lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: KT Confusion
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 03-24-2009, 06:55 PM   #1
zander811
Lurker
 
zander811's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
KT Confusion

Hi, first post...

I read around, but I still have no idea what I'm doing with KT. Here's my main goal(s):

I want to be able to dual wield a lightsaber and a blaster. The fake lightsaber doesn't have to be able to deflect or anything. My main goal is to get a lightsaber to basically be a "blaster with an empty clip." In other words, I want it to just stand there and look pretty. :P

Then, I want a blaster that will act like a blade or empty hand. I'll then alternate weapons between [blaster and *lightsaber*] and [*blaster* and lightsaber] depending on how close the enemy is.

If anyone could help me out, I'd greatly appreciate it!
zander811 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-25-2009, 05:16 PM   #2
Star Admiral
N7 Commando
 
Star Admiral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Omega 4 Relay
Posts: 656
Current Game: Mass Effect 2
Folder extraordinaire Helpful! 
I'm willing to bet, not possible. You'll need to create a new model for either the blaster to make it look like a lightsaber or a new model for the lightsaber to look like a blaster. Either way isn't easy, and the animations would probably be weird. If one of the modeling experts could lend their advice, that would be great.

- Star Admiral
Star Admiral is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-25-2009, 05:34 PM   #3
Sithspecter
Mod Longer, Forum Less
 
Sithspecter's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ebon Hawk
Posts: 1,748
Current Game: Mechwarrior II: Mercenaries
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder LFN Staff Member 
Hello, zander811! Welcome to Lucasforums!

One thing that you can take a look at is baseitems.2da. This is in the BIFs section under 2da.bif. What you can do is find the pistol row (row 12 for KotOR 1), and copy it (right click on the gray box to the left of it). Go down past the last line where there is a blank line and type is anything in the first column. Now right click the gray box next to this line and hit paste. First change the Row_Label to the next number in sequence, and set the name to -1 or ****. Change the label to Saber_pistol, or whatever you would like. Change item class to w_lghtpstl. Now scroll over to the default model and change it to w_lghtsbr_001 (for K1 at least, not sure about TSL). Save this in your override folder.

Under the Tools tab at the top of KotOR Tool, open up Options. Make sure that under Other, 'Look in Game's Override folder for 2DA files' is checked. You should probably restart the KotOR Tool.

Now, you're going to creat an item for this. Under BIF's, go to templates.bif, and expand Blueprint, Item. Find g_w_blstrpstl001.uti. Double click on this to open up the item editor. Now, change the Template ResRef to g_w_lghtpstl001. Change this tag to this as well. Under Base Item, scroll down until you reach 'Saber Pistol.' Choose this. You can change the Description tab to whatever you like. save as g_w_lghtpstl001.uti in your override folder, and be sure to include the .uti extenstion.

Start your game, and type in giveitem g_w_lghtpstl001, and you should have a lightsaber pistol dual wield. It won't have a custom icon, but I can go over that it you'd like.



Sithspecter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-25-2009, 07:11 PM   #4
zander811
Lurker
 
zander811's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
Thankyou so much, but I'm having a bit of trouble getting the game to start, now... hmm...

Rather, it's starting, but it crashes when I try to load any saved file...

Houston, we have a problem.

Every time I run KE, it won't use files in the Override folder. It's there, I can open it directly from the folder, but I can't open KE first, double click "baseitems.2da" and have it run MY baseitems.2da. Any thoughts? Maybe a corrupt KE program?

But I'm thinking this is the issue. If I can't get KE to recognize it's there, I can't reference to it when making the actual blaster/lightsaber part.

Last edited by tk102; 03-25-2009 at 11:38 PM. Reason: merging triple post
zander811 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-25-2009, 11:01 PM   #5
HK-42
HK47+Marvin=
 
HK-42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Unknown Regions
Posts: 2,040
Current Game: AssassinsCreed,kotor
Hot Topic Starter 
Is your override folder named correctly? that happened to me once.

Also instead of posting 3 posts in a row, use the edit function on the bottom of a post.

HK-42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-25-2009, 11:54 PM   #6
zander811
Lurker
 
zander811's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
I think so, my other mods work.

Edit: I fiddled around, got it to show up. Quick question: is it supposed to be just the hilt? I don't get a blade coming up...

And I do the same for the blaster-looking lightsaber, right?

Last edited by RedHawke; 03-26-2009 at 02:56 AM. Reason: Combining double post...
zander811 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-26-2009, 08:27 AM   #7
Sithspecter
Mod Longer, Forum Less
 
Sithspecter's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ebon Hawk
Posts: 1,748
Current Game: Mechwarrior II: Mercenaries
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder LFN Staff Member 
About KT recognizing your files from override, well, KT won't open up your override folder basitems.2da, but what is does is it recognizes that there are new rows in it, so that you can change your weapons to the new row without a GFF editor.

You'll need to open the 2DA editor and load the one from your override.

Ah, yes. I forgot about that. Go over to the powereditem column (in Baseitems.2da), and change it from 0 to 1. Also change the powerupsnd to cb_ls_powerup, powerdownsnd to cb_ls_powerdown, and poweredsnd to cb_ls_humgood.

Save, and your lightsaber shall animate (hopefully).



Sithspecter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-26-2009, 10:37 AM   #8
zander811
Lurker
 
zander811's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
One last question...

How do I add rep to your "helpful" status? (the red square under your "current game") ??? Because you are amazing!!
zander811 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-26-2009, 12:59 PM   #9
HK-42
HK47+Marvin=
 
HK-42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Unknown Regions
Posts: 2,040
Current Game: AssassinsCreed,kotor
Hot Topic Starter 
You cant, we dont have a rep system here.

The Badges just came out, I dont see a need to add to a badge already gotten, but you can recommend badges here: http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=195680

HK-42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-26-2009, 01:09 PM   #10
zander811
Lurker
 
zander811's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6


Thankyou so much!
zander811 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-26-2009, 02:15 PM   #11
HK-42
HK47+Marvin=
 
HK-42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Unknown Regions
Posts: 2,040
Current Game: AssassinsCreed,kotor
Hot Topic Starter 
Thats actually pretty cool.

HK-42 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-26-2009, 03:18 PM   #12
zander811
Lurker
 
zander811's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
I'm going to look for a cape mod, though I'll be fine if I can't find one. It'd probably have to be an arm item (like the grenade launcher) to keep the helmet on. Then my guy will look just like my avatar. :P Like I said, I'll be fine without it, this is great as is.
zander811 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-26-2009, 07:34 PM   #13
Sithspecter
Mod Longer, Forum Less
 
Sithspecter's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ebon Hawk
Posts: 1,748
Current Game: Mechwarrior II: Mercenaries
Contest winner - Modding Forum Veteran Veteran Modder LFN Staff Member 
Glad that you got it working, and glad to be of help. I doubt that there is a cape mod (due to limited modeling knowledge/tools), but you can certainly look.



Sithspecter is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Knights of the Old Republic > Editing / Modding > T3-M4's Astromech Droid Center > KotOR Tool > KT Confusion

Tags
dual wield, kt confusion, lightsaber and blaster

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:07 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.