lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: [TSL] Slight bug in the game
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 12-13-2008, 02:40 PM   #1
Cyberevan
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 15
[TSL] Slight bug in the game

I've been playing the game for sometime now. I have it on XBOX and I got it for PC just for the TSLRP and other mods. One big bug that is consistent throughout my game is that it skips through dialogue whenever I talk to NPCs. The game is playable and I've played it so many times that I could recite dialogue from memory, but the game is sort of ruined for me with this problem. Any help?

P.S. I am waiting to see if this is just an arbitrary bug or mods are causing it. I have to find the names so I'll post them later.
Cyberevan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-13-2008, 03:52 PM   #2
Star Admiral
N7 Commando
 
Star Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Omega 4 Relay
Posts: 656
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
You mean that none of the dialog is ever spoken? That's unusual. Haven't heard that kind of a problem before. Unless you have a mod that alters all the dialog files, this shouldn't happen. Are all the sound files present in the StreamVoice folder of your main TSL directory?

- Star Admiral
Star Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-13-2008, 05:06 PM   #3
Cyberevan
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 15
Cutscenes have dialog, but if I speak to them like on the Ebon Hawk, it'll skip through the dialogue quickly and go straight back to dialogue choices.
Cyberevan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-13-2008, 05:18 PM   #4
Star Admiral
N7 Commando
 
Star Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Omega 4 Relay
Posts: 656
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
Do you have files named something like kreia.dlg, atton.dlg, or something of the sort in your Override folder? If you do, try taking them out and see if that fixes the problem.

You can also check the StreamVoice folder. Go to your main TSL directory, then \StreamVoice\GBL\. You should see individual folders named Atton, Disciple, Kreia, etc. Check if all the .wav files are in them. Kreia's folder, for example, should have 686 files inside.

- Star Admiral
Star Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-17-2008, 09:49 PM   #5
Cyberevan
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Star Admiral View Post
Do you have files named something like kreia.dlg, atton.dlg, or something of the sort in your Override folder? If you do, try taking them out and see if that fixes the problem.

You can also check the StreamVoice folder. Go to your main TSL directory, then \StreamVoice\GBL\. You should see individual folders named Atton, Disciple, Kreia, etc. Check if all the .wav files are in them. Kreia's folder, for example, should have 686 files inside.

- Star Admiral
I haven't really played the game in a few days, but after I removed the dialog files, something changed. The dialog didn't skip through fast, at least with Atton and Handmaiden, didn't check the others. One question though, why would a few dlg files affect mostly all the voices of my party members and the alien NPCs too?
Cyberevan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-17-2008, 09:55 PM   #6
Star Admiral
N7 Commando
 
Star Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Omega 4 Relay
Posts: 656
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
Not sure about the alien NPCs, but I do know from looking through the .dlg files that not every party member's dialog is completely centralized within their own dialog file. A few are located elsewhere, in other character's dialog files. In any case, you won't believe how much dialog is tied up to your party members. A messed up copy of the dialog file for one character will have great impact on a most of that character's speeches.

In either case, it is most likely a mod problem of some sort if taking out those .dlg files made a difference. I am curious, though, as to the name of the mod that caused this problem.

- Star Admiral
Star Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-18-2008, 07:01 PM   #7
zemegauser
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 74
This is an extremely common problem that people have had over the years...

After playing the game for an extended period in where you constantly skip a lot of dialogue with key presses, the dialogue starts to "skip", where it just passes by in a second with no chance for it to play or read off. To fix this one must restart the game.

No mod or anything such as that causes the problem... And there is no official fix that I know of that fixes it either.

HERE: http://forums.filefront.com/sw-kotor...ersations.html
zemegauser is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-20-2008, 08:31 PM   #8
Cyberevan
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Star Admiral View Post
Do you have files named something like kreia.dlg, atton.dlg, or something of the sort in your Override folder? If you do, try taking them out and see if that fixes the problem.

You can also check the StreamVoice folder. Go to your main TSL directory, then \StreamVoice\GBL\. You should see individual folders named Atton, Disciple, Kreia, etc. Check if all the .wav files are in them. Kreia's folder, for example, should have 686 files inside.

- Star Admiral
I checked it because I was getting dialogue but no sound. I checked the GBL and nothing was in there.
Cyberevan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-21-2008, 12:19 AM   #9
Star Admiral
N7 Commando
 
Star Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Omega 4 Relay
Posts: 656
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
Reinstall the game. If nothing is in the GBL folder, then you'll get no sound for any of the characters. As to why they are gone, beats me.

- Star Admiral
Star Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 12-21-2008, 07:10 AM   #10
Cyberevan
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 15
I was afraid you'd say that. It really is not a big deal since I could just store the game save and keep them for later. The only problem is Disk 3 of my disks isn't working. I am so unlucky with this game.

EDIT: So, now I uninstalled it, but I can't reinstall it back because of the faulty Disk 3. Just my luck. I may have to rebuy another copy.

Last edited by Cyberevan; 12-21-2008 at 02:41 PM.
Cyberevan is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Game Discussion > Padawan's Lounge > [TSL] Slight bug in the game

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:00 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.