lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Fallout 3 Performance.
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 11-14-2008, 11:30 PM   #1
urluckyday
Up all night to get lucky
 
urluckyday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Beautiful USA
Posts: 2,760
Current Game: Red Orchestra 2
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran 
Question Fallout 3 Performance.

Hey guys,

I'm considering getting Fallout 3 for the PC or Xbox 360. I don't care whether one is better than the other in terms of gameplay, but I really need to know how it will perform on my machine.

Here are the specs:

Vista Home Premium
Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.2 ghz
2 Gb Ram
ATI Mobility HD 2600 PCI-E @ 512 Mb
and plenty of HD space.

Anyone have any idea how well it will perform on my machine?
Thanks much!



If I die today, I'm happy how my life turned out
urluckyday is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-15-2008, 05:42 AM   #2
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,641
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
i actually get better performance with Fallout 3 than i do with Oblivion. the crazy thing is that Fallout 3 looks much better than Oblivion, too. if you can run Oblivion reasonably well, there's no reason why Fallout 3 wouldn't run well on yours.

i don't know what my FPS average is, but the game seems to run at a more than reasonable 45-55 FPS. my specs:

AMD AthlonX2 4600
2GB DDR2-800
Radeon 4850 1GB
Creative Labs X-Fi Gamer
Vista Ultimate SP1 x64

game settings: Ultra Detail, 1900x1080, 8x AF, AA disabled


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-15-2008, 07:04 AM   #3
jrrtoken
Senior Member
 
jrrtoken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,995
Well, I know that F3 will run on your computer, judging by your graphics card. It might run at a somewhat mediocre framerate, though. I have a Radeon HD 2400 with 256MB of video RAM, and it will probably handle F3 at only the lowest graphics settings. Seeing as your card has twice the RAM, it'll probably perform better than mine, even though yours is a small upgrade from my 2400. I also have a 2.8 GHz Pentium 4 HT, and seeing as your processor is a dual core, it will also probably outperform my computer. I also have the same amount of system RAM as you, too.
jrrtoken is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-15-2008, 10:07 AM   #4
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
I think your CPU + GPU are the weak(er) link there... that being said, you havent mentioned the resolution you intend to play at (why do people always do that!)

in any event - best way to tell is by checking F3s rec-specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by the internets
Minimum System Requirements:
Windows XP/Vista
1GB System RAM (XP)/ 2GB System RAM (Vista)
2.4 Ghz Intel Pentium 4 or equivalent processor
Direct X 9.0c compliant video card with 256MB RAM (NVIDIA 6800 or better/ATI X850 or better)

Recommended System Requirements:
Intel Core 2 Duo processor
2 GB System RAM
Direct X 9.0c compliant video card with 512MB RAM (NVIDIA 8800 series, ATI 3800 series)
Hence, based on that, I'd say you could get a great fps on something like 1280x1024, anything above that - you'd need to try and see.

btw, I wouldnt take too much stock in 'minimum' requirements - thats the bare-a$$ minimum to get a game on screen at 800x600.

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-15-2008, 09:45 PM   #5
urluckyday
Up all night to get lucky
 
urluckyday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Beautiful USA
Posts: 2,760
Current Game: Red Orchestra 2
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran 
Well the highest my display is 1280 x 800, so would you think that it'd perform well at that rez?
(sorry astro...don't hurt me for not including it originally)
Thanks!



If I die today, I'm happy how my life turned out
urluckyday is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-15-2008, 11:29 PM   #6
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,641
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
it should work rather well at almost any resolution that your system is capable of. the main reason is that you have a Core 2 CPU which seems to consistantly provide a good 10-20 average FPS more than even the top Phenom X4's from AMD, and it doesn't seem to matter if its a low end Core 2 from two years ago or a brand new Nehalem. combine that with a relatively low max resolution, and scaling back your resolution settings probably isn't going to help much performance wise.

the Radeon might hold you back a bit, but you should be able to run the game at High settings with no AA and 4x AF. my guess is that you'd get roughly 30-45 FPS average. you could probably tweak the settings a bit if you need some more frames, but keep in mind that there isn't one magic setting that seems to affect performance with Fallout 3.


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 11-15-2008, 11:30 PM   #7
urluckyday
Up all night to get lucky
 
urluckyday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Beautiful USA
Posts: 2,760
Current Game: Red Orchestra 2
10 year veteran! Forum Veteran 
Gotcha, thanks for the help guys. I'll letchya know when I do eventually get it!



If I die today, I'm happy how my life turned out
urluckyday is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Community Discussion > General LFNetwork Forums > General Tech Discussion > Fallout 3 Performance.

Tags
fallout 3

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:56 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.