lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Consumable Ammunition
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-23-2009, 05:00 PM   #1
StalkHound
Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Consumable Ammunition

Hello Holowan Labs.
I've been browsing around the site for the past week or so, picked up a number of tools, some of which I may or may not be using ever. But we'll see.
Question lies herein. I understand, on some level, creating an item on both Kotor Tool and K-GFF. I also understand that the game's root, if poor choice of word, is NWN. With that in mind, I'm wondering if it's possible to bind an item (noted as specific ammunition) to a weapon, say a slug thrower that a Tusken Raider would use.
Not that I've tested it, which I might should have, but from what I can see setting a limited number of uses to a weapon would be like setting a limited number of uses to a shield. Each shot consumes a charge. However, this would cause the weapon itself to become useless and disposed of once ammunition ran out. Instead of carrying around an armload of the same weapon, it'd be much more practical, if possible, to have a single weapon that fed off the stacks of another item, such as 'bullets'.
My thinking in that this is remotely possible is with the NWN reference, such as binding arrows to a bow. Though, looking at the equip screen it doesn't seem like there'd be a direct way of doing this short of scripting an item lost each round that the weapon is used. Quite a bit of effort. (Also bothersome if it's going to give a pop-up each round to show that something was lost.)

This concept in itself may very well be well beyond my limits as of yet, but I see no harm in asking, anyway. I should clarify, this is for KOTOR1.
StalkHound is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-24-2009, 08:19 AM   #2
glovemaster
Now-a-days GroovyCarrot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 697
Current Game: No time for games, sadly
Helpful! 
The only way I can think of going about this, is if you were able to check for ammunition before hand. Unfortunately, KotOR doesn't have an onStartRound event, or something similar. KotOR does however have an onEndRound event, but I can't see a way of using that as the script fires too late.

I won't say that its impossible to do, there's generally a way around everything But I can't see anyway to do this effectively.


If you're looking for any of the junk I did a few years ago; you can probably still find it all on filefront
glovemaster is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-24-2009, 09:00 AM   #3
Darth Payne
I Am Revan, I Remember.
 
Darth Payne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grong, Norway
Posts: 2,491
Current Game: DS3, Alien: Colonial Marines
This kinda sounds like the reusable shields.


http://www.xboxlc.com/cards/sig/newblack/pederskomsvold.jpg
Formerly known as: Danyael27
My mods at KotorFiles: K1 Robe Stat Boost, TSL Jedi Robe Stat Boost, Jedi Fight Training.
Quando omni flunkus moritati - the motto of the Possum Lodge, Pseudo-Latin for 'when all else fails, play dead.'


SW: Invasion 05,P16 -(Spraug: Seriously? A Wookie with a lightsaber? Thats just overkill.
Darth Payne is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Consumable Ammunition

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:01 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.