lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Custom darts
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-04-2009, 06:54 PM   #1
Darth Cryptic
Junior Member
 
Darth Cryptic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 316
Custom darts

I'm trying to make a custom dart. I started with the Kyber dart .uti file and added the properties I wanted. What i'm stuck on is my dart, when tested, worked but did only the Kyber dart damage. I tried creating a new Spells Item Ability line, but when i copied and modified the Kyber line and set my dart to use the new line, my dart stopped working.

I know I'm currently licked so I come asking for help, can any one point me in the right direction to beef my dart up?
Darth Cryptic is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-04-2009, 08:53 PM   #2
Star Admiral
N7 Commando
 
Star Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Omega 4 Relay
Posts: 656
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
What did you modify in the spells.2da line? I don't recall clearly at the moment, but the damage dealt by the dart is either set in the item properties of the .uti file, or by a script in the spells.2da file. I'll check as soon as I get home.

- Star Admiral
Star Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-04-2009, 10:28 PM   #3
Darth Cryptic
Junior Member
 
Darth Cryptic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 316
I had adjusted the "inate" and "maxcr" colums, thinking they where the damage control colums. Second look, I'm not so sure any more.

of the properties I have listed:
Activate Item: Dart: Kyber single use
Damage Bonus Peirceing Cost value 5
Damage Bonus Slashing Cost value 5

That netted me a damage of 1 after the initial hit that usualy knocked the target down quite a bit. But then normal Kybers do that any way.

Last edited by Darth Cryptic; 03-04-2009 at 10:35 PM. Reason: added more info
Darth Cryptic is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-05-2009, 02:06 AM   #4
Star Admiral
N7 Commando
 
Star Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Omega 4 Relay
Posts: 656
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
Yes, I just checked KOTOR Tools. The damage dealt is controlled by a script, specifically the k_sup_grenade.nss file. If you want to create a new one, you can reference that file as an example. And you're right, the inate and maxcr columns do not affect the damage dealt.

If you have a problem with the script, feel free to post your questions here. I'll be happy to help.

- Star Admiral
Star Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-05-2009, 07:23 AM   #5
Darth Cryptic
Junior Member
 
Darth Cryptic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 316
Scripting... whelp I had to get into it some how. Thanks Star.
Darth Cryptic is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > Holowan Laboratories > Custom darts

Tags
tsl

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:08 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.