade to a 16:9 ratio TV. I took a gander at the local store, and I saw them in 720p and 1080p flavors. The only difference I know between the two is a couple of hundred bucks.


Any HD lovers want to tell me what the flip this stuff means?
swphreak is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-08-2008, 12:02 PM   #2
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
720p is 1366(?)x720 resolution.

1080p is 1920x1080 resolution, also known as "true HD."

You'll want the latter.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-08-2008, 12:03 PM   #3
jrrtoken
Senior Member
 
jrrtoken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,995
Basically, it's the resolution. 720p means that this TV has a resolution of 1280 by 720 pixels. The -p suffix means that it allows progressive scan, which is essentially non-interlaced picture, i.e., all the lines are drawn in sequence.

1080p has a resolution of 1980 by 1080 pixels, therefore, it has a higher resolution than 720p, but it too allows progressive scan.

Most standard tube TVs these days are 480i, which means that it has a resolution of 720 by 480 pixels, and the -i suffix means that it's interlaced.

Now, on actually choosing the TV, if you own a Blu-Ray player, then you probably want to go for the one with 1080p, in order to get the full experience. Make sure that the TV has an HDMI port, since that's the only connection allows fully uncompressed audio and video.

If you don't have a Blu-Ray player, but if you have HDTV service, then you could be allowed to get a resolution of 1980 by 1080, but due to bandwidth sizes, it will have to be interlaced and not in progressive scan. However, if you get the 720p TV, then you can get signals at 1280 by 720 with progressive scan.

So really, it comes down to personal preference. Do you want a TV with a more detailed picture but with interlaced lines, or do you want a slightly lower resolution but without lines?

Some additional reading:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High-definition_television
jrrtoken is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-14-2008, 10:36 AM   #4
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
lolz... I totally missed this

...and Phreak lives!! wher ya been mang

PastramiX has given you a nice concise version and saved you from a 2 page tirade from resident pixel junkie astro

Heres some longstoryshort points:
*TV broadcasts at various interlaced resolutions. Services that advertise they are broadcasting in HD usually means its 720i. Some services even get to 1080i. As PastramiX indicated - 'i' means interlaced, which is basically slicing the image into very fine lines up to save broadcast bandwidth. Most of the time, your eye cant tell.

*a bluray player supports 1080p, but your display needs to be 1080p ready and HDMI/HDCP compliant.

*PC GPUs generally dont display at interlaced resolutions, unless you really want them to Interlace lines can be removed from TV etc(displayed via pc) with some graphics cards that have specialised mpeg2 decoders working in the background, such as the nvidia purevideo or cyberlink powerdvd decoders. Starting in the nvidia 8 series, some of their cards actually have an onboard processor dedicated to that, which reduces the burden on your CPU. Anyway, unles you have a HTPC, that stuff is likely to be irrelevant, so I wont rabbit on any further about it [/htpc nut]

Hence - with regards to your choice. If you plan on getting bluray/ps3 especially, go with 1080p. If its just TV, I daresay you'll have just as fun a time with a 720p TV. Heck, even I havent upgraded mt main htpc's display from 720p simply because most of our channels are at 720i or less

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat

Last edited by Astrotoy7; 11-14-2008 at 10:48 AM.
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-14-2008, 05:16 PM   #5
Lynk Former
internet hate machine
 
Lynk Former's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Australia
Posts: 18,992
10 year veteran! The Walking Carpets Guild Officer Imperialist Meatbags Guild Officer LF Jester 
Simple and short answer:

720p and 1080p are different resolutions. 1080p is higher resolution than 720p.
It doesn't really matter which you get if you don't really care that much, however if you're really into High Definition media, the 1080p TVs are better to get.

