lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Is screenshots porting?
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 01-24-2009, 11:00 AM   #1
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,504
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Is screenshots porting?

Would it be a porting mod to take a screenshot from one game and paste the whole screenshot as a texture?




Canderis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-24-2009, 02:47 PM   #2
xrefusex
Rookie
 
xrefusex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Fortress Of Solitude II
Posts: 157
Current Game: Call of Duty I
Probably, since you're basing your 'new' texture on a copyrighted one. If you're going to do that, you might as well rip the actual texture, which is a no-no.
xrefusex is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-24-2009, 03:10 PM   #3
Marius Fett
Frigged if I know!
 
Marius Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 3,379
Actually, I don't think it is.

There was a mod a while back that used screenies from K1 in TSL, and nobody considered that porting.




Visit the new JediKnight.net!
Marius Fett is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-24-2009, 03:23 PM   #4
EnderWiggin
Sine Amore Nihil Est Vita
 
EnderWiggin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,395
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
Quote:
Originally Posted by canderis View Post
Would it be a porting mod to take a screenshot from one game and paste the whole screenshot as a texture?
You're using a screenshot as a wall-texture or something like that?

Nah, it should be fine.

_EW_



Hello, Pot? This is Kettle. You're black. ~ Prime

Yes, I hate you.

J7 - thanks for accepting me as part of the 'family.'
EnderWiggin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-24-2009, 03:37 PM   #5
Canderis
Mercenary
 
Canderis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Unknown
Posts: 2,504
Current Game: Skyrim
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
Im using them to make a mod like the telos billboard mod.




Canderis is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-24-2009, 03:40 PM   #6
EnderWiggin
Sine Amore Nihil Est Vita
 
EnderWiggin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,395
Forum Veteran LF Jester 
Quote:
Originally Posted by canderis View Post
Im using them to make a mod like the telos billboard mod.
Should be fine.

_EW_



Hello, Pot? This is Kettle. You're black. ~ Prime

Yes, I hate you.

J7 - thanks for accepting me as part of the 'family.'
EnderWiggin is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-24-2009, 10:12 PM   #7
Mandalore_The_Great
Rookie
 
Mandalore_The_Great's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cali, Puerto Rico's homeland
Posts: 228
Current Game: My 360 Games
ya, sounds fine to me


I'm back!!! Mua ha ha ha ha... ha
I might be releasing some new mods for K1, so check Filefront for some of my mods, acrazyone1(or acrazy1one, can't remember)

"Mandalorians don't make threats. We make promises." --SithRevan Tribute Armor--
Mandalore_The_Great is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-24-2009, 10:57 PM   #8
Drewton
Rookie
 
Drewton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 129
Current Game: KotOR, TSL
Edit: Nevermind.

Last edited by Drewton; 01-28-2009 at 07:22 PM. Reason: Asking in another thread.
Drewton is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-25-2009, 07:07 AM   #9
xrefusex
Rookie
 
xrefusex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Fortress Of Solitude II
Posts: 157
Current Game: Call of Duty I
I was under the impression that you wanted to take a screenshot picture of, say, the desert floor texture in K1 and then use that as a texture for a module in K2. If you're using your screenshots as 'pictures' on walls or computer screens or whatever though, no, I don't think you'd have a problem. Porting is taking one game's assets (which would include models, sounds, textures, etc...) and importing it into another game, from then on, it's a matter of interpreting what that actually means and to what extent this applies.
xrefusex is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-26-2009, 10:58 AM   #10
redrob41
Veteran
 
redrob41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 932
Current Game: just modding TSL
Veteran Modder Helpful! 
"Modders may create from scratch mods that resemble assets from another game."

What this says to me is that you could start with a blank image, and paint it to look like an in-game texture. You could use a screenshot as a visual referance, but copying and pasting from a screenshot would be just like copying and pasting directly from the original tga.

For example, I recently made a skin for TSL where a character has a tattoo like Canderous' from K1. I drew a B&W version of it with the pencil tool (while looking at the original tga), then using that new image, I brought it into my final character skin. The key is, I didn't actually copy or paste anything from a KotOR asset, not even from a screenshot. I only pasted from a drawing I created myself.




- Major character artist for the Revenge of Revan mod. -
- List of Completed Mods - Work in Progress Thread - Skinning Tutorial -
redrob41 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-26-2009, 01:36 PM   #11
SpaceAlex
Forumite
 
SpaceAlex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Unknown World
Posts: 599
Forum Veteran 
I don't think anyone's gonna care, one way or another. There's no reason to be *that* strict.

SpaceAlex is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 01-27-2009, 12:15 AM   #12
Darth Avlectus
Your point?
 
Darth Avlectus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Attack on Titan
Posts: 4,255
Current Game: Soul Calibur 5
Hey if sciamano made his mods (skins) of SW movie characters that way, I don't think it's gonna be a biggie. Pics used to preview and tease are basically free and just out there...I seriously doubt anyone is gonna care one way or another.

If you're worried about infringement, well, you're not doing it for profit and since it's all kinda under the same tent of SW anyway. I don't *really* see any problems from a legal standpoint. Else things like MUGEN or ROMhacks would get shut down by the feds wherever they surface.


"I cant see S***! --YOU GO TO HELL!" --Tourettes guy
Darth Avlectus is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Is screenshots porting?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:11 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.