lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: How do you backup Router config?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-10-2009, 10:16 PM   #1
SD Nihil
Junior Member
 
SD Nihil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United States of America
Posts: 434
Current Game: K1/2, EaW/FoC, & TFU
How do you backup Router config?

I have a WRT54GS v5 Linksys Wireless Router. I'd like to know where is the configuration file that contains all the changes I've done to securitng it, where the password is located, etc.. Meaning the file that contains all of that so I can back it up for safe keeping.


SD Nihil is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-11-2009, 12:41 AM   #2
Det. Bart Lasiter
obama.png
 
Det. Bart Lasiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: `(.)~
Posts: 7,997
Current Game: all
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
there's a button in the router's admin panel labeled "backup router configuration" or something



"No, Mama. You can bet your sweet ass and half a titty whoever put that hit on you already got the cops in their back pocket." ~Black Dynamite
Det. Bart Lasiter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-11-2009, 03:35 PM   #3
SD Nihil
Junior Member
 
SD Nihil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United States of America
Posts: 434
Current Game: K1/2, EaW/FoC, & TFU
Here's the thing. When I had to have my xbox 360 maintanced it was disconnected from the ethernet cable. For some reason that wipes the settings. So once I back it up I'll have the file in a folder on a flash drive. Now, if I were to have my xbox maintanced sometime again and my router loses the settings by being disconnected from the ethernet cable, that wipes the settings. So then to get those settings back I'll have the file backed up in a folder like you said, but where do I then drop the file to get the settings back?

Update: I found the restore config button and have now backed up the config.bin file. Thanks.



Last edited by SD Nihil; 01-11-2009 at 10:04 PM.
SD Nihil is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-12-2009, 01:26 AM   #4
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
If there is a network setup component in the X360, regardless of what you do on your router, you'll need to ensure the X360 is reconfigured correctly.

In fact, as a general rule, if youve set ports/settings for apps/devices on your router, they will still be in there until you delete that setting or have to reset the router to factory default if something disastrous happens.

Once youre familiar with it though, even doing it manually will take you a couple of clicks

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Community Discussion > General LFNetwork Forums > General Tech Discussion > How do you backup Router config?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:54 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.