Lynk Former is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-15-2008, 09:29 AM   #6
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
lolz, I think phreak will surely understand what it is now that we have given him the same answer 4 times

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-15-2008, 10:48 PM   #7
urluckyday
Up all night to get lucky
 
urluckyday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Beautiful USA
Posts: 2,761
Current Game: Red Orchestra 2
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran 
I don't know if it's been said b/c i can't understand all your technical terms, but I was under the impression that "i" resolutions were different from the "p" resolutions because the "i" rezs didn't refresh their pixels as often as the "p" rezs...just what I thought...



If I die today, I'm happy how my life turned out
urluckyday is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-15-2008, 11:16 PM   #8
Lynk Former
internet hate machine
 
Lynk Former's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Australia
Posts: 18,992
10 year veteran! The Walking Carpets Guild Officer Imperialist Meatbags Guild Officer LF Jester 
I'll try to give you a straight forward answer that won't get too technical...

i = interlaced scan
p = progressive scan

Interlaced was how things used to be done on older TVs. Basically every horizontal even line of a frame is displayed then every odd line is displayed and then every even line on the next frame is displayed to bring you a moving image, though it also creates a flicker effect in the picture. This method was used because the technology back in the ye olden days of TV wasn't good enough to display progressive and also because it was easier to broadcast TV signals if they were interlaced.

Progressive on the other hand shows an entire frame at a time instead but requires more bandwidth and as a result creates a sharper picture that seems more solid and doesn't flicker like interlaced can. Digital broadcasting allows this and we have much better technology now to be able to support progressive scan.



Astro or someone else can fill you in on more of the details if they want.

Lynk Former is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-15-2008, 11:23 PM   #9
urluckyday
Up all night to get lucky
 
urluckyday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Beautiful USA
Posts: 2,761
Current Game: Red Orchestra 2
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran 
There we go...lol...tell me the "dummies" version and I'll understand it!



If I die today, I'm happy how my life turned out
urluckyday is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-15-2008, 11:28 PM   #10
jrrtoken
Senior Member
 
jrrtoken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,995
A single frame of animation; the one on the left is interlaced, the one on the right isn't. It's not the best example, since it's different with actual animation, but you get it.
Show spoiler

EDIT: Here's a better one.
Show spoiler
jrrtoken is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-16-2008, 10:20 AM   #11
Negative Sun
Death to all but metal!
 
Negative Sun's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tropical Scotland
Posts: 2,683
Current Game: NWN
Forum Veteran Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
Basically:

1080p > Everything else!

As long as you have an input that supports it you'll benefit from all the glorious pixels on your screen, pretty!



"I killed a man cause he killed my goat."
Negative Sun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-16-2008, 10:32 AM   #12
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
nice illustrations PastramiX That should do the trick.

Some more info: Most TV broadcasts(all that Ive come across definitely) are interlaced.

1080p is best left for bluray or HD gaming, be it on console or pc. If youre really not going to use it in either of those contexts, you shouldnt bother with a 1080p display - despite what the slick salespersons tell you

Quote:
Originally Posted by NegSun
1080p > Everything else!
ahem. c'mon negsun you know I cant leave that there without response



1600p>1080p For you nerdy types, aka Wide Quad Extended Graphics Array(WQXGA) of course 4K2K and SHV(super hi vision) have been developed, but they are far from being supported by pc graphics cards Playing Jade Empire, NWN2 and Mass Effect in 1600p is droolworthy

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat

Last edited by Astrotoy7; 11-16-2008 at 10:44 AM.
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-16-2008, 12:33 PM   #13
jrrtoken
Senior Member
 
jrrtoken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,995
Hehe, can't wait 'til UHD TVs come out. 4320p, ftw!
jrrtoken is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-17-2008, 02:42 AM   #14
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by PastramiX View Post
Hehe, can't wait 'til UHD TVs come out. 4320p, ftw!
As fantastic as the specs are - Super HiVision (SHV) is quiet a distance away from making it into the average home and local e-tailer A SHV camera looks like the frickin robot from Lost In Space, whereas 1080p camera fits in your palm nowdays...

and WTF is that wiki author on The word UHD seems to get bandied around alot these days. SHV and 4k2k need to stay with their experimental/spec names - It is only protocol to assign it HD grade moniker once it is a deployed market and broadcast standard.

