lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Major problem!
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 08-06-2008, 04:43 AM   #1
Ghost Down
Senior Member
 
Ghost Down's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,024
Major problem!

Hey guys,

I've got a huge problem. My new rig won't work. It powers up, but my monitor won't get out of standby-mode, my HDD and DVD player also don't seem to work. I've tried several things, like using different IDE cables and rebuilding it again. But somehow I can't get it to work.

So any ideas would be helpfull


Ghost Down is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-06-2008, 04:52 AM   #2
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Since neither your video nor your drives are working, it sounds like it's either your motherboard or your PSU. Do you have a continuity tester so you can see whether or not your PSU is supplying any juice?


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-06-2008, 02:37 PM   #3
Ghost Down
Senior Member
 
Ghost Down's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,024
Nope, I don't have an continuity tester, but I'm sure my PSU works because the cooler on my graphics card does turn on..


Ghost Down is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-06-2008, 08:52 PM   #4
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
its sucks when they die like that ! Just because you may be getting a light on your mainboard or some fans whirring doesnt mean the PSU is doing a good job of supplying a steady flow of 'juice'[/technical term]. Compys are amongst the fussiest devices as far as variability in supplied power in concerned.

However, you mention you are booting up, does this mean you are getting past the boot up bios screens, and it just dies when the OS starts to kick in?? i

Rather than focussing one one bit, here are a swag of questions that may be able to point you in the right direction as to identifying the actual cause.
*What OS are you using > if windows, are you able to boot off a disc and get into a repair/recovery console?
*Have you had a power surge or black out at your place recently?
*Are you able to start in safe mode ?
*do you have (non keyb/mouse)usb device plugged, floppy in or disc in your DVD drive.
*Are your HDDs receiving power(if you touch them, you can feel them whirring )
*Have you done anything new recently, such as install application or hardware.
*Are you able to swap in another PSU to see of that helps ?

and last but not least >> always forgotten, often the problem
*check how your RAM sticks are any add in cards are seated. If you havent done so already, unseat and reseat, adding only one component at a time.

let us know

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2008, 11:02 AM   #5
stingerhs
Follow the Wolves
 
stingerhs's Avatar
 
Status: Moderator
Join Date: May 2004
Location: between my ears
Posts: 4,641
Current Game: Dead Space
Forum Veteran Roleplayer LFN Staff Member Helpful! 
you might also want to check to make sure both power connections have been plugged in on the motherboard. the 24-pin connector should be connected as well as a 4 or 8 pin connector that's likely located near the CPU socket.

another quick check should be your system specs. what kind of motherboard and power supply do you have? what is your power supply rated for? what kind of devices are you plugging into the motherboard?


See the struggle of the faithless lot as they negate their time
How low to sink to the depths of their frame of mind

stingerhs is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-07-2008, 12:30 PM   #6
Ghost Down
Senior Member
 
Ghost Down's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,024
I don't get too see a boot screen at all, my monitor won't get out of standby-mode. I also re-seated my RAM sticks, but no luck I also got my 8 pin connector and 20-pin connector connected properly. This is weird, I have built multiple PC's, but I have never had any problems before..

I am also sure my PSU is strong enough, I'll post my system specs:

Motherboard: Asus P5-E
CPU: Intel Q6600
Graphics card: XFX GeForce 9800GTX Black Edition
RAM: GeIL Black Dragon 4-gigabyte 1066MHz
PSU: Coolermaster 700Watt (Which has a constant flow off 700 Watt and a max output of 840 Watt, or atleast that's what it says on the box :P)


Ghost Down is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2008, 12:49 PM   #7
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
Those are some darn decent specs Ghost

Have you tried a CMOS reset ?

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 08-08-2008, 04:56 PM   #8
Ray Jones
[armleglegarmhead]
 
Ray Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: digital
Posts: 8,250
10 year veteran! LF Jester Helpful! Forum Veteran 
If it's not the PSU's part which powers the mainboard, then either your mainboard is trash, or your RAM. Do you have multiple memory modules so you could check them seperately? Or try without any RAM or card plugged, your mb should at least give you some beep code.


Ray Jones is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-22-2008, 04:00 AM   #9
Ghost Down
Senior Member
 
Ghost Down's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,024
Man, I still haven't found a way to get it to work. Been 'clean' for about 3 to 4 months now..


Ghost Down is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 10-22-2008, 07:49 AM   #10
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
I concur with Ray. Have you tried testing your memory, motherboard and PSU individually on another machine to see if they work?

You know, it's unlikely, but possible that you might have a bad CPU.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker

Last edited by Q; 10-22-2008 at 08:01 AM.
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-24-2009, 02:59 AM   #11
Ghost Down
Senior Member
 
Ghost Down's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,024
Whew!, I finally figured out which part is not working properly. I'm 99,9% sure that my motherboard is trash, just have to get it tested at the local computer hardware store.

Let's hope everything will be working again next week.. Cross your fingers!



Last edited by Ghost Down; 03-31-2009 at 09:19 AM. Reason: Typo's
Ghost Down is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-31-2009, 09:18 AM   #12
Ghost Down
Senior Member
 
Ghost Down's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,024
Ok, it's official; my motherboard is trashed. One of those connectors on CPU socket was broken off. Argh! That a tini-tiny thing can cause so much trouble! Anyway, I will be ordering a new motherboard as soon as I got someone money.


Ghost Down is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 03-31-2009, 01:39 PM   #13
Ray Jones
[armleglegarmhead]
 
Ray Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: digital
Posts: 8,250
10 year veteran! LF Jester Helpful! Forum Veteran 
haha, like I said ^^


why do you want to buy a new one? warranty?


Ray Jones is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2009, 10:58 AM   #14
Ghost Down
Senior Member
 
Ghost Down's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,024
Yeah, my old motherboard still has valid warranty, but I can't find the receipt anywhere, hehe. Anyway I already ordered a new one today, heh.


Ghost Down is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-01-2009, 11:41 AM   #15
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Well, that sucks.

At least you figured out the problem.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Community Discussion > General LFNetwork Forums > General Tech Discussion > Major problem!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:10 AM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.