lfnetwork.com mark read register faq members calendar

Thread: Power Question
Thread Tools Display Modes
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Old 04-23-2009, 08:05 PM   #1
Titanius Anglesmith
Kingslayer
 
Titanius Anglesmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,459
Power Question

I'm probably going to be upgrading my CPU and GPU pretty soon, and before I do, I want to get confirmation from those that are smarter than me that I have enough power for them.

I'm think about this CPU and this GPU, and I have this power supply.

I'm guessing it'll be okay. I just want to make absolutely sure before I make the same mistake I've made before.
Titanius Anglesmith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-24-2009, 06:40 AM   #2
Astrotoy7
A Face from The Past
 
Astrotoy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10,284
Notable contributor Helpful! Folder extraordinaire LFN Staff Member 
can you list your other components? Mainboard size, no of drives, peripherals all have a part to play...

I use an online power calculator to give me a rough guide for atx builds.eg:
http://www.extreme.outervision.com/index.jsp

That being said, Qliveur is our psu guru, so best he have the final word

mtfbwya


Asinus asinum fricat
Astrotoy7 is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-24-2009, 04:32 PM   #3
Titanius Anglesmith
Kingslayer
 
Titanius Anglesmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,459
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 2.00GHz
GPU: 8800GT 512MB
HDD: 250GB
RAM: 4GB

The motherboard is a Foxconn G33M02. I don't know pretty much anything about it other than that, considering I bought this PC from Dell.
Titanius Anglesmith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-24-2009, 06:06 PM   #4
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
That Rosewill PSU is plenty powerful for those upgrades.

It appears that your motherboard will support the E8400. Just make sure that it has the latest BIOS version. If you got it from Dell, then check their site for any BIOS updates and be sure to use theirs and not anyone else's.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-24-2009, 10:13 PM   #5
Titanius Anglesmith
Kingslayer
 
Titanius Anglesmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,459
Sounds good, and thanks.

But I'm beginning to think I may want to go ahead and upgrade my entire system. I definitely don't want to buy from Dell (or any other major PC company) again, and I don't want to take the risks involved in building my own, so what do you think about this configuration I made on ibuypower?

Case ( PSI CycloneX Gaming Tower Case w/420W Power Supply Black )
Power Supply ( 650 Watt -- Casegears ECO-Element 80 Plus Certificated High Efficiency Power Supply SLI Ready )
Processor ( Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E8400 (2x 3.0GHz/6MB L2 Cache/1333FSB) )
Processor Cooling ( AVC Silent Intel CPU Fan and Heatsink Quiet & Overclocking Proof )
Motherboard ( Asus P5KPL-CM Intel G31 Chipset w/6-channels, Gb LAN, S-ATA 3Gb/s, USB 2.0, Single PCI-E MB )
Memory ( 4 GB [2 GB X2] DDR2-800 PC6400 Memory Module Corsair-Value or Major Brand )
Video Card ( ATI Radeon HD 4890 1GB PCI-Express x16 )
Hard Drive ( 320 GB HARD DRIVE [Serial-ATA-II, 3Gb, 7200 RPM, 16M Cache] )
CD-RW/DVD-RW Drive ( [** Special !!! ***] LG 22X Dual Format/Double Layer DVD±R/±RW + CD-R/RW Drive Black )
Sound Card ( 3D Premium Surround Sound Onboard )
Speaker System ( iBUYPOWER 2.1 Channel Stereo Super Bass Subwoofer Speaker System )
Network Card ( Onboard LAN Network (Gb or 10/100) )
USB 2.0 Accessories ( Built-in USB 2.0 Ports )
Flash Media Reader/Writer ( 12-In-1 Internal Flash Media Card Reader/Writer Black )
Operating System ( Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium + [Free 60-Day !!!] Microsoft Office 2007(Word, Excel, Outlook, PowerPoint, Access ....) 64-Bit )


Does anybody have any experience buying from ibuypower?
Titanius Anglesmith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-24-2009, 10:48 PM   #6
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
1) How much is all of that going to run you?

2) Why would you want to do that when you're basically just a CPU and video card away from having the same thing?