Heck, they havent even finalised the codec theyre going to use in SHV - which when it comes to broadcast standards, is a *big* deal. The scuttlebut is Dirac needs to be tweaked from its current MPEG base to a more efficient H.264 model. This explains why the BBC is still scratching its head on Dirac.

Dirac is also a crap name for a codec [/IMO] Sounds like the name of a slavic cab driver...

Id love to see SHV on TV and in games, but people are just starting to cotton onto 1080 HD.

Prediction: 2015 to finalise the broadcast standard, 2020 for mass deployment rollout. By which time MegaSuperAwesomeDefinition will be out

I dont see a pc GPU going anyhwere near 4k2k let alone SHV anytime soon. The top of the line GPUs are still getting their a$$es kicked in 1600p... and devs are only recently starting to think about designing games optimised for HD.

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-17-2008, 03:39 AM   #15
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrotoy7 View Post
Prediction: 2015 to finalise the broadcast standard, 2020 for mass deployment rollout. By which time HoloVision will be out
Fixed.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-17-2008, 08:32 AM   #16
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
man, I hope so !

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-19-2008, 07:15 PM   #17
Negative Sun
Death to all but metal!
 
Negative Sun's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tropical Scotland
Posts: 2,683
Current Game: NWN
Forum Veteran Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astrotoy7 View Post
nice illustrations PastramiX That should do the trick.

Some more info: Most TV broadcasts(all that Ive come across definitely) are interlaced.

1080p is best left for bluray or HD gaming, be it on console or pc. If youre really not going to use it in either of those contexts, you shouldnt bother with a 1080p display - despite what the slick salespersons tell you



ahem. c'mon negsun you know I cant leave that there without response



1600p>1080p For you nerdy types, aka Wide Quad Extended Graphics Array(WQXGA) of course 4K2K and SHV(super hi vision) have been developed, but they are far from being supported by pc graphics cards Playing Jade Empire, NWN2 and Mass Effect in 1600p is droolworthy

mtfbwya
But!!!

You can't watch your newest blockbuster on a 1600p player yet now can you?



"I killed a man cause he killed my goat."
Negative Sun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-20-2008, 07:37 PM   #18
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Negative Sun View Post
But!!!

You can't watch your newest blockbuster on a 1600p player yet now can you?
cmon negsun, no one that gets a 1600p monitor has movies in mind. I have a 3m diagonal projector for the movie biz(720p), 1600p was, and always is for pc/gaming and mega screen estate for multi window video apps I fool with.

In fact, when you run windows media center at 1600p it gives you a high rez warning

if your GPU can hack it, games at 1600p are just too pretty. Its hard to explain how pretty until you actually see it.

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-20-2008, 07:43 PM   #19
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Too bad you need Tri-SLI GTX280's for any modern game to run faster than a slideshow at that res.

The above statement is not entirely accurate, of course.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-20-2008, 08:20 PM   #20
Negative Sun
Death to all but metal!
 
Negative Sun's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tropical Scotland
Posts: 2,683
Current Game: NWN
Forum Veteran Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
But!!!

Can it play Crysis???



"I killed a man cause he killed my goat."
Negative Sun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-20-2008, 08:24 PM   #21
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
At 1600p? With Tri-SLIed GTX280's you would probably get ~40FPS, which is definitely playable, but why would anyone spend that kind of cash just to play one over-rated game?


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-21-2008, 10:27 AM   #22
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
the games I mentioned(Mass Effect, NWN2) are doable at 1600p if you fiddle with settings and drops some glows, particle effects etc, and thats on my 8800GTS 640Mb.

Having AA on high at 1600p is a joke, the lines are so fine they cant look jagged if they tried

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-21-2008, 05:02 PM   #23
Negative Sun
Death to all but metal!
 
