lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Dialog File(s) Not working in KOTOR Tool
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-02-2008, 11:18 AM   #1
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
Dialog File(s) Not working in KOTOR Tool

My problem is that after I create a dialog file (for K1) and save it the override folder as well as close the dialog window; I can't reopen it without building the file into an ERF file. Otherwise I just get an error saying something about an arithmetic flaw.

Is there anyway I can reopen just by opening the Conversation window and then open the file.
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-02-2008, 12:47 PM   #2
Star Admiral
N7 Commando
 
Star Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Omega 4 Relay
Posts: 656
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
Unfortunately, the dialog editor in KT is currently incompatible with either K1 or K2. You'll need to use the excellent DLG Editor by tk102 to do the dialog editing. Look under the Dialog/Sound Editing category.

- Star Admiral
Star Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-02-2008, 09:46 PM   #3
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
KotOR Tools dialog editor is made for Kotor's dialog files it works fine for those, but for TSL's dialogs which have multiple new fields that K1's don't you need to use tk102's DLG Edit.


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-03-2008, 08:43 AM   #4
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
Well that's what I've been doing but just enjoy the interface of the KOTOR Tool's Conversation Editor more than the tk102's DLG Editor. But I have been greatly using both.
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-03-2008, 02:20 PM   #5
Star Admiral
N7 Commando
 
Star Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Omega 4 Relay
Posts: 656
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
Do you get the same arithmetic error when you open it with the DLG Editor, or is it only with KT's Conversation editor?

- Star Admiral
Star Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2008, 09:44 AM   #6
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
Just KT's Conversation Editor
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-04-2008, 03:19 PM   #7
Star Admiral
N7 Commando
 
Star Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Omega 4 Relay
Posts: 656
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
Got me there. Well, if you can use the DLG Editor to make it work and it does not crash the game, then I guess it would be best to just use the DLG Editor. One more question, does this happen with only one file, or with all dialog files that you attempt to open with KT's Conversation Editor?

- Star Admiral
Star Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-05-2008, 09:23 AM   #8
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
This happens to all dialog files that are outside of KOTOR Tool.

For example, if I make a dialog file and save it to the desktop, close the conversation editor, reopen the conversation editor, and the try to open the dialog file, it will not work. I get the arithmetic error.

If I build the same dialog file into and ERF file, close KOTOR Tool, open it back up locate the module in the ERF section, and open the dialog file from there, it will work.
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-05-2008, 10:30 AM   #9
tk102
Well past expiration date
 
tk102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,766
Current Game: Dragon Age: Origins
Forum Veteran Helpful! Notable contributor 
Sorry DLGEditor isn't pretty (and I'm the first to agree), but it is one of the more reliable tools IMO. At least I'd say there aren't many complaints regarding it in my inbox.


tk102 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2008, 08:36 AM   #10
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
I can use it sufficiently, I was just curious if I could bring the DLG files back into KT because I like KT's interface better.
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-08-2008, 10:09 PM   #11
RedHawke
Shadow Lord Of The Sith™
 
RedHawke's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stormreach CA.
Posts: 9,184
Current Game: DDO, Stormreach
Quote:
Originally Posted by harIII View Post
I can use it sufficiently, I was just curious if I could bring the DLG files back into KT because I like KT's interface better.
KotOR Tool's Dialog Editor only works on KotOR I dialog files only...

You can open any file you have previously extracted with KT, just use the menus at the top... File / Open GFF Files... and browse to the file in question, KT should open up the appropriate editor for the file you open, if not it will open in a GFF Editor.


"Beware the form-fitting black armor-clad Drow hottie with twin Mineral II Greensteel Khopeshes!"
"Liella d'Orien says, '"You're the fool, Devil. -- Witness the power of this fully ARMED and OPERATIONAL Titan!"'"
----------------------------------------------------------------------
RedHawke is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-09-2008, 10:32 AM   #12
harIII
Veteran
 
harIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 983
Helpful! 
Thanks, I will try this.
harIII is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > T3-M4's Astromech Droid Center > Dialog File(s) Not working in KOTOR Tool

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:16 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.