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-25-2009, 02:04 AM   #7
Titanius Anglesmith
Kingslayer
 
Titanius Anglesmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,459
That's about $950. I guess it would be pretty similar, except for the power supply, hard drive, and operating system (I have 32bit right now).

Plus, that case is nice and pretty. I don't know. You said my PSU could handle them, so I should probably just upgrade those two parts by themselves. You'll have to forgive me for getting ahead of myself. It happens pretty much every time I have thoughts of upgrading a part.
Titanius Anglesmith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-25-2009, 03:44 AM   #8
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Upgraditis is a common disease.

Really, though, you could definitely use a better CPU, and an E8400 or E8500 would fit the bill nicely. The cheapest I've seen the E8400 was $120.00, but that was an in-store deal at Microcenter, and those stores are few and far between. Fry's Electronics has also had some pretty sick deals on CPUs in the past.

Newegg and some of the other e-tailers have good deals from time to time. The best thing to do would be to sign up for Newegg's email newsletter and wait for a deal on an E8400 or E8500 so you won't have to pay full price for it. The problem is that good sales on those full-cache Wolfdale 6Ms are very seldom. They're in high demand right now because people are doing exactly what you're thinking of doing. I'll keep an eye out for you, and if I find any deals on CPUs I'll let you know.

As far as video cards go, right now there's an awesome deal on an HD4890 if you don't mind ATI or jumping through some hoops. The coupon code is "vgabailout" for an extra $20.00 off of that $215.99 after rebate price, taking it down to $195.99 and purchasing it through Live.com's cashback program will reduce it another 5% off the regular price ($11.80) bringing the final cost to $184.19 shipped.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-25-2009, 09:06 PM   #9
Titanius Anglesmith
Kingslayer
 
Titanius Anglesmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,459
That's probably what I'll do, then. That 4890 looks good, and I found this for an E8400. $165 with no tax and free shipping.

And thank you very much. Your Helpful badge suits you.
Titanius Anglesmith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-25-2009, 10:34 PM   #10
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
You're welcome, and thanks for the compliment.

Do you know how to use Live.com's cashback program? It's pretty simple. After you register for it, just list the participating stores and use the provided link for the one you want (in this case Superbiiz). You have to use the link to get the cashback.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2009, 12:09 AM   #11
Titanius Anglesmith
Kingslayer
 
Titanius Anglesmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,459
Do you have to register? Because right now, it won't let me. It gives me some error message about "execute access denied."

I went to the list of stores anyway, clicked superbiiz, and it directed me to the website after telling me that my cashback would be in effect. When I go to checkout, though, it still lists the $215 price. I guess maybe because I didn't register?

EDIT: Never mind. At first I thought you had to register specifically there, but I realized I could just use my Windows Live ID I already had. I ordered the card, and it shows the $11.80 in my cashback profile, now.

So, thank you again.

Last edited by Titanius Anglesmith; 04-26-2009 at 12:35 AM.
Titanius Anglesmith is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Old 04-26-2009, 03:25 AM   #12
Q
The one who knocks
 
Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ABQ
Posts: 6,643
Current Game: Mowing down neos with my M60
LF Jester Forum Veteran Helpful! 
Cool. You should be set with that card for awhile. It'll be a fat upgrade over that 8800GT. Just make sure that you do everything right with the rebate and you'll end up with a killer deal, since that card is roughly equal to a GTX 280.

If you haven't gotten that CPU yet, I'd suggest that you wait on a sale. You never know when some e-tailer or store will put these items on sale. You might be able to get an E8500 or E8600 instead or even go quad-core.


"They should rename the team to the Washington Government Sucks. Put Obama on the helmet. Line the entire walls of the stadium with the actual text of the ACA.
Fix their home team score on the board to the debt clock, they can win every game 17,000,000,000,000 to 24. Losing team gets taxed by the IRS 100%, then droned."
-Toker
Q is offline   you may: quote & reply,
Post a new thread. Add a reply to this thread. Indicate all threads in this forum as read. Subscribe to this forum. RSS feed: this forum RSS feed: all forums
Go Back   LucasForums > Network > Community Discussion > General LFNetwork Forums > General Tech Discussion > Power Question

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:49 PM.

LFNetwork, LLC ©2002-2011 - All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.