Negative Sun's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tropical Scotland
Posts: 2,683
Current Game: NWN
Forum Veteran Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qliveur View Post
At 1600p? With Tri-SLIed GTX280's you would probably get ~40FPS, which is definitely playable, but why would anyone spend that kind of cash just to play one over-rated game?
That was kind of a rhetorical question Q



"I killed a man cause he killed my goat."
Negative Sun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2008, 03:09 PM   #24
swphreak
My cabbages!!!
 
swphreak's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,512
10 year veteran! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
Ended up getting a LG brand 42" 720p LCD HDTV. Was actually only looking for the 37" that was on sale, but some guy bought the last one minutes before me. A manager offered me a 42" for only $99 more. Got a 42" for the price of a 37".


Let's see, I have: XBox 360, DVD player, A/B box for PS2/Wii, DVR, and PC (dualview mode) hooked up.

I love having my PC hooked up. I set it up for dualview, and now I can watch stuff stored on my hard drive on the big screen. I even hooked up the sound from the PC.
swphreak is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-23-2008, 10:48 PM   #25
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
great stuff phreakski - 42" is the "just right" size for most rooms. Also, for your 360/ps2/wii, consider getting component output cables(the red/green/blue ones) as they give superior image quality to the standard composite cables(yellow, red white)

also a suggestion from your ole buddy astro - if you arent doing so already >> for your pc:
if youre using vista (home prem or ulti), consider using the windows media center interface for your vids. You could even get a usb or internal tv tuner and have an extra tv recorder(I notice you already have a DVR). A WMC remote completes the experience. You'll forget your pc is a pc when its a htpc Great for organising music and video collection too. There are many other third party apps for everything from internet tv to news, weather, mail readers, global/online photo sorting etc

if you still use xp, you can use the Osource alternative called mediaportal. Lemme know if you need any more info. Im a htpc ninja master

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat

Last edited by Astrotoy7; 11-23-2008 at 11:13 PM.
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2008, 01:20 AM   #26
swphreak
My cabbages!!!
 
swphreak's Avatar
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,512
10 year veteran! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member Forum Veteran 
That sounded like a lot of effort. I'll just stick with being lazy and just open the videos in the next screen.

Also, my 360 came with a component/composite combo thing. Just forgot to flip the AV/HD switch on the cable. I got the 360 running at 720p, and I think I notice a little bit difference. Not bothering with PS2/Wii though.
swphreak is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2008, 09:12 AM   #27
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by StarWarsPhreak View Post
That sounded like a lot of effort. I'll just stick with being lazy and just open the videos in the next screen..
lol...I guess that'll work just as well if your just watching vids incidentally

When you have over 2TB of networked content, opening it up on WMP and fullscreenin' it isnt as efficient



mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2008, 09:59 AM   #28
Lynk Former
internet hate machine
 
Lynk Former's Avatar
 
Status: Administrator
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Australia
Posts: 18,992
10 year veteran! The Walking Carpets Guild Officer Imperialist Meatbags Guild Officer LF Jester 
Quote:
Originally Posted by StarWarsPhreak View Post
Not bothering with PS2/Wii though.
Actually, you should get a component cable for your PS2 and Wii. It really does make a world of difference, especially on a HDTV.

Lynk Former is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-24-2008, 04:13 PM   #29
Negative Sun
Death to all but metal!
 
Negative Sun's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tropical Scotland
Posts: 2,683
Current Game: NWN
Forum Veteran Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
Quote:
Originally Posted by StarWarsPhreak View Post
That sounded like a lot of effort.
Everything Astro says takes a lot of effort



"I killed a man cause he killed my goat."
Negative Sun is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-10-2008, 09:09 AM   #30
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Negative Sun View Post
Everything Astro says takes a lot of effort
nevermind me...Im getting old...each day is a blessing

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Community Discussion > General LFNetwork Forums > General Tech Discussion > Tell me: The difference between 720p, 1080p, abc, cnn, etc

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:08